We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghent River Hotel”
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ghent River Hotel”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My son and I stayed here. The room was very well furnished and large and the bathroom very clean and roomy. Breakfast was impressive with so much choice of food, fruits, breads, cereals, cold meats and taken on the 3rd floor roof top with interesting (not necessarily pleasing) views across the rooftops of surrounding properties and the canal. Reception staff were friendly. However ... the hotel was extremely hot when we were there. The safe didn't work and despite reporting both to reception, neither issue was really dealt with. Also, we would have to warn visitors about the rooms on the side of the hotel overlooking the youth club "De Fabriek". This is a very noisy place with thumping music until about 10.00 pm. One might argue that this is an acceptable cut off time but beyond their closure, during the night, we experienced a variety of intermittent "activity" in this narrow short street creating noise with cars and people shouting or talking. This is probably outside of the control of the hotel but if this type of thing annoys you, when you book a room, ask to book in a quiet side where such noises are minimised. The location is about 15 - 20 minutes walk from some of the main squares and architectural places of interest. Parking around this hotel is very restricted. I would return to this hotel but would seek a room on the quieter side of the building.

Room Tip: Ask to be allocated a room on a quiet side of the building away from De Fabriek youth centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triotravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    439
    172
    64
    15
See reviews for
125
518
24
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my son. It was a great room, overlooking the canal. The hotel is well-situated. The staff were very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the river/canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is GREAT - it is located just minutes off the busy square (so it is not noisy) - it is in a perfect location - close to everything you would want to see - it was very clean, comfortable, plenty of room and the staff were extremely helpful - the breakfast is HUGE - you want for nothing - my room was on the lower floor and when I opened the window I was right on the canal - BEST ROOM in the hotel, I think - outdoor patio was beautiful - I would stay there again in a second (and I would hope for that same room)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anniemarie800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here over the easter weekend as we had gone to gent over previous easters and even though it was one of the more expensive hotels we have stayed in the room they gave us was very small. I explained to them that the room looked nothing like the pictures so they agreed to give us an up grade. This unfortunally was no bigger. When i asked for the breckfast list to have it delivered to our room we were informed there were no hot iteams on the list such as eggs even though there was a full charge of 5 euros per person. Think we,ll give gent a miss next year but give this hotel a miss in future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journey4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here as a family party of 10 for one night. We had booked 2 x deluxe double and 2 x deluxe triple. all of the rooms were very spacious and the doubles had lots of character with exposed brick walls, beams and arched windows overlooking the river. However, I was slightly disappointed with the triples as the only thing that appeared deluxe about them was that they were roomy. They had no other character or special features. All the rooms had tea/coffee facilities and plenty of toiletries. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel so we cannot comment on this, but the hotel is well positioned for all the sights of Ghent

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northamptonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I can highly recommend this hotel for those who appreciate decent sized, clean comfortable rooms in a central location, adjacent to many of Gent's historical attractions and shopping areas. The buffet breakfast is great value; fresh with a great selection of food presented by helpful and happy staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room over the water for a nice perspective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

During business trips I try to stay at this hotel as often as it's possible. It's nice and clean and the staff are always very pleasant and helpful.
The breakfast price is however a total ripoff. 20Euro!! That you can skip and go to one of the many nice cafes just around the corner
One great benefit with this hotel is the parking garage located just one minute away from the hotel Parking spaces in Gent can be hard to find.
I will stay here again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
940 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Property: Ghent River Hotel
Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing