We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a stop over”
Review of Formule 1 Ghent

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Formule 1 Ghent
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I found the hotel just what we needed as we were traveling on in the morning.The rooms were basic but no need in worrying and the showers were excelent. I will be trying to book this place again next year

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raven80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

the price rate did not reflect for F1 standard. wifi should be extended to the room instead of limited to reception area. The surrounding area should be maintained properly to reflect Accor standard eventhough its only F1 brand.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimashaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreas_emc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 June 2012

They say you pay for what you get, we were robbed !
On the plus side the staff were very friendly and helpful. I've never stayed in a f1 before but my friends said this was the worst one yet. The hotel is used by eastern european workers as a "serviced apartment, meaning they were cooking in there rooms though there are no facilities so either they bought in microwaves or camp stoves. The rooms are very basic with a double bed with a bunk bed over it. Looking at the rooms they were all being used with 3 occupents. There is nothing else in the room except a small tv. Communinal showers and toilets as in the hallway. People come in and out all night banging doors or loud tv.
Take the wife there if your looking for a divorce !

Gent is beautiful city with plenty of other good reasonable priced hotels,
This one is on the outskirts between a railway line and dual carriageway......... Be aware

Room Tip: Room at he back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Formule 1 Ghent is outdated and at least during our stay (one night in Easter) it was quite noisy and propably not a family-friendly hotel. Rooms are basic F1-rooms, toilets and showers could be cleaner, but we did sleep one night there. I would not have liked to stay another night, even though Ghent is a beautiful city.
F1 Ghent is situated propably 3 kilometres from city center, near docks area. It was possible to walk into center (took propably 20 minutes) and taxi back costed 13 euros.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I had read some of the reviews before we booked and just assumed the reviewers had higher expectations than myself. We have used F1 hotels in France and although they have similarities in room sizes, breakfast. locations etc. this was not of the same league. The receptionist seemed to expect us not to stay, she showed us a sample room and the toilet/shower facilities. We were then given the option to cancel our reservation or just take the one night and find somewhere else the following night. Because of the time and the fact that it was reasonably clean (grass now cut) we decided not to traipse round Gent looking for somewhere else. After a trip into the Centre (taxi10 euro each way) we came back for a nightcap (Carrefour 2-3 euro a bottle of red) as 2 couples we didn't feel threatened as some people have mentioned whilst sitting outside with some of the other residents. The rooms are small, ours could sleep 3 (bunk bed), have TV and sink with hot and cold water but smell of smoke and it seemed to be mainly used by eastern european workers as cheap digs instead of a travellers Hotel -not necessarily true. HGV's do drive through the car park to get to the industrial unit next door but like you would expect this is only during normal working hours, there's a train line close by but this was not that noisy and unless we were just lucky the residents do go quiet at about 10-11pm and we heard nothing or saw no-one whilst sneaking to the toilet in the middle of the night (hoping I could remember the combination to get back in the room) until the cleaner came round about 8am the following morning. Breakfast is no worse than some other cheap continental hotels and probably cheaper than a restaurant in the centre - cups are not plastic anymore.
If you are on a city break consider the price of breakfast and the cost of transport into centre as it's a bit of a walk, but if you can't find anywhere else and you don't expect too much, like us you might be able to have a laugh about it.(the bottles of red helped)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
3.9 mi away
Campanile Gent / Gand
Campanile Gent / Gand
#34 of 38 in Ghent
185 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.6 mi away
Flandria Hotel
Flandria Hotel
#28 of 38 in Ghent
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 38 in Ghent
1,019 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#19 of 38 in Ghent
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formule 1 Ghent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formule 1 Ghent

Address: Vliegtuiglaan 21, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing