We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Ghent!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Flandre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Flandre
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Ghent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Excellent hotel near the historic centre. Welcoming, helpful staff, with great recommendations. The 3pm check-in was a bit problematic, but we were allowed to leave our cases there and go off downtown. Excellent rooms, with great facilities, and a lovely breakfast although I had mistakenly not included it in the original booking and had to pay on top of the room price. Bed was a bit lumpy for our tastes. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    245
    112
    62
    32
See reviews for
56
317
12
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last week. It is a charming hotel close to the centre. Their breakfast is very good and the staff very effecient. Rooms are modern and very well kept. Bathroom fittings are all new and linen spotless Location is very good as it is away from the noise of the restaurants and cafes. Would definetly recommend it

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendlytipsMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Ideally situated in the centre of town. The hotel is close to restaurants, bars and tourist attractions. We found the staff helpful, the hotel clean and the breakfast fantastic. Would definitely go back again.

The hotel at night was a bit noisy but it's only to be expected in the centre of a busy town. The hotel is also opposite a music school and we enjoyed Jazz on a warm summers afternoon!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed one night and were able to enjoy an evening and morning exploring the old and very attractive centre of the city. The hotel is very close to the main historical area, being a very short walk away along quiet streets. Parking in the nearby St Michiels car park is convenient if you are travelling by car. The room was on the courtyard side away from the road and was quiet and comfortable. The service was friendly and helpful.
We opted not to pay extra for breakfast and enjoyed a fabulous start to the day by walking into the old centre and eating at one of the several establishments offering alternatives there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel with friends from the UK. The reception staff were all excellent and our room was "upgraded" to executive because we were staying for the week. The room was clean and large with all the facilities you would expect for a 4 star hotel. The breakfast was very good with a mind blowing selection of cold items. Hot items were limited to 4 however unlike many hotels the toaster worked well and speedily. There is no restaurant at this hotel but as it is close to the centre there are many eating places nearby. Wifi is available and normally a computer and printer is available to use in reception. For the week we were there this computer was not able to connect to the internet. This could have been a problem as we wanted to check in our flight home online and print off the boarding cards. The staff overcame this minor problem by allowing the boarding passes to be downloaded on the hotels main computer and printing it off with the final invoice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road can be noisy in the morning due to delivery vans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel was very comfortable and the breakfast buffet was really good. Very handy to everything but nice and quiet as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ginny556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ont Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Hotel de Flandre was a truly pleasant experience! Our first time in Ghent, covered a lot of ground in 1 day, despite rainy weather. Very interesting city, so much to see, especially Cathedral of St. Bavo & the Mystic Lamb/L'agneau mystique.

Excellent personnel, comfy room and fine breakfast.
Thank you, merci, danke!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#14 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Flandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flandre

Property: Hotel de Flandre
Address: Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flandre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic heart of Ghent, Hotel de Flandre provides tasteful guest rooms and a cozy lounge in a 19th-century building. The authentic halls with their grand staircases have a traditional charm and guests can unwind in the warmly decorated interior. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the city's main attractions. This hotel is the ideal accommodation for both business and pleasure. WiFI is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de Flandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flandre Hotel
De Flandre Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing