We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Hotel de Flandre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Flandre
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Excelent location! Good room and service! We'll stay there again!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

Upon our arrival at the Hotel de Flandre, we found that there had been a mix-up in our reservation: we were assigned a single bed instead of a double. The staff really rose to the occasion and upgraded us to the luxery loft, at no extra charge! This was a decidedly upbeat start to what turned out to be a lovely experience. Aside from the attentiveness of the staff, the hotel is beautful and in a most convienent part of town. The breakfast (although extra) should not be missed. It was one of the better spreads I've seen anywhere in Europe. All in all, I would give my highest recommendation to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huston D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Enjoyed our stay here. Unwittingly booked without knowing that the Ghent Festival was on, so could not have been in a better location. Just off the beaten track. Very spacious and quiet room out the back on the first floor which we liked a lot. It would have been a bit of a challenge getting the cases up the stairs for older people/people who are not that mobile though. Free but spotty WiFi.

With the exception of check-in (disinterested), the service was friendly. Badly bitten by mosquitoes on the first night - would have been nice to have been fore-warned/have spray in the room. Taken by surprise.

Others have raved about the breakfast. Again, like the hotel as a whole, good but not great.

In summary, Hotel de Flandre is a good choice for Ghent I think. It has some character. We were here for four nights and the overall experience was consistently good so would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tagesthemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Great Hotel fabulous location and the breakfast was amazing - a wide range of cereals with dried and fresh fruits yogurts nuts cooked eggs bacon and mushrooms and of course a huge amount of cakes and belgium buns.We moved rooms due to noisy kids and so saw the standard and the executive, Both were well decorated with smart bathrooms and delightful toiletries. One piece of advice request courtyard room as road can be noisy. Will definately be back!

Room Tip: Avoid the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had the best of old and new, with a large room with modern amenities including flat screen TV. Comfortable bed and furnishings, well equipped bathroom including slippers, robes and toileteries. Top location, two minutes from the historic centre. Sunny courtyard where the delicious and extensive breakfast can be eaten. Staff very friendly and helpful and professional. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ourlastsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Hotel de Flandres is just 5 minutes pleasant walk to the old town. I've stayed in hotels in the middle of town which cost twice as much but are not twice as good. In fact I'd prefer to stay here every time; very friendly service, good breakfast and rooms were fine.

Only negative is that the front of the hotel is opposite a SPAR shop, which gets a little noisy at delivery time (7am). But don't let it put you off too much as many hotels in town are affected by local noise (it's a busy Place!).

Parking is in a nearby public car park; 10 euros Per day.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Really pretty, good value, great breakfast

Make sure you get an all Inc price!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bvfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#17 of 38 in Ghent
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 38 in Ghent
1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 38 in Ghent
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Flandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flandre

Address: Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £76 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flandre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic heart of Ghent, Hotel de Flandre provides tasteful guest rooms and a cozy lounge in a 19th-century building. The authentic halls with their grand staircases have a traditional charm and guests can unwind in the warmly decorated interior. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the city's main attractions. This hotel is the ideal accommodation for both business and pleasure. WiFI is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de Flandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flandre Hotel
De Flandre Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing