We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value, great location, very functional, no bad comment.”
Review of Hotel de Flandre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Flandre
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Very good location, at the limit of the area where the streets are still accessible to cars. Two major underground parkings at 200 m from the hotel. They are safe, with camera system, and cost 10 Euros per 24 h. Worked great for me. I did not miss the Hotel in Bruges that charged 30 Euros a day for parking. Two minutes walk from pedestrian historic area. Very nice people at the desk.
Good room (Deluxe Double room), loft, on two levels. I don’t have a problem going up and down a flight of stairs between the bed and the bathroom, but some people might (important for some people to enquire about this, if disability). A/C in the room. Nice view on the roofs around. Free Internet.
Gorgeous breakfast, for 20 Euros extra per person. But it is good ( served until 10:00 am).
Of the four rooms I had in my Belgian vacation, this is either the best or ex-equo best (with Best Western in Brussels, for practicalities and location).
Functional room and bathroom. No loss of time because of issues.
On the other side of the street, there is a grocery and convenience store, plus post office! I requested packaging material to the staff of that store, and they were extremely helpful, went out of their way to help.
Great price for value: 135 Euros a night.
I want to come back to Gent, and I will book that very same hotel again.

Room Tip: Deluxe Double rooms excellent, on the highest floor, soundproofed. Only potential issue: on two leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88puffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

Nice hotel not so far away from the centre of ghent, nice rooms friendly staff, only the rooms need better dusting.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordi014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Very nice hotel in the very heart of the center of one of the most beautiful towns of Flanders.
Excellent service. Very friendly personnel. Great breakfast buffet. Charming, spacy and very clean rooms.
It made "mother's day" this year certainly a day to remember.
Hope to be there again soon!
Stefan Clauwaert

Room Tip: From the executive room we were in, you have a splendid view on the main historical buildings of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Excellent hotel near the historic centre. Welcoming, helpful staff, with great recommendations. The 3pm check-in was a bit problematic, but we were allowed to leave our cases there and go off downtown. Excellent rooms, with great facilities, and a lovely breakfast although I had mistakenly not included it in the original booking and had to pay on top of the room price. Bed was a bit lumpy for our tastes. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last week. It is a charming hotel close to the centre. Their breakfast is very good and the staff very effecient. Rooms are modern and very well kept. Bathroom fittings are all new and linen spotless Location is very good as it is away from the noise of the restaurants and cafes. Would definetly recommend it

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friendlytipsMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Ideally situated in the centre of town. The hotel is close to restaurants, bars and tourist attractions. We found the staff helpful, the hotel clean and the breakfast fantastic. Would definitely go back again.

The hotel at night was a bit noisy but it's only to be expected in the centre of a busy town. The hotel is also opposite a music school and we enjoyed Jazz on a warm summers afternoon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed one night and were able to enjoy an evening and morning exploring the old and very attractive centre of the city. The hotel is very close to the main historical area, being a very short walk away along quiet streets. Parking in the nearby St Michiels car park is convenient if you are travelling by car. The room was on the courtyard side away from the road and was quiet and comfortable. The service was friendly and helpful.
We opted not to pay extra for breakfast and enjoyed a fabulous start to the day by walking into the old centre and eating at one of the several establishments offering alternatives there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#16 of 38 in Ghent
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 38 in Ghent
1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Flandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flandre

Address: Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £76 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flandre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic heart of Ghent, Hotel de Flandre provides tasteful guest rooms and a cozy lounge in a 19th-century building. The authentic halls with their grand staircases have a traditional charm and guests can unwind in the warmly decorated interior. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the city's main attractions. This hotel is the ideal accommodation for both business and pleasure. WiFI is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de Flandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flandre Hotel
De Flandre Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing