We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and view”
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed here with my family over New Year we had one twin room on the ground floor and one double on the 1st floor. Both rooms were a good size and had a lovely view of the canal. However the double was superior to the twin room even though the rate was the same for both, it was warmer, had better furnishings, a tea tray (missing from the twin) and a power shower. We found the twin room was cold, the shower was very weak and the walls were quite thin. Regardless of these negative points we had a great stay at this hotel and would return again (but would definitely ask for 1st floor double rooms next time).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Given the number of 4 star ratings l expected more of this hotel than l got.
The room was ok but considering it was a deluxe room with canal view l was disappointed.
It was a fairly simple room, furniture was a bit shabby. The walls are paper thin and if you have noisy neighbours you will hear them, also people upstairs walking about, as we did. I noticed the wooden floor in the room had not been swept before we arrived and indeed it wasn't throughout our entire stay. On day 2 we arrived back to the room after being out all day to discover the bins had not been emptied and dirty crockery not been replaced with clean ones. I reported this to reception and was given two clean mugs and an apology although the member of staff l spoke to seemed rather vague/dippy and said " I will report it to housekeeping".
On checking out the next day we were offered a free drink of tea/coffee or glass of Cava by way of an apology. I was not impressed.
I would not recommend this hotel if you expect good service and a high standard of cleanliness.
Travelled as a couple over the Christmas/New Year period.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Usually go to Prague for Xmas but last year tried Bruges for a change. It was lovely but a week was too long. Ghent is a much better prospect as there's far more to see and do, and this hotel is ideal both in terms of position and facilities. As mentioned by others elsewhere an executive room with canal view is advised, but the walls are a bit thin and if you have noisy neighbours you will hear them. This happened to us once or twice. Also have to agree that some towels are showing their age and it seems ridiculous that they can't standardise this. Some days they were luxurious and others just plain thin!
Breakfast is excellent and Wi-Fi reliable (and free).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Good place to stay in Ghent. We paid €280 for 3 nights for a double room including breakfast at Halloween. Room was nice and lovely wooden beams in roof. Although we could hear the people upstairs walking about - it was not an issue though as luckily they were very quiet and didn't bother us but if they were noisy we would have heard everything.
Good free wifi - you take a printout from a little machine on the reception that gives you a code for 24 hours.
Hotel was very clean and the breakfast was fantastic.
Area is ok - its near a big square and lots of streets but it's not really central - but it's a small city so it's easy to get around. We had an early start on our final morning so we had 6am breakfast and reception had organised a taxi to the train station for us (around €10 I think).
The receptionist gave us a train timetable and unfortunately told us that the train was direct to the airport - However we should have changed at Brussles North - when we found out at Midi that we had missed the connection we got a taxi the rest out the way (€35).
So just a tip to make 100% sure if you have to change trains!!!

To get to Ghent we flew into Brussles airport and had a direct train to Ghent St Peters (quite expensive train so maybe look up alternatives but it was handy) - then we went out of the train station at Ghent and walked about 100m to the left and took the tram into the heart of the city. From there the hotel is 10 mins walk nw.

Good mix of price and quality - I would have no issues staying there again.

Room Tip: I think every room is designed different so I woudl imagine each has it's own charms - although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Modern and reasonably priced for a quiet location just on the edge of the old town. Easy to drive to and reasonable secure paid parking close by at 10Euro per day.

Less than one minutes walk from the vridag market square and the old town centre thereafter
A fairly simple but adequate enough modern hotel. No large public spaces and generally simply furnished but we (two couples) felt were fine for the price. We had a couple of minor niggles in our room that they just couldn't get fixed whilst we were there. A lampshade missing in room 212 bathroom gives a very bright reflection into your eyes when looking in the mirror and the TV controller was very temperamental about turning the TV on, but then worked fine when it was on. To be fair they spontaneously gave us a small discount because of the minor niggles but I and I guess subsequent guests might prefer that they actually fixed them.

Staff were friendly when approached and at least came promptly to the room to investigate the problems. They just didn't seem to know what to do to get them fixed.

The only other negative was breakfast at 20 Euros per head which is ludicrous when there are a dozen more characterful places doing as well at half the price close by.

Room Tip: Our room 212 looked out onto a small side street. Pleasantly quiet but heavily illuminated by the of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Ghent turned out to be the highlight of our vacation - enjoyed every moment of our 4 days there. And the river hotel was possibly one of the reasons why we enjoyed ourselves so much!
Its an amazing location...close to all the good food (patershol), tram station, the squares... and bang on the canal. What we loved most abt the location is that we would be in the thick of things in a heartbeat, yet the hotel was quiet and ideal for some R&R! The location wasn't touristy, unlike the Marriot (our other choice) and we really felt part of the town's vibe here.
We had a canal side room (had previously requested for it) and that was wonderful and large,

However, had a bit of an issue the first note wherein they tried to pass off a tiny room onto us saying that was all they had available! It eventually did get sorted out (coz it did not belong to the category we had booked) the next day, but that night was not fun. Nor did they try to make up for what i felt was a waste of my money, in any way what so ever. I guess, being generous or customer focussed does'nt come naturally to all hoteliers!

But that apart, the front office staff was friendly, sweet, helpful with all our queries. The room was good adequately stocked and like I mentioned earlier, the location was simply wonderful. Should be an enjoyable stay for most people. But please do remember that you have to fine-tune your expectations to that of a smallish town - this is not going to be like a 4 star in a big city.

Room Tip: anything canal side and on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atmdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

It was a blind choice to select this hotel, but it turned out to be pure genius when we selected the breakfast in addition to the room. It is one block from one of the large squares and about 4 blocks from the tram stop coming from the train station. It was an easy walk even with a suitcase.

The room was on the ground floor, which at first we had concerns with. We were right next to the elevator, but never realized it until we went to breakfast the first morning. The bed, pillows, and comforter was so incredibly comfortable and comforting, I slept better than my best nights at home.

The room was more than adequate for a couple giving us room to spread out without feeling cramped.

The breakfast buffet was expansive. It made for tough choices early in the morning, but well worth the effort. Looking at restaurant prices in the city, I know we would not have been able to get a fraction of the offerings for similar costs as the breakfast here.

We adored Ghent, but since this was a long weekend, we did not see nearly as much as we would have liked. We will definitely return and this will be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Our room 14 backed to a children's center that was noisy during the day, but silent at night. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudaBaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £82 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing