We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, beautiful place, too many mistakes made”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oude Vismijn

Oude Vismijn
Ranked #590 of 852 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: US$2 - US$29
Cuisines: Belgian, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Oude Vismijn shelters a bar, brasserie and 2 event halls. Next to that, before its spectacular renovation, the building was the oldest fish, meat and vegetable market in Ghent. In the brasserie and bar you can enjoy a delicious lunch or dinner with a fantastic view of the rivers De Leie and De Lieve an of the historical centre. A fabulous terrace and cosy seats welcome you also in the afternoon and in the evening. But these are not the only assets the building has to offer. The two industrial halls, with a capacity from 100 to 850 persons, de Oude Vismijn is able to organize fully equipped seminars, unique product launchings, receptions, ceremonial parts, company events, weddings,... . An absolute top location in the city centre of Ghent. Entertainment RETURNING EVENTS: After Work Party (every first thursday of the month). Starts at 6:30pm. That day you are only able to order the After Work Party Menu of 25,00€ (appetizer, starter, main dish). At 9pm the music gets louder and the party begins.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, beautiful place, too many mistakes made”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

First of all, I've been here in the past (about one year ago) and it was all great then. So this could be a temporary problem which will be fixed soon. I sure hope so.

The location is great. An old fish market, a view of the city canal, classy interior,... I had the vegetarian cold lasagna which was very good. For main course, I had the vegetarian asparagus which seemed sober when served, but I actually enjoyed it very much. As a dessert, the crème brulée which is simple but always a winner to me.

So nothing wrong with the food. However, in every course, there was one person who had to wait too long. This isn't a problem when everyone has a cold starter, but when the main course was served, things start to cool off.
I must admit, we were a company of ten, but for a restaurant this classy, this shouldn't be a problem. What's more, the starter that we had to wait for was the 'garnaalkroketten' which we saw being served at other tables.
For main course, there were 4 people who had the seabass with fries, a special for that day. The seabass was served but the fries had been forgotten. Some people had already eaten their seabass before the fries arrived. And one person of our group received chicken without the bearnaise sauce. After she asked the waitress, the waitress first checked the menu to see if what she said was true. That's all very unfortunate.
Finally, for dessert, one dame blanche was missing. It took some time too, even though it was a simple one (three scoops of vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce). We also had to ask for the chocolate sauce.

This didn't ruin our evening, and the compensation we received (free coffee and dessert) was correct. But for a restaurant of this class and type, you would expect more. Once again, I've been there before and it was great. The same for a colleague of mine. But others have had less luck.

I sure hope this gets sorted out, because the place has everything to be successful (superior location, good food,...)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMorli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelBal, Guest Relations Manager at Oude Vismijn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear PeterMorli,

First of all I want to thank you for this valuable feedback. Thanks to the reviews here we're checking the efficiency of the kitchen and the waiters in order to always have acceptable waiting hours and that mistakes get reduced to a minimum.

Nevertheless we hope to welcome you back and serve you as good as the first time you came here!
Best regards,
Oude Vismijn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    125
    76
    48
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
702 reviews
548 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location - Rubbish Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has had several incarnations over the past few years. There are splendid views across the river towards the old city from both the terraced area and interior. The dishes we ate were examples of fusion cooking. However as often happens with this style of cooking,in my view, had lead to confusion. A well cooked seabass was spoilt by a muddled mixture of waterzooi and Asian vegetables.
The Ladies toilets were a disgrace, one had a lock broken and another with the seat on the floor.
Will not return.

Helpful?
Thank LauraDaveJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo C, Manager at Oude Vismijn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comment on trip advisor. For us it's important to get feedback of what we are doing. I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't liked our Seabass. It is,as you mentioned, the only fusion dish on our menu. It is one of the most popular dish on our menu, looking at the statistics.


The toilets are indeed a problem for which we are looking for a solution. As we are situated in front of the tourist box a lot of people are using our toilets for free. Not everybody uses them with respect so we have a lot of reparation to do.

Every 6 months we are changing our menu so I hope when you visit our beautiful city again we can welcome you again.


With kind regards

Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Very bad service, very bad food, incredible for such a nice central place.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Do not go there, or just for a coffee on the terrace so that you have a nice view.
At lunchtime you can not take coffee on the terrace

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelBal, General Manager at Oude Vismijn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Gerard K,

This is Hugo, the general manager of the Oude Vismijn. Thank you for your review. In the last month we struggle with some negative reviews here about service. Thanks to the reviews we are aware of the problem and are on top of this issue and are trying to resolve it promptly.

Nevertheless we hope to welcome you again when this is solved.

Best regards,
Hugo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Prime location, long wait for reserved table”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

In the historical center, just next to the castle. In a beautiful restored historical building (the old fish-marked) the dining room offers a stunning view over the city. The menu is nice but does not offer a lot of surprises. The food is nice but not amazing. Price fore a meal will set you back round 60 € a person.
When we rived our table witch we had reserved was not free so we had to wait for over an hour!!!
Here is a tip for the management: if you make your costumers wait that long for a table, offer them a free drink.....maybe some more experienced staff would have known that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankyboyGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelBal, General Manager at Oude Vismijn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear FrankyboyGent,

This is Hugo, the general manager of the Oude Vismijn. Thank you for your review. In the last month we struggle with some negative reviews here about service. Thanks to the reviews we are aware of the problem and are on top of this issue and are trying to resolve it promptly.

I fully agree with the idea of offering a free drink but most of all we will make priority of avoiding long waiting periods.

Nevertheless we hope to welcome you again when this is solved.

Best regards,
Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Optimisme ... wurth trying!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Using Tripadvisor, regular visitor of Horeca Ghent. My eye catched the comment of visitor Ralf from Dusseldorf ... It is a childish way to comment if you attack people personaly. It only shows your level of stupidity and disrespect. If you really want to give good advice, you don't show it by acting frustrated.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dotske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oude Vismijn also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Oude Vismijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing