We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent priced hotel 15 mins walk from centre of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aparthotel Castelnou
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
lothian
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent priced hotel 15 mins walk from centre of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Massive apartment room which we asked to have a city view..... the hotel does not have a city view unfortunately but still had everything we needed. The rooms have everything a house has in really good condition. Breakfast was included, which was a surprise! Basic but edible. The decor in the hotel is extremely dull, with little artwork to brighten it up (none in the bedroom, just everything painted a greyish/brown). But would probably still go back as it is really good value for money. The guy on the desk had a very unusual manner but was very helpful for explaining how to get to Bruges easily and into the centre of Ghent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiara-or-tent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    247
    21
    1
    4
See reviews for
118
303
10
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
237 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel is modern, minimalistic, and very clean. A great addition was the mosquito meshes on the outside of the windows. The kitchen in the apartment was well equipped with a fridge, microwave, coffee machine, a table and a small safe for valuables.

For English speaking guests the TV channel choice is excellent. There were 5 BBC channels, 4 ITV, Skynews and CNN.

The breakfast was really good. There was fresh fruit salad, a good choice of muesli, a selection of rolls and bread and for those with a sweet tooth, croissants, petit pain au chocolat, pain aux raisins and even a custard cake. There was also a quality coffee machine and a good selection of teas.

It is possible to park in the street, but the hotel car park is secure, easy to find and only costs €7.50. Beware, if you are approaching the hotel from the South, as the hotel is on the opposite side of the road, and a U-turn is required through the central reservation. The first gap is a no entry. The next junction which can be used is only 50 metres up the road.

It is easy to walk to the centre of Gent and takes about 15 minutes. The hotel reception will supply you with a town plan when you arrive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silberhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edlesborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Aparthotel Castelnou doesn’t try to be a typical hotel but it works if you don’t want grand reception areas and other trimmings. You are greeted by a receptionist through a hatch in an otherwise empty entrance hall. All the rooms are accessed through secure doors. Once in the room, the best description is minimalist but pretty much everything you need is there. A plus is a small kitchen area including kettle and a rather fancy coffee machine. The rooms are a generous size with dining table and arm chairs. It was quiet (we were on the 6th floor) and the air conditioning was a benefit as it was 32 degrees outside. The bathroom is small with just a shower.
On site parking at a very reasonable price was welcome (you need to book this to be sure of getting a space). Well located, we had bikes and were just 5 minutes from the centre of Gent.
Breakfast was included and OK. All the staff were excellent, if you don’t want the full hotel experience, this will please you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights, wish it was longer. Great Hotel in a great location. So close to the bus which takes you into Ghent in just a few minutes or you can walk in..approx 20 minutes. Our room was large, spacious & extremenly clean with a seperate bedroom & good wifi. Parking was available for a fee or you can park outside which is cheaper.
We ate at the restaurant only once, food ok But staff unfriendly, no eye contact, no rapport, once they served our meals they did not come back & take our plates or ask if we wanted anything else, they were not busy, just not interested & seemed to dislike having to serve us.
The same with the morning staff at breakfast.................they all seemed annoyed that they had to work & just not friendly....customer service doesnt seem to be high on their priorities. A shame because everything else in this hotel was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debswilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Checked in easily having found location easily. Tip is to park on street right outside, there was lots of space, you can park in secure car park for €7.50 per day once you have checked in if you prefer, street parking seems plentiful and is half the cost though. I chose secure as I feel safer but your choice. Staff were really very nice and helpful the whole time but I do agree with other comments that resteraunt staff are a bit miserable, not a smile to be seen! (However breakfast is fantastic so i can put up with that.)Which is at odds with reception staff? Why?? The rooms are brilliant with everything you need, very comfortable bed, huge tv with loads of channels including all main uk. I cannot find a fault here to be honest. There is a short walk to the town centre which took around 15 mins but it is not unpleasant with a few interesting shops and sights along the way. Ghent is fabulous and well worth a visit, will definitely go back to Ghent and apart hotel castelnou.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miszaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I agree with all the positive comments about the hotel. We enjoyed our apartment with a kitchen that has almost everything – fridge, microwave, coffee machine and big dining table. We stayed one night only here so we had no time to use all of these facilities on offer. The living room was also spacious with TV, sofa and small table. The bed was comfortable and we had a relaxing time. There was only one downside – the toilet was not cleaned very well.

We used the car park of the hotel for 7.50 Euro which was really easy and convenient. The staff was kind and helpful. On our check in, the guy was very friendly and happy to answer our questions. We also received free map of the city and a pretty good small guide. The breakfast was good apart from the coffee - it had no taste.

The location is also very good; It takes about a15 minutes’ walk to get to the city centre. The weather was windy but sunny and the walk along the river was really pleasant.

Ghent itself is a great town, lively and authentic, and I am looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niki101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We arrived late at the hotel after the reception had closed 11pm. Fortiunately Jacque the restaurant manager was still there and he made sure we could check-in and safely park our car. Receptionist was both knowledgeable and very helpful. The rooms were very spacious and nicely furnished. The bathroom was modern and spotlessly clean. Our room was at the rear of the complex and very quite. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of everything and great machine vended coffee. I have no hesitation in recomending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller5_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.9 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.9 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Castelnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Castelnou

Property: Aparthotel Castelnou
Address: Kasteellaan 51, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ghent
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#6 Family Hotel in Ghent
#8 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Castelnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Castelnou*** uniquely combines hotel services with the provision of your own stylish apartment. The ideal base for anyone who is staying in Ghent for a short or longer while. Castelnou offers you an air-conditioned flat consisting of an en-suite bedroom, a functional kitchenette, and a dining/sitting area, and combines it with extensive hotel services: a delicious breakfast; lunch, dinner or just a coffee in our Dali restaurant; a refreshing beer at the bar; or a relaxing moment in the lounge. The Aparthotel is centrally located and forms a perfect base to explore Ghent up close with all its cultural treasures, allowing you to discover what makes this city so special. Ghent is also the ideal starting point to explore other Flemish cities of Art: Bruges, Antwerp and Brussels all can be reached in less than half an hour. Our guests, whether from the business sector or the academic world, appreciate the proximity and easy accessibility of the harbour, the university and the motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Castelnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castelnou Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing