We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, quaint and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good location, quaint and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Enjoyed two nights at this hotel while exploring the city. It is a great location with quiet an extensive breakfast spread. Rooms are a good size with sound proof windows. We looked out on the river. Everything is very clean. Nice people at reception were helpful suggesting restaurants, etc. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jwbasnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    431
    167
    62
    15
See reviews for
122
506
24
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Very nice hotel with very friendly staff.
Clean rooms and a very big nice breakfast.
Worth it!
Bathroom with vapor shower.
Very central in the beautiful city of Ghent.
Good restaurants very near to the hotel.
Belfry and cathedral very near.

Room Tip: I had a luxury room (a little bit more expensive but lots of space and ol features)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

I've stayed here several times now and finally getting around to a review. As a repeat visitor, I obviously recommend it.

The rooms vary a bit, with some of the bathrooms much larger and nicer than others. I particularly liked the ground floor room overlooking the river that I stayed in once. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, but be sure you book a rate that includes breakfast. It is not really any cheaper that way, but it at least disguises the exorbitant charge, and the room with breakfast is still quite affordable.

The staff is very friendly and helpful; no 5-star concierge service, but quite knowledgeable about the local area. WHich brings me to the location. Half a block from the Friday Market Place (which always has something going on) and a short walk from the richly varied Patershol restaurant district, this is a perfect base for tourist or business traveler (I have been both).

I expect that I will continue to make this my first choice in Gent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river ... especially on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirtuallyAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Booked two rooms and one was upgraded to a stunning deluxe suite and in terms of value for money excellent choice. Great location and there was lots of detail from the bath robes, toileteries to decent size TVs with all the English channels you need.
We booked through Trivago and got an excellent deal. We all agreed we would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_breslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here on business and didn't go back there on subsequent trips. I asked for a quiet room and they obviously tried to accommodate this request by giving me a room at the back but it was in the basement. It was indeed quiet but the smell of air freshener almost took my head off when I opened the door. There were 2 of those industrial-sized gel fresheners on top of the wardrobe. Unfortunately, after a while, the smell of the mould that this was trying to cover up got through too. The hotel was full, so no chance of moving.

The room itself was well furnished, although there was a worryingly large TV on a bracket on the wall. The bathroom was great.

Room service was odd. I ordered a salad which was delivered in a dish covered in tin foil with the cutlery and a mystery parcel of tinfoil balanced on top. This turned out to be several slices of sliced bread. No tray. No condiments. No butter.

The breakfast, however, was really good. There is lovely 'glass box' dining room on the top floor. Good selection and a nice rooftop view.

Room Tip: Stay away from the basement rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Pros:
Excellent location.
Room was clean, presentable, and adequate.
Breakfast buffet was excellent, with a nice panoramic view from the dining room.
Fast and free Wi-Fi.

Cons:
No exhaust fan in bathroom.
Floors were dangerously slippery. The lack of exhaust from bathroom would result in an abundance of condensation on the floor.
Our window was a foot or two behind a chair in the courtyard. We had to keep our window closed for privacy.

Room Tip: Go for any floor except for the bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeloniusMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel has mixed reviews so I was a bit worried, but was very happy indeed with what we found and wonder what others found a problem with. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful, we were given rooms next to the breakfast and lift as my family have mobility issues, the rooms were modern but spacious and well fitted, free tea and coffee, free unlimited internet, a public underground car park nearby which was 10 euros per day and hassle-free. The hotel looks small from the outside but has two interesting buildings and nice canal views on one side. Breakfast was 20 euros per person for all you can eat from a well stocked and interesting buffet. The bathrooms were nice with lots of free toiletries of high quality. The lobby is modern and attractive with pleasant places to sit, a small friendly bar, TV and internet, and an outside courtyard where we saw a few guests happily sitting with drinks and ipads in the sun. Really, this place was a great find, and right in the middle of the picturesque part of town, near some of the best restaurants, castle, water and main square. Would gladly stay there whenever I am in Ghent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal are quietest during the day, all rooms are quiet at night. If you book during one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avisitor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Property: Ghent River Hotel
Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing