We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay anywhere else?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aparthotel Castelnou
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
461 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Not the closest hotel to the centre of town but a very pleasant 10 minute walk along the river. Friendly staff who are more than happy to help with enquiries were always available.

The room was very large and recently refurbished. It was so clean I wouldn't be surprised if we were the first people to have stayed there. The free wifi was fast enough for my needs - email, web browsing etc. We were in room 309 which overlooked the garden and car park.

Initially I was worried about the parking as my van is long and tall but there was plenty of clearance and the car park was walled-in on all sides.

Breakfast was better than most places I have stayed in. Everything was quickly topped up and was to a good standard.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road might be noisy. Rooms on the opposite side overlook the gardens and car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiarritzTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    247
    21
    1
    4
See reviews for
118
303
10
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sutton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Had four night stay at Aparthotel Castelnou from 12th to 16th April 2013. Fulfilled our expectations
in most aspects. Very quiet area, nothing in locality as regards bars etc and about 15-20 mins walk into centre. Well appointed room, nice bathroom and kitchenette. Would recommend buying a 10 journey travel pass at reception, 9 euros - better value than the Ghent city card which seemed expensive to us, unless of course you intended to visit all the museums, castles etc etc.
Good breakfast which sustained us through the day. Local bus service just 200 yds over canal bridge, does not run as often as I thought it might having travelled extensively throughout Europe, but does keep to the timetable. Coffee machine great, although only supplied 4 pods, and additional ones were 50 cents each from restaurant, which we thought a bit mean.
Overall though a relaxing stay in a pleasant city, not as 'touristy' as Bruges but plenty to see and do nevertheless.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howzatWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

The rooms are big and clean with a lounge/kitchenette. There is plenty of space for four people with the double bedroom and bed settee in the lounge. We arrived by train and it was about ten minutes walk from Gent Damport Station. The staff were very helpful and it was another ten minutes walk to the old town. The buffet breakfast was fine although a little uninspiring but there was enough choice for our stay of three nights. The hotel restaurant was pretty good for our first evening's as there are many restaurants around the hotel and we didn't feel like walking far on a chilly evening. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essextwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I had heard of this hotel thru friends and family and my own experince was quite pleasant. The rooms are big and airy, the service good and discreet, and the kitchenette is just right. It's location is just right, neither at the city centre nor too far away from it. Breakfast buffet is simple. Too many schools nearby and parking is a problem in the vicinity

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2013 in a twin room and found this hotel to be good value for money. The room was very clean, quiet and pretty spacious, and had a little kitchenette with espresso machine and hot pot.
The staff is very nice and helpful, they gave us all information we needed. Upon arrival we received free map and small city guide.
Historical center is only 15 minutes walk, and the closest train station is Gent Dampoort (10 minutes walk) which we used to go to Bruges. If you go to/from Brussels then you need to go to Gent St. Pieters station, but you can take the public bus (all numbers from 70-78) and the ride is 10 minutes long (it costs 2€).
The breakfast is very good as well, with large variety of products.
You have to keep in mind that the hotel is situated in residential area and there aren't shops, bars or restaurants nearby (except hotel's Dali restaurant).
The only complaint is about the bed which we didn't find very comfortable (but that might be because we have some spine/back issues and it is not easy to find comfortable beds for us).
Anyway I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pantaghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

late arrival was due to snowy winter conditions (MyNavi striked) and from the wrong side of Kasteellaan with no U-turn made it very difficult in the dark to find an entrance for the parking mentioned in the profile.
The restaurant takes the calls after 20 h (Thanks to the report of a previous traveller on T.Advisor) so due to early closure of kitchen at 22:00 h I tried to order food by phone one hour before. They were open to this proposal and prepared a good meal in time.
BUT, the first-time arrival late in the dark evening caused problems to enter the parking. The key lock was available at the reception which was closed. Driving back, risking even 2nd-lane parking in a narrow street, looking for some one in the restaurant made the key card available to open the car park door.
Anyway, the multi-lingual staff was very kind, the meal did not leave me hungry.
Appartment/Room very large with kitchenette fully equipped (I had no need for it). a bit cold athmosphere, but there were notices why all tapijten/carpets were taken out temporarily.
New furniture and functioning Internet free, excellent bed to fall asleep.
Breakfast buffet very good, attentive staff although crowded with guests.
Check-out at Reception was without delay around 9:00 h (a report spoke about long waiting time) and very friendly staff as well.
For the next stay they stamped a Code on my invoice - maybe another Hot Deal (in price),
and more relaxed arriving at day-time (without snow).
It seems the hotel is known by internet connection, local people I asked had never heard about it.
International Guests arrived from abroad incl. Egypt, China etc.

Room Tip: 5th Floor rooms are in calm area; book via ADAC or HRS Booking Service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dankward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We booked two rooms for one night and were blown away by the experience. The staff could not have been more helpful, the rooms with seperate bedroom and sitting/kitchenette were spacious, clean and well appointed. Breakfast buffet was good. Would strongly recommend the booking of the onsite parking. 15 mins walk to the centre. All perfect, many thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.9 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.9 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Castelnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Castelnou

Property: Aparthotel Castelnou
Address: Kasteellaan 51, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ghent
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#6 Family Hotel in Ghent
#8 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Castelnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Castelnou*** uniquely combines hotel services with the provision of your own stylish apartment. The ideal base for anyone who is staying in Ghent for a short or longer while. Castelnou offers you an air-conditioned flat consisting of an en-suite bedroom, a functional kitchenette, and a dining/sitting area, and combines it with extensive hotel services: a delicious breakfast; lunch, dinner or just a coffee in our Dali restaurant; a refreshing beer at the bar; or a relaxing moment in the lounge. The Aparthotel is centrally located and forms a perfect base to explore Ghent up close with all its cultural treasures, allowing you to discover what makes this city so special. Ghent is also the ideal starting point to explore other Flemish cities of Art: Bruges, Antwerp and Brussels all can be reached in less than half an hour. Our guests, whether from the business sector or the academic world, appreciate the proximity and easy accessibility of the harbour, the university and the motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Castelnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castelnou Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing