We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ghent River Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,109)
Filter reviews
1,109 results
Traveller rating
326
490
203
69
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
490
203
69
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriday marketriver viewnice breakfast roomnice hotelmarket squarewooden beamsthird floorexecutive roomtop floormini barlarge tvbars and restaurantsshort breaklocation is excellentold buildinghotel barbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
423 - 428 of 1,109 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Booked two rooms and one was upgraded to a stunning deluxe suite and in terms of value for money excellent choice. Great location and there was lots of detail from the bath robes, toileteries to decent size TVs with all the English channels you need.
We booked through Trivago and got an excellent deal. We all agreed we would stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike_breslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here on business and didn't go back there on subsequent trips. I asked for a quiet room and they obviously tried to accommodate this request by giving me a room at the back but it was in the basement. It was indeed quiet but the smell of air freshener almost took my head off when I opened the door. There were 2 of those industrial-sized gel fresheners on top of the wardrobe. Unfortunately, after a while, the smell of the mould that this was trying to cover up got through too. The hotel was full, so no chance of moving.

The room itself was well furnished, although there was a worryingly large TV on a bracket on the wall. The bathroom was great.

Room service was odd. I ordered a salad which was delivered in a dish covered in tin foil with the cutlery and a mystery parcel of tinfoil balanced on top. This turned out to be several slices of sliced bread. No tray. No condiments. No butter.

The breakfast, however, was really good. There is lovely 'glass box' dining room on the top floor. Good selection and a nice rooftop view.

Room Tip: Stay away from the basement rooms!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Pros:
Excellent location.
Room was clean, presentable, and adequate.
Breakfast buffet was excellent, with a nice panoramic view from the dining room.
Fast and free Wi-Fi.

Cons:
No exhaust fan in bathroom.
Floors were dangerously slippery. The lack of exhaust from bathroom would result in an abundance of condensation on the floor.
Our window was a foot or two behind a chair in the courtyard. We had to keep our window closed for privacy.

Room Tip: Go for any floor except for the bottom.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeloniusMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel has mixed reviews so I was a bit worried, but was very happy indeed with what we found and wonder what others found a problem with. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful, we were given rooms next to the breakfast and lift as my family have mobility issues, the rooms were modern but spacious and well fitted, free tea and coffee, free unlimited internet, a public underground car park nearby which was 10 euros per day and hassle-free. The hotel looks small from the outside but has two interesting buildings and nice canal views on one side. Breakfast was 20 euros per person for all you can eat from a well stocked and interesting buffet. The bathrooms were nice with lots of free toiletries of high quality. The lobby is modern and attractive with pleasant places to sit, a small friendly bar, TV and internet, and an outside courtyard where we saw a few guests happily sitting with drinks and ipads in the sun. Really, this place was a great find, and right in the middle of the picturesque part of town, near some of the best restaurants, castle, water and main square. Would gladly stay there whenever I am in Ghent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal are quietest during the day, all rooms are quiet at night. If you book during one of Ghent's festival weekends, expect music and fireworks all over the town wherever you are!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avisitor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Firstly, the location is brilliant. You must try the Dulle Griet bar nearby and order a Kwak...they take your shoe off you and put it in a basket on the ceiling and you dont get it back until you hand back the glass! Brilliant!

The hotel was OK, certainly very clean and tidy, the view onto the canal was excellent, but people do come sailing by your window so be wary when parading around your room!

I stayed here one night for a business trip and was perfectly adequate, breakfast not too bad but the service wasn't too good. Don't think I'd chose this hotel for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better...get a canal view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruddoug09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews