We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend at the Ghent River Hotel”
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“weekend at the Ghent River Hotel”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

A very interesting and centrally located hotel at the heart of Ghent city centre. Despite an error in the booking, the hotel staff couldn't do enough to rectify the problems with patience and speed. They also offered free breakfast as a gesture of goodwill. The room was great, with view over the river. It was tastefully decorated and was clean and very comfortable. Shall definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    453
    177
    64
    16
See reviews for
127
536
26
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Our trip was booked as a package deal so we did not get to specify which type of room we would like. Consequently we did not have a river view and the "double bed " was 2 singles which kept separating.The rooms on the other side of the hotel seemed much more attractive. Our bed, however, was very comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. The breakfast was probably as good as we have had anywhere and we have travelled extensively. The breakfast room was very light and attractive.The location of the hotel was good with many restaurants nearby and the centre within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Request a room on the river side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAN1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

First of all, I would say great location. At time of booking requested a double bed with river view, which is exactly what we got! I think this is why the Ghent River is accredited with a 4* rating. I nearly booked the Belfont and when we walked by I can see why this is rated 4* and to be honest just as conveniently located to the centre. Beware, the Ghent River rooms have a mini-bar, which as you expect high prices for drinks. Don't be tempted by the peanuts, red wine and tuc biscuits placed on a silver platter on the desk, coz these are included on the mini-bar list! There is supermarket located in the square, so buy your snacks etc there. The Ghent River were running happy hour between 1730-1830, drinks 50% off. Two evenings running just fancied a vodka and tonic, with ice and a slice, on both occasions no ice or lemon available. The second evening, the receptionist who had a dual role of barmaid, tried to convince me that a bottle of beefeater was in fact vodka. The lift was out of action for two days, with breakfast being served on the 3rd floor, so not sure how people managed in a wheelchair. Mind you breakfast was superb, so really can't complain and credit due. Room and bed really comfortable. Ghent St Pieters station a tram journey away, although only 1 euro 20 each way to Korenmarkt. If you don't expect 4* luxury, then you probably won't be disappointed!

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angie187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

this hotel is in a great spot - just off a large square where there are plenty of bars and restaurants. It is within walking distance of all the main sights of Ghent.
Our room was really lovely - one exposed brick wall and high beamed ceiling. It looked out over the canal. Pillows not great.
Breakfast was really good and plentiful with an entertaining seagull who came each morning at 9.30 to be fed!
We were asked to pay city tax when we were leaving which we did not expect.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fratersmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Great hotel in the heart of the old town. Spacious room overlooking the river. Bed was very comfortable. The reception staff were very helpful and an umbrella is provided in every room which is a nice touch. My only gripe was the price of the internet at E5 per hour, but the hotel advises that from January this will be free. - perfect!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frouf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, VA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Very nice hotel; service was good and friendly. Our room was not large, but adequate, with high ceiling and good bathroom. Breakfast was good, if expensive. Underground parking is nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Ghent is a fabulous city but the trip was ruined by gangs of kids preventing me from getting intot he hotel. They were intimidating and physically trapped me in the turning entrance door; preventing me and other guests getting in or out. It was AWFUL and frightening. When I got in and asked the member of staff to do something about it, she saud "Yeh terrible isn't it". She ignored the problem and when I returned to leave the hotel, still couldn't get out of the building, I asked her to do something about it, she shrugged and said "what do you expect me to do about it?" She eventually called the policeafter others complained.

The staff were ambivolent and a bit shabby. When there was no bottle opener in the room, I was asked to come down to reception because she had "other things to do"...totally disappointing in such a beautiful city. It is NOT a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EltonCarrie_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
978 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Property: Ghent River Hotel
Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing