We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghent River hotel”
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Gent
1 review
“Ghent River hotel”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

excellent stay at this hotel the location breakfast all excellent we had a great time at Ghent
tip belgium beer:-)
and a lovely castle in the area
so what are you waiting for? book this hotel and you can see for yourself

E.Klijn
Netherlands

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    437
    170
    62
    15
See reviews for
123
513
24
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

First visit to the beautiful city of Ghent and this hotel put us right in the middle of the action. The staff were welcoming and the rooms clean and comfortable. Beautiful restored old sugar mill maintained some character. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackney, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We liked this hotel a lot. We tried to book it again on our return to gent a few days later but it was full. We got the Ibis Central Opera instead. Big mistake. For the same price the River Hotel was charming, clean and roomy. The Ibis was functional, with tiny rooms and the incredibly small bathroom door had a unprepared hole in it from what looked like someone having banged their head on it after realising what bad value it was. Gent River Hotel if you can. Ibis Central Opera only if you really must.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed there several times throughout the year.It's a nice cosy hotel.Rooms are clean and big enough.Though they can be a bit noisy due to the wooden floors.Good breakfast with very nice and friendly staff at the breakfast room!

Room Tip: It's in the middle of the centre.Easy to access and parking space nearby.Make a reservation on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Ghent is a tremendous place to spend a few days if you like exploring, eating and drinking in a leisurely and unhurried atmosphere. Transport is easy but why bother when you can walk wherever you want to go - provided you stay in the right hotel. That's where the Ghent River hotel comes in. Not only is it comfortable, friendly and excellent value for money, it's also just about as close to the sights, the squares and the restaurants as you can get. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a view, and to feel part of the place, go for a riverside room in the old part of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Breakfast was very good shame about the room. Towels were poor, free Internet was difficult to access, no tea/ coffee facilities in the room. Central for access to the city but very dis appointed with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missdottyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
190 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Thank you fellow TA reviewers for speaking the praises of this hotel. On the spur of the moment and with the force of the recommendations at my back, I booked a room for a one night stay earlier this week. This was also my first visit to Ghent as well.

Well, the location of the Ghent River Hotel is excellent. About the only "comparable" hotel that would top this location would be the fabled Marriott Hotel which is situated on the incomparable Kornlei. Not bad real estate if you can get it, but getting back to Ghent River Hotel, the hotel backs up to the main canal. Not too shabby I say! My room with a King (228) didn't overlook the river, but not to worry, I was in town to explore and I was only in room to sleep.

For starts, accessibility to the hotel is very simple via the #1 tram from the Sint-Pieters station. With a bag in tow, I'd estimate the walk to be around five minutes to the hotel after disembarking at the Gravensteen (sp) stop. The hotel is superbly situated in the Historic Centrum. Architecturally from what I could tell, the hotel did a novel job blending both the historic building site and modern airy environments such as the lobby and hallways.

Room features included complimentary wifi, an "honor" minibar of sorts with a form to be filled out for items consumed, a generously proportioned bathroom with tub and shower unit, and a wall mounted flat screen. Windows open both horizontally and vertically too. Air conditioning (not that I really needed it) worked like a charm. The bedding just agreed with me perfectly. Call me a bed snob, but the bedding seemed more like "marriott style" and who knows what is under the hood so to speak? But whatever the case, I was happy to be in a supple soft bed that felt like it had a pillow top.

The spectacular location really requires no explanation. A simple look at Google Maps can say it better than I can. All the main attractions such as the Belfry, St. Michaels Bridge, and the restaurants of Patershol are just minutes away on foot. And when I say minutes, I really mean time in the single digits unless one get seduced into buying chocolates at Leonidas or stopping by a bar for a couple of drinks while en-route.

What I didn't use in the hotel were any facilities such as the sauna, gym, or room service. It does appear there is a small bar in the lobby but which choices aplenty in Ghent, the lack of access to imbibing won't be an issue.

I checked out too soon as I had to return to work. I definitely plan on revisiting Ghent and spending some time exploring the area on bike. I'd love to return to this hotel because it had charisma, it was peaceful, and the room environment was very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RegionalRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Property: Ghent River Hotel
Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing