We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and utilitarian”
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and utilitarian”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

There is a scarcity of great lodging in Ghent.
The Ghent River hotel has a reasonably good location in an area which is in transition.
The contemporary concept of the refurbished brick mill house is not unfortunately reflected in its furnishings and appointments.
The staff is friendly. The breakfast conservatory on top of the building is cheerful. The breakfast is generous but certainly not exciting.
I would only recommend staying in a room with the Canal view as we found other rooms in the property to be very dark
As we often return to a city we find interesting we explored for other logging.
We tend to prefer properties that are in keeping stylistically with the city in which they are located.
Of the other hotels which we visited the new contemporary Marriott seems to be the best choice in the city with regards to location etc.
It is a period building with a contemporary interior that is well thought out.
Often the rates of the Marriott are comparable if not slightly less than the Ghent River Hotel depending on availability.
Ghent is only a 25 minute train ride from either Bruges or Brussels.
Unless you absolutely need to stay in Ghent I believe properties in Brussels and Bruges are a much better value for money.
Overall we did not find this property to be good value for money in comparison other properties in Bruges and Brussels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92robertp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    453
    177
    64
    16
See reviews for
127
536
26
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I went with my husband for the first time to this hotel, the second week of september 2013.
Our experience with this hotel is just excellent. Great room, very good bed, so clean.
Just wanted to let you all know if you visit Gent, take this Hotel.
It is right in the middle of all great sightseeing sites. You will not regret it.
Not expensive and the service is great. Especially the breakfast area. Yummie food... :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samourah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed here early September 2013 for 3 nights. We had an executive room with a view of the river right outside which was lovely. I think this is what made it executive as the room itself wasn't 'wow' but it was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was small but very clean and a nice big sink for toiletries etc. The shower was funny as it had a seat and lots of water pistons in there for an interesting shower experience....also a mirror?! Don't get that. I did like the quirkiness of the place though as it was part of an old mill so there was a pole beam in the bathroom and beams on the ceiling which are a nice touch.

The breakfast room is lovely on the third floor, a really nice way to begin the day. The food on offer was the usual continental breakfast with a few Belgian touches thrown in but there was plenty and all nice food.

The location is ideal, just a 5 minute walk from the centre of Ghent it is very easy to get around and a nice quiet, place to stay.

Overall I would recommend a stay at this hotel. I do not know the usual rates as we came on a special deal from secretescapes.com as a birthday treat for me (which also included champagne and belgian chocs on arrival! very yum, despite having to go and get them from reception ourselves - would have been nice to have them waiting)

My main criticism would be the room service and bar charges - the prices truly are astronomical however Ghent as a city, isn't a cheap place but even considering that, the prices were too high.

However, our room was cleaned every day, the safe is free to use and can store plenty and the reception staff were always very helpful.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the river are great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaska678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

excellent stay at this hotel the location breakfast all excellent we had a great time at Ghent
tip belgium beer:-)
and a lovely castle in the area
so what are you waiting for? book this hotel and you can see for yourself

E.Klijn
Netherlands

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

First visit to the beautiful city of Ghent and this hotel put us right in the middle of the action. The staff were welcoming and the rooms clean and comfortable. Beautiful restored old sugar mill maintained some character. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackney, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We liked this hotel a lot. We tried to book it again on our return to gent a few days later but it was full. We got the Ibis Central Opera instead. Big mistake. For the same price the River Hotel was charming, clean and roomy. The Ibis was functional, with tiny rooms and the incredibly small bathroom door had a unprepared hole in it from what looked like someone having banged their head on it after realising what bad value it was. Gent River Hotel if you can. Ibis Central Opera only if you really must.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed there several times throughout the year.It's a nice cosy hotel.Rooms are clean and big enough.Though they can be a bit noisy due to the wooden floors.Good breakfast with very nice and friendly staff at the breakfast room!

Room Tip: It's in the middle of the centre.Easy to access and parking space nearby.Make a reservation on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
978 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Property: Ghent River Hotel
Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing