We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb accommodation close to the old city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aparthotel Castelnou
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation close to the old city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel proved to be a very nice experience - friendly staff at reception, clean and large living room, good quality furniture throughout the apartment, quiet and well decorated. In addition, the parking on site was really helpful. Short walking distance to the old city, let's say 10-15 minutes to the Gravensteen Castle, Graslei or to the Flowers Market. I will definitely return, but next time for a longer period; Ghent is a beautiful city with plenty of history and art.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors have a beautiful view over the other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanCapatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    247
    21
    1
    4
See reviews for
118
303
10
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel composed of apartments is just right - good location, room facilities excellent and a more than adequate buffet breakfast.

The weather was awful whilst we were here and on the second day we didn't venture out until the torrential rain eased up in the early evening. It could have been horrendous if we had been stuck in an ordinary hotel room but because we had a separate sitting room with a comfy sofa, it made it bearable.

Good value, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

It was a lovely surprise, newly refurbished with a large open plan living dinner area, very well equiped kichenette, all in super condition, storage space, very good size bedroom with comfortable beds, slik bathroom with a good quality bath and large shower in one. We liked the fact there is parking on site (inside parking, not on the street); in walking distance from the old town, 10 min pleasant stroll; the receptionist have been very helpful and gave us a lot of information, can't praise it enough. It is very good for short or long stay and you have the convenience to eat in, which I like very much.

Room Tip: Rooms at the higher leve are more pleasant, for me the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AncaC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christmas Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed for two days and could not fault the hotel. It was spotlessly clean. All staff, both in reception and the restaurant were so helpful and accommodating. The bed was really comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped. It even had a pod coffee machine. All utensils were A1 and top quality.The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre so we did not need to use our car. The underground carpark was handy. WIFI was good. I am not sure why people have complained about the speed! The restaurant was also excellent. Breakfast was as good as it gets.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMJChristmasIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Short stay Mon-Fri with a group of fiends. Staff were exceptional, thank you for your help. Apartments were comfortable, clean, quiet and ideal for our purpose. Price very reasonable. A great experience, thanks very much!

Room Tip: Our apartment was at the back away from the road but friends who stayed in the rooms at the front we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Over50Traveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Decent aparthotel on walking distance from the city center. Clean rooms, good shower, coffee machine easy to use. Cheap parking in the street. Breakfast was good as well. Overall: good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guy_bilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

we spent 3 nights here on a sightseeing trip in early April in the beautiful city of Ghent.The hotel was ideal for our purposes ,being 20 minutes walk from the old town.It was spotless,the rooms spacious(if a little bit dull) and the breakfast perfectly adequate. The prices were very reasonable,and the front desk most helpful. The hotel parking was an asset as on street places were hard to find.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pensioner309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.9 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.9 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Castelnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Castelnou

Property: Aparthotel Castelnou
Address: Kasteellaan 51, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ghent
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#6 Family Hotel in Ghent
#8 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Castelnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Castelnou*** uniquely combines hotel services with the provision of your own stylish apartment. The ideal base for anyone who is staying in Ghent for a short or longer while. Castelnou offers you an air-conditioned flat consisting of an en-suite bedroom, a functional kitchenette, and a dining/sitting area, and combines it with extensive hotel services: a delicious breakfast; lunch, dinner or just a coffee in our Dali restaurant; a refreshing beer at the bar; or a relaxing moment in the lounge. The Aparthotel is centrally located and forms a perfect base to explore Ghent up close with all its cultural treasures, allowing you to discover what makes this city so special. Ghent is also the ideal starting point to explore other Flemish cities of Art: Bruges, Antwerp and Brussels all can be reached in less than half an hour. Our guests, whether from the business sector or the academic world, appreciate the proximity and easy accessibility of the harbour, the university and the motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Castelnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castelnou Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing