We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ghent River Hotel is perfectly placed near the vibrant restaurant district.”
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Super friendly, helpful staff. I had a room in the old part of the hotel with a river view. Very quiet. Difficult to find any faults. I will unhesitatingly recommend GRH to my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilJJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

Ghent river hotel has following good points: very good location, close to town center/ restaurants/ pubs etc. hotel renovated architecture is interesting. wood ceilings and steel construction elements give a different and fine look. view of the retaurant must be very good but İ could not enjoy it due to late sunrise. Bed , pillows etc was very comfortable. One exceptional positive point is a very rich breakfast. Considering that it is an European hotel, breafast was very good. Hotel has helpful personnel including reception. My room was looking to the river and i was quite content with the stay.

Room Tip: try to select upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anubis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Good points:-
Well located right in the key area of Ghent - ideal for short stay

Friendly, helpful staff


Downsides:-
Looks like an industrial building - which it was

The website showed attractive rooms with architectural character & canal view - we didn't get either - if you are going then it would be worth making sure you get both then you will enjoy the place - we had a characterless square box with a view of the car park. Our room was definately not 4 star.

No tea or coffee making facility

Sauna cost E9 so didn't use it

Breakfast was expensive at E20 - so had great breakfast in local cafe instead

Shower leaked onto the floor

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

A very interesting and centrally located hotel at the heart of Ghent city centre. Despite an error in the booking, the hotel staff couldn't do enough to rectify the problems with patience and speed. They also offered free breakfast as a gesture of goodwill. The room was great, with view over the river. It was tastefully decorated and was clean and very comfortable. Shall definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Our trip was booked as a package deal so we did not get to specify which type of room we would like. Consequently we did not have a river view and the "double bed " was 2 singles which kept separating.The rooms on the other side of the hotel seemed much more attractive. Our bed, however, was very comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. The breakfast was probably as good as we have had anywhere and we have travelled extensively. The breakfast room was very light and attractive.The location of the hotel was good with many restaurants nearby and the centre within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Request a room on the river side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAN1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

First of all, I would say great location. At time of booking requested a double bed with river view, which is exactly what we got! I think this is why the Ghent River is accredited with a 4* rating. I nearly booked the Belfont and when we walked by I can see why this is rated 4* and to be honest just as conveniently located to the centre. Beware, the Ghent River rooms have a mini-bar, which as you expect high prices for drinks. Don't be tempted by the peanuts, red wine and tuc biscuits placed on a silver platter on the desk, coz these are included on the mini-bar list! There is supermarket located in the square, so buy your snacks etc there. The Ghent River were running happy hour between 1730-1830, drinks 50% off. Two evenings running just fancied a vodka and tonic, with ice and a slice, on both occasions no ice or lemon available. The second evening, the receptionist who had a dual role of barmaid, tried to convince me that a bottle of beefeater was in fact vodka. The lift was out of action for two days, with breakfast being served on the 3rd floor, so not sure how people managed in a wheelchair. Mind you breakfast was superb, so really can't complain and credit due. Room and bed really comfortable. Ghent St Pieters station a tram journey away, although only 1 euro 20 each way to Korenmarkt. If you don't expect 4* luxury, then you probably won't be disappointed!

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Angie187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

this hotel is in a great spot - just off a large square where there are plenty of bars and restaurants. It is within walking distance of all the main sights of Ghent.
Our room was really lovely - one exposed brick wall and high beamed ceiling. It looked out over the canal. Pillows not great.
Breakfast was really good and plentiful with an entertaining seagull who came each morning at 9.30 to be fed!
We were asked to pay city tax when we were leaving which we did not expect.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fratersmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 38 in Ghent
1,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.7 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £83 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing