We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location - Rubbish Food”
Review of Oude Vismijn

Oude Vismijn
Ranked #674 of 872 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: US$2 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Oude Vismijn shelters a bar, brasserie and 2 event halls. Next to that, before its spectacular renovation, the building was the oldest fish, meat and vegetable market in Ghent. In the brasserie and bar you can enjoy a delicious lunch or dinner with a fantastic view of the rivers De Leie and De Lieve an of the historical centre. A fabulous terrace and cosy seats welcome you also in the afternoon and in the evening. But these are not the only assets the building has to offer. The two industrial halls, with a capacity from 100 to 850 persons, de Oude Vismijn is able to organize fully equipped seminars, unique product launchings, receptions, ceremonial parts, company events, weddings,... . An absolute top location in the city centre of Ghent. Entertainment RETURNING EVENTS: After Work Party (every first thursday of the month). Starts at 6:30pm. That day you are only able to order the After Work Party Menu of 25,00€ (appetizer, starter, main dish). At 9pm the music gets louder and the party begins.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
794 reviews
613 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location - Rubbish Food”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has had several incarnations over the past few years. There are splendid views across the river towards the old city from both the terraced area and interior. The dishes we ate were examples of fusion cooking. However as often happens with this style of cooking,in my view, had lead to confusion. A well cooked seabass was spoilt by a muddled mixture of waterzooi and Asian vegetables.
The Ladies toilets were a disgrace, one had a lock broken and another with the seat on the floor.
Will not return.

Helpful?
Thank LauraDaveJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo C, Manager at Oude Vismijn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comment on trip advisor. For us it's important to get feedback of what we are doing. I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't liked our Seabass. It is,as you mentioned, the only fusion dish on our menu. It is one of the most popular dish on our menu, looking at the statistics.


The toilets are indeed a problem for which we are looking for a solution. As we are situated in front of the tourist box a lot of people are using our toilets for free. Not everybody uses them with respect so we have a lot of reparation to do.

Every 6 months we are changing our menu so I hope when you visit our beautiful city again we can welcome you again.


With kind regards

Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    129
    81
    54
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Very bad service, very bad food, incredible for such a nice central place.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Do not go there, or just for a coffee on the terrace so that you have a nice view.
At lunchtime you can not take coffee on the terrace

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelBal, General Manager at Oude Vismijn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Gerard K,

This is Hugo, the general manager of the Oude Vismijn. Thank you for your review. In the last month we struggle with some negative reviews here about service. Thanks to the reviews we are aware of the problem and are on top of this issue and are trying to resolve it promptly.

Nevertheless we hope to welcome you again when this is solved.

Best regards,
Hugo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Prime location, long wait for reserved table”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

In the historical center, just next to the castle. In a beautiful restored historical building (the old fish-marked) the dining room offers a stunning view over the city. The menu is nice but does not offer a lot of surprises. The food is nice but not amazing. Price fore a meal will set you back round 60 € a person.
When we rived our table witch we had reserved was not free so we had to wait for over an hour!!!
Here is a tip for the management: if you make your costumers wait that long for a table, offer them a free drink.....maybe some more experienced staff would have known that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankyboyGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelBal, General Manager at Oude Vismijn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear FrankyboyGent,

This is Hugo, the general manager of the Oude Vismijn. Thank you for your review. In the last month we struggle with some negative reviews here about service. Thanks to the reviews we are aware of the problem and are on top of this issue and are trying to resolve it promptly.

I fully agree with the idea of offering a free drink but most of all we will make priority of avoiding long waiting periods.

Nevertheless we hope to welcome you again when this is solved.

Best regards,
Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Optimisme ... wurth trying!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Using Tripadvisor, regular visitor of Horeca Ghent. My eye catched the comment of visitor Ralf from Dusseldorf ... It is a childish way to comment if you attack people personaly. It only shows your level of stupidity and disrespect. If you really want to give good advice, you don't show it by acting frustrated.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dotske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
2 reviews
“A very bad experience! Don't try!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We went there with friends to enjoy a nice evening... and we were hungry... They kept us waiting for two hours after our order... No apologies, we felt being ignored. When we asked the waitress was rude and inpolite. Obviously, they are in trouble and have unprofessional, unfriendly staff. The bathrooms were dirty.... you would not want to touch anything there. What a disgrace to run down such a lovely place this way. My recommendation: Avoid it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ralf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelBal, General Manager at Oude Vismijn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Ralf

This is Hugo, the general manager of the Oude Vismijn. Thank you for your review.
If I’m correct this concerns the same complaint as Dalobbia describes on the 4th of May.

I checked with the staff what happened here that evening since we struggle with some negative reviews here about the service last month. As I understand there were serious miscommunications that should’nt have happened.

Thanks to the reviews we are aware of the problem, are on top of this issue and trying to resolve it promptly.

Nevertheless we hope to welcome you again when this is solved.

Best regards,
Hugo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oude Vismijn also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Oude Vismijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing