We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aparthotel Castelnou
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality hotel”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Excellent recent stay. Very helpful staff. Room clean and with all the appliances you need, including cooking facility. Short distance to the city centre which can be easily walked, but if you are an older person use public transport as some of the pavements are a bit uneven.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MiketUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    251
    21
    1
    5
See reviews for
121
307
10
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great hotel with all the things you could need. Food was good, staff were helpful and rooms were very modern and minimalist but had some really nice touches such as an expresso machine, microwave, nice TV etc.Had a great night's sleep in a really comfortable bed in a peaceful area of Ghent but still only ten minutes walk from ghent Dampoort train station and 15 minutes walk from all the main tourist attractions of central Ghent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Recently stayed at the Aparthotel Castelnou whilst in Ghent over Valentines Day. The hotel is a little out of the main centre of Ghent however it is only about 5-10 minutes walk into the centre and there is a bus stop about 100m from the hotel if you prefer.

On arrival at the hotel we were met by a lovely receptionist who gave us a map and a couple of guide books and also marked on the map the easiest way to walk back into town. The room that we had was lovely, pretty much brand new and very moden. A large lounge/kitchen/dining area with fully equipped kitchen with stove, fridge, microwave, kettle and coffee machine and all the utensils you'd need. Lounge is lovely with a tv that has about 100 channels from all over europe. The bathroom was clean and spacious and the seperate bedroom was simple and very modern. There was lots of storage and it was a great room to have for a 4 night break!

Breakfast was included in the rate and had a wider range of choice than I would have expected. Cereals, yoghurt, fruit, pastries, a variety of breads, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, cakes, lots of spreads alongside coffee, teas and juice.

We had a snack in the restaurant one evening and that was very yummy and the beer wasn't anymore expensive than in the bars in town.

Overall, its a great hotel in a good, quiet, more residential location than the centre. The only tip for a UK traveller would be to take some teabags and buy some milk if you are a tea fiend! You get 1 teabag and 4 coffee pods in the room when you arrive but then need to buy more if you want them for the rest of the stay. Only 25cents for tea and 50cents for coffee but you might as well take your own!!

Will definitely be recommending to friends and family and maybe visiting again at some point!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire,England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Requested a quiet room- no problem. Requested a parking space- no problem. Communication with hotel prior to arrival was great. Satnav took us straight there. Parking space “roomy" by some European city centre sizes. Room was as expected and as previously described. Good size, very clean and well equipped. Breakfast was fine. We will return to Gent as it is a wonderfully beautiful city and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Nice and clean hotel. The rooms are large and modern: we had a living/dining area with a kitchenette, a separate bedroom (very comfortable bed) and a bathroom. Check-in was efficient and friendly. Also the location is good; it's at walking distance from the city center (+/- 15 minutes walking from the Korenmarkt).

Parking space is provided at a small extra cost (8 euro). This is excellent value for money, as parking in the city centre isn't exactly free of cost and finding a parking space on a weekend night is rather difficult.

The breakfast buffet was ok, nothing special though.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay in this hotel again or to recommend it to friends. It's perfect for people who want a clean, large and comfortable room, close to the city centre, but who do not require too much frills.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jes001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Ok so top marks go to the owners here for this apart hotel, very late arrival, barmaid had my booking and very friendly warm person to check me in, no issues at all. Decent secure car park, tho being a Brit right hand drive the barrier was on the wrong side (I'm joking) anyway.. Car park safe, secure and it's off the street where you can park, but there is a charge.

The room, large, decent size, nice and clean and functional without the need of a wow factor. It amazes me now why all hotel rooms if they can don't open up to be more like apart hotels,

Nothing to niggle over, agree with earlier reviewer there could have been a tv in the bedroom also... I must admit, the adlina apts in Germany score far higher than this... But I gave it a low 4 or high 3.5 if it was available.

So...only niggle... Breakfast..food fine, the space available fine, but... There was nowhere you could sit as the waitress had not cleared the tables, so I sat where I thought I was in the breakfast area only to be told by frosty features "this is for lunch not breakfast" very rude indeed! So beware of the moody grump of a morning... And I don't mean your other half!

Was on business in Ghent, drove through the centre...alas never had time, looks very picturesque. I will return but might order breakfast in bed..if allowed!

Room Tip: Low floor, two flights and ou are in the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SimonPSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Just back from a few days in Ghent. We chose Aparthotel Castelnou for a few reasons. One, we drove, and needed safe and affordable parking. Second, we brought our dog with us and the hotel is very dog friendly. We can add a few more things about this place after our stay. The rooms were very clean, organized, modern and quite spacious. We stayed in what is the equivalent of a suite, with our own kitchenette (which we didn't use). Breakfast is included as is basic internet (slower speed). For those who make a longer stay of it (since the hotel seems to cater to business people who need to stay longer than just a few days) you can get a higher level of broadband internet for a fee. There is a restaurant on the premises, but I cannot comment further as we did not dine there. I can say that the place was tastefully decorated and well maintained, clean and the staff friendly. If you choose to stay here, you must realize you are not in the center proper, but about 10-15 min walking. To me, this is actually a good thing, since the neighborhood is quiet, and walking after a nice Belgian meal is just the thing to work some of it off. The hotel staff can provide you with maps and a guide in a few different languages to get around. We did enjoy our time here and would certainly stay here again. Overall, a clean, safe place for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netrobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.9 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.9 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Castelnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Castelnou

Property: Aparthotel Castelnou
Address: Kasteellaan 51, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#6 Family Hotel in Ghent
#8 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Castelnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Castelnou*** uniquely combines hotel services with the provision of your own stylish apartment. The ideal base for anyone who is staying in Ghent for a short or longer while. Castelnou offers you an air-conditioned flat consisting of an en-suite bedroom, a functional kitchenette, and a dining/sitting area, and combines it with extensive hotel services: a delicious breakfast; lunch, dinner or just a coffee in our Dali restaurant; a refreshing beer at the bar; or a relaxing moment in the lounge. The Aparthotel is centrally located and forms a perfect base to explore Ghent up close with all its cultural treasures, allowing you to discover what makes this city so special. Ghent is also the ideal starting point to explore other Flemish cities of Art: Bruges, Antwerp and Brussels all can be reached in less than half an hour. Our guests, whether from the business sector or the academic world, appreciate the proximity and easy accessibility of the harbour, the university and the motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Castelnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castelnou Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing