We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghent River is one of my favorites in Europe.”
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ghent River is one of my favorites in Europe.”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have been to this hotel in 2012, because of a business trip to Ghent. The hotel is awesome. It is clean, in the city center, in a historic building. It has a great river view, a great breakfast on the roof, very kind and friendly staff.
If I go to Belgium again, I will surely go to Ghent and stay in this hotel again. It was a great experience to visit Ghent and stay in this hotel for 4-5 days.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4seyyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    439
    172
    64
    15
See reviews for
125
518
24
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect for our needs, we were able to enjoy the market and it was very conveniently located to a large number of sites including Gravensteen. We had a room that overlooked the canal and the proportions were very generous. The staff were extremely pleasant and we had no problems with any of the amenities and the breakfast certainly met our needs. The beds were very comfortable but the rooms were not very soundproof, however that just ensured that we did not let the jetlag overtake our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
currumbin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Hotel is in a good location, the lobby is nice and the room was a good size with a fairly recent renovation of the bathroom. Where to start with the rest mmm they advertise free wireless internet everywhere in the hotel, only place it worked for us was the lobby, we were told must just be our room but it would seem others had the same problem. You could rent an nternet cable but it didn't work for Macs so useless. We then used the hotel computer to book train tickets thinking that the printer worked because it was turned on. Oh they have a printer, it just doesn't work. We then had to email our tickets to front desk so they could print them. Someone asked for ice, they have an ice machine but it doesn't work so no ice for drinks. breakfast was usual hotel fair but bacon was swimming in fat and there were eggshells all through the scrambled eggs. Horrible auto coffee machine, we gave up and went up the road and bought real coffee and breakfast. When leaving the room in the afternoon one day the door handle fell off in my hand. Rang reception but they had no tools to fix it ! Husband managed to screw it back in with swiss army knife. Asked for another room as didn't feel that door was really secure, first time we have ever been offered a downgrade! they had no rooms of similar standard so we could have a lower one, after all the problems to date most places would have offered an upgrade not a lesser quality room than we had paid for. They did offer us a free drink each, the beer was fine but my red wine basically cheap plonk and undrinkable. We wouldn't stay here again but it does have location going for it and if you can put up with the inconveniences it may be for you.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs room quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A first impression lasts ! The reception staff were obnoxious when we first arrived. I was querying whether the reservation included breakfast and the reply was "I know my job"
The room was dusty, dirt (unidentified marks) on the walls in the bedroom and bathroom. Towels were stained, bathrobes were thin, yellowed and washed out. Do not expect a lie in, as the walls and wooden flooring allow every sound to be heard from your neighbours and the very loud cleaning staff. Cleaning staff may make your bed but do not expect anything further. You will pay 4* rates but you will receive 2* quality. I am a frequent traveller to Belgium and will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zippingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Hotel is located in the city centre and Gent university aola.
Rooms are quiet and clean. Breakfast is excellent. Symbolising the Belgium kitchen and also differend kind of nationalities. The most important thing is hotel is very clean. Room service is also good. Stuff are very friendly and helpfull. I strongly suggest the hotel for stay on every purposes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seyma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

There is a scarcity of great lodging in Ghent.
The Ghent River hotel has a reasonably good location in an area which is in transition.
The contemporary concept of the refurbished brick mill house is not unfortunately reflected in its furnishings and appointments.
The staff is friendly. The breakfast conservatory on top of the building is cheerful. The breakfast is generous but certainly not exciting.
I would only recommend staying in a room with the Canal view as we found other rooms in the property to be very dark
As we often return to a city we find interesting we explored for other logging.
We tend to prefer properties that are in keeping stylistically with the city in which they are located.
Of the other hotels which we visited the new contemporary Marriott seems to be the best choice in the city with regards to location etc.
It is a period building with a contemporary interior that is well thought out.
Often the rates of the Marriott are comparable if not slightly less than the Ghent River Hotel depending on availability.
Ghent is only a 25 minute train ride from either Bruges or Brussels.
Unless you absolutely need to stay in Ghent I believe properties in Brussels and Bruges are a much better value for money.
Overall we did not find this property to be good value for money in comparison other properties in Bruges and Brussels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92robertp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I went with my husband for the first time to this hotel, the second week of september 2013.
Our experience with this hotel is just excellent. Great room, very good bed, so clean.
Just wanted to let you all know if you visit Gent, take this Hotel.
It is right in the middle of all great sightseeing sites. You will not regret it.
Not expensive and the service is great. Especially the breakfast area. Yummie food... :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samourah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
940 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Property: Ghent River Hotel
Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing