We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aparthotel Castelnou
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a great stay in this hotel, just a short distance from the center of Gent. The guy at the reception was very friendly and funny, since we arrived early only one room was available but we wanted to go to the center anyway, so that wasn't a problem. We could park our car in a secure space. The hotel is very clean, everywhere you went, the room are big with a separate bedroom, living space, kitchenette and bathroom. It's also a quiet area. Breakfast was good with bacon and eggs included. When we go back to Gent, we for sure will stay there again, due to all the above!!!! Being friendly doesn't cost a penny and still makes such a difference, so thank you Castelnou!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    251
    21
    1
    5
See reviews for
120
307
10
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel is a short walk from city center, but if you get tired walking you can use a bus to return to hotel (the bus stop is very close to the hotel). The parking is good and has reasonable price. Breakfast is good, bar service is good. The apartment is clean, well equipped (all we needed was there- plates, pots, utensils) and quiet.
The only bad thing we noticed is Wifi speed, as you need to pay more if you want a reasonable speed (we even had problem with Skype).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

As other posters have said the hotel is a short walk from the town centre.

The apartments are a decent size with a kitchenette, sitting area, bathroom and bedroom.

The kitchen has a hob, fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

Staff were helpful and welcoming,

Secure parking available

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
245 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel is a little way from the centre but fine if you don't mind a short walk. The rooms are really nice and spacious. They have secure underground parking which is also quite spacious, particularly by Belgian hotel standards (I have damaged my car before in an extremely confined Belgian hotel car park). Great buffet breakfast and very nice helpful staff. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSussexToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We drove to the hotel and found good secure parking. The front desk gentleman was a wealth of knowledge and guided us to several attractions on our "to see" list. Everything was in walking distance and the walk was beautiful. Being senior citizens we felt secure at the hotel and throughout the city. It was a beautiful stop on our trip and we would like to return.Ghent reminded us a lot of a previous trip to Amsterdam. Hotel had a good restaurant and bar on-site.Rates were very reasonable and a good selection.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Excellent apartment very high class service excellent ghent a beautiful city would highly recommend this accomodation. The Hotel is about 15 minutes walk to the centre but the accomodation is so good itts worth the walk. Try the restaurants by the Catherdral especially the chicken stew! Also we did a river tour which was really interesting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuam64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent 3 nights a the Castelnou while using Ghent as a base to explore Belgium. Our suite was spotless and well equipped. We had a bathroom with a shower/bath, living room/dining room with a kitchenette and bedroom. We faced the back of the hotel and in the distance you could see the tower of the old town. It was unbelievably quiet and we slept very well. Parking in the underground was money well spent and we had a designated spot to come home to everyday. It's about a 10 - 15 minute to the old town and it's quite a lovely walk. You are spoiled for choice in terms of restaurants in the old town and we enjoyed a different one every night.

The hotel breakfast is adequate as others have remarked, but at least they had coffee, fruit, eggs, bacon, bread and pastries to choose from.

The staff at the front desk were very helpful and gave us some great tips about enjoying the town. I would recommend this aparthotel to anyone - its a great alternative to a hotel, more space and less money. Why would you stay in a hotel?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetotravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.9 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.9 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Castelnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Castelnou

Property: Aparthotel Castelnou
Address: Kasteellaan 51, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#6 Family Hotel in Ghent
#8 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Castelnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Castelnou*** uniquely combines hotel services with the provision of your own stylish apartment. The ideal base for anyone who is staying in Ghent for a short or longer while. Castelnou offers you an air-conditioned flat consisting of an en-suite bedroom, a functional kitchenette, and a dining/sitting area, and combines it with extensive hotel services: a delicious breakfast; lunch, dinner or just a coffee in our Dali restaurant; a refreshing beer at the bar; or a relaxing moment in the lounge. The Aparthotel is centrally located and forms a perfect base to explore Ghent up close with all its cultural treasures, allowing you to discover what makes this city so special. Ghent is also the ideal starting point to explore other Flemish cities of Art: Bruges, Antwerp and Brussels all can be reached in less than half an hour. Our guests, whether from the business sector or the academic world, appreciate the proximity and easy accessibility of the harbour, the university and the motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aparthotel Castelnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castelnou Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing