We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Manitoba
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Located on the north side of the tourist and historical areas the hotel is just enough out of the way enough to be in a quiet area. Business rooms are large by European standards , are clean and have decent furniture and facilities. Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the canal. On the downside, wi fi is slow and spotty, breakfast is way over priced. The walls are thin so bring earplugs. Staff are helpful but you have to work hard to get their attention.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank flatlandermanitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    431
    167
    62
    15
See reviews for
122
506
24
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Central location, desk staff friendly, converted warehouse, next to canal. Should be a really good combination. Hotel is nice, fine for sleeping in, it could be special. Not all rooms overlook thr canal, luckily ous did. Some of the features of the warehouse are still to be seen. Breakfast buffet is very good. Wifi worked fine.

Room Tip: Room overlooking canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nandgNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here with a couple of friends this summer and we had a lovely stay. I found the front desk staff really helpful and friendly and booked a table at a local restaurant when we asked.
Out room overlooked the canal and was a lovely room. All clean and in working order.
Breakfast was great and a wide choice. Although breakfast was included in our room price I think to pay for it separately was quite expensive - only breakfast if it's included in your original price! But all staff really lovely during breakfast service.
Wifi worked fine in our room, had to reconnect to it every now and then but no problem really!
Take advantage of bar happy hour! Great location and good value for money. Would definitely stay here again :)

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank orangeblancmanges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The twin room was spacious, clean and pleasantly furnished. Good bathroom, except that the air extract system wasn't operating and there should be grab rails and a soap dish in the shower. The breakfast was an extensive buffet breakfast, with a vast choice of items to eat and drink. Good roofscape views over Ghent from the breakfast room. Don't know about the wifi, as didn't want to use it. Staff at reception were helpful. Reading the recent review by Michelle M, I do wonder if she went to a different hotel. It was good value for money. I'd certainly return to that hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27Jamesw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

When we first arrived, we were given a room that I didn't hesitate to proclaim the worst I've ever stayed in, and trust me, I do travel a lot and I've seen many hotels. It was very dark, big with three beds, but the furniture was almost placed randomly, I wondered who ever got the job of decorating this room. The entire feeling was just sad and the room also seemed worn out. I said to my husband that luckily Gent is such a beautiful city and we are lucky to only have to sleep in the room.

The wifi didn't work in our room and there was a noise coming from very noisy neighbours, so we kindly asked if we could get another room. We were lucky that there was a room available on the river side - and what a change!

It was like a completely different hotel! The room was very stylish, nicely decorated, the view was lovely. From being very disappointed I became very enthusiastic about our stay in the hotel.

Breakfast room is very nice with a lots of windows, but the breakfast itself was rather disappointing.

The location is great. The wifi never really worked. Not in the old nor in the new room.

The staff was not service minded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room turning towards the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heroneya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Ghent River Hotel in October 2013. The hotel is obviously trying to upgrade, but the amenities, service and building are not equal to the hype. We didn't have a canal view room.
MY main complaints:
1) the wifi only worked in the lobby. We never could connect in our rooms and heard other guests voice the same complaint. The front desk seemed apathetic to the problem.

2) Service. If this is 4 star service, I'm only staying in 5 star hotels from now on. The front desk staff wasn't helpful, friendly nor did they take the time to be proactive about anything. Apathetic at best. When the maid realized we weren't up yet at 9am, she left our clean towels in a bag outside our door, instead of coming back later.

3) Atmosphere: it can be hard to remodel old buildings and make them elegant, but this "newly remodeled" hotel felt like a budget best western, industrial carpets, shiny duct tape to denote the edges of stairs, and the cheapest finishing everywhere. The one exception was the breakfast room on the third floor.

Good things:
1) location. Right next to the Friday Market Square and close to all the old city.

2) the breakfast service was well done.

I was disappointed in my stay here, but if you lower your expectations to a hotel that is solely utilitarian with delusions of greatness, you won't be similarly disappointed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just back from a brilliant 3-day trip to Ghent. Here are a few comments on where we stayed: the Ghent River Hotel, which is rated as a 4-star property.

Best things about the hotel:

- The riverside location, great views from the room
- only about 6 mins walk from the tram
- breakfast staff Marla (?) from Turkey was friendly and helpful
- they provided gluten-free bread as requested
- provided umbrellas
- self-service breakfast so no delays with orders
- the exposed brickwork, exposed ceiling beams and old iron external windows from the original warehouse gave the room character
- a kettle was provided in the room
- free wifi when you could get it to work
- good range of multi-language TV stations
- lovely big breakfast room with panoramic views, and outside tables too
- very close to a wide range of eating places, historic area and shops

Some not so good points:

- The safe wasn't 'safe' - it wasn't attached to wall or floor and I could drag it around the room!
- although it looked clean, the toilet area wasn’t properly cleaned as from arrival there was an unpleasant smell of stale urine
- the spa/steam function in the shower didn’t work
- Bath towels a bit thin and old, although the hand towels were decent
- although helpful on arrival and when I previously called to check they had my booking, the reception staff ignored guests at all other times which is pretty poor.

Overall the hotel was really nice, but it might be a very good 3 star rather than a 4 star. If I got the same river-view room again I’d be quite happy to return there. Ghent is a fantastic place to visit with beautiful historic buildings - but be beware that the surrounding heritage area is completely paved with cobblestones so difficult to pull a wheeled suitcase from the tram to the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicMinxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Property: Ghent River Hotel
Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing