We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for those driving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aparthotel Castelnou
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Ghent is a lovely city but the very things you go for, the historic centre and canals, can make it a bit of a nightmare for a driver. The Aparthotel Castelnou provides the answer. Close enough to walk into town, 15 mins or so mostly along a canal, but with plenty of parking available both on street and in the hotel’s garage. The staff speak excellent English and are very helpful. The room was spacious clean and modern. The kitchenette could have been very useful for those staying longer than our one night, but the Nespresso machine was an unexpected luxury. The hotel has a restaurant which we didn’t try but it looked good. The breakfast was excellent with a wide buffet choice including hot dishes. When we next visit Ghent we will definitely use this again.

Room Tip: They are all pretty much the same. We were on the street side and could not hear any traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveNKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Excellent stay for a five night holiday. Away from the hustle and bustle, but, close enough to make it a nice walk to the centre.
The room was fabulous, clean and minimalistic! Beds were very comfy.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant, especially Jacques, the barman, a really funny guy!
If you don't want the concerns of travelling by train etc on your arrival, ask the hotel to book a taxi from Nils..What a wonderful young man, very proud of his city, brilliant English and great sense of humour. 70 euros (there were four of us sharing the cost) for the trip to the Hotel. Do NOT let the hotel book a firm called (I think) Kimart! Our own fault as we left it too late to book Nils for our return. The receptionist was very helpful and organised the taxi, also telling us we could have an early breakfast. Unfortunately nobody seemed to have informed the breakfast lady, who at first was very surly, and quite rude, must have realised it was a misunderstanding, and was nothing more than apologetic and friendly. The taxi driver was ignorant, the only time he spoke was to confirm our airport! He then drove off in great haste, putting not one, but, two mobile phones on the dash board! He then continued to use them to make and receive calls, NO hands free, I may add, throughout the whole journey! The final straw was when the taxi was veering across the lanes, as he was texting!! My friend asked him to refrain from this and to try and keep his eyes on the road! This journey cost us 105 euros, as you can imagine, no tip was given!
Saying all that, I would definitely stay at this hotel again, they were professional at all times, and the incident above, was because WE failed to book a taxi.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deedee878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

perfect hotel. Walking distance to historical city ( 20 min) but also to train station dampoort if you want to visit Brugge , Brussel oder Antwerp. Bus Station next to hotel for most interesting places.
WiFi good but you have to switch off aircon. Moskitos....

Room Tip: ask for backside if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmm35700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed for four nights on a business trip. Good room rates and very friendly staff, close to city center and a lot of public transportations close to the hotel. Good but not great breakfast, missed out on veggies and youghurt. Very spacious rooms (apartments) with it´s own kitchen and separate bed room. Very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobias T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed at the Aparthotel Castelnou for a week and it was a great stay. The rooms where big and well equipped. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

The location is great, one can walk into the historic centre or take the public transport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad_Strat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent accommodation in a beautiful city -from the minute we arrived we were made welcome with excellent advice. The rooms were spacious and spotless -the television had full English freeview aswell as french German etc. The breakfast was good. It was a walk from the centre but there was plenty of buses and a railway station close by which we used to visit Brugges -public transport in Belgium is very much cheaper than the UK -all in all we had a very enjoyable break

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

excellent accommodation in the centre of Gent. The apartment is spotless. Very good supply of equipment in working order and easy to use. If in doubt there is a comprehensive guide. Safe car
parking. Price / value ratio is one of the best I came across.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinlance-Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.9 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.9 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 38 in Ghent
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Castelnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Castelnou

Address: Kasteellaan 51, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#6 Family Hotel in Ghent
#8 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £79 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Castelnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Castelnou*** uniquely combines hotel services with the provision of your own stylish apartment. The ideal base for anyone who is staying in Ghent for a short or longer while. Castelnou offers you an air-conditioned flat consisting of an en-suite bedroom, a functional kitchenette, and a dining/sitting area, and combines it with extensive hotel services: a delicious breakfast; lunch, dinner or just a coffee in our Dali restaurant; a refreshing beer at the bar; or a relaxing moment in the lounge. The Aparthotel is centrally located and forms a perfect base to explore Ghent up close with all its cultural treasures, allowing you to discover what makes this city so special. Ghent is also the ideal starting point to explore other Flemish cities of Art: Bruges, Antwerp and Brussels all can be reached in less than half an hour. Our guests, whether from the business sector or the academic world, appreciate the proximity and easy accessibility of the harbour, the university and the motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aparthotel Castelnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castelnou Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing