We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun in Ghent”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Flandre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Flandre
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Surrey England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fun in Ghent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights11th and 12th July. as a party of 8, we were given a
executive room on the first floor at the rear of the hotel, which was accessed through the
small court yard at the back of the hotel.
The rest of our party were given rooms on the ground floor of the court yard.
all of these room looked out onto walls no view at all. but then again you are in the center of Ghent
Our room which was very large, decor was fine bath room was very large,
there is a mini bar in the room, as we were only in the room to change and sleep it was fine.
As this was a Euro Star cheap break. you are not going to get the best rooms
which would be at the front over looking the street.
This hotel is in a great position as the center of Ghen is only a 5 minuet walk away.
On arrival at Ghent station we found Nance with an 8 seater taxi
all for 8.5 euros great value and called her for return.

Room Tip: Room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KoiSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    246
    112
    62
    33
See reviews for
56
318
12
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Good location, close to the old part of the city with the river flowing by.
Clean rooms, we had one on the ground floor with direct acces to the patio-very nice.
Breakfast was perfect: a big variety of fresh bread, loads of cereals and nuts, fruit and other pastries.
Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Patio side, ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
441 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The good first impressions began with a very friendly receptionist, who apologised for our room not being ready, (we were early), but she did show us somewhere safe to leave our suitcase, so that was OK. As the hotel is situated near the centre of town, finding somewhere for lunch was easy. So far so good.

Things got better when we were shown the room. It was on the ground floor, just off a small courtyard. It had all the usual amenities, air-conditioning, room safe, mini-bar, decent size flat screen TV and large bathroom. Along with a reasonable amount of wardrobe space, it was all looking very good. Better still you get FREE wi-fi. That's one of the reasons why we didn't revisit the hotel we stayed in, the last time we were in Ghent. The hotel De Flandre is only a stones throw away and (IMHO) better value than the big chain competitor, just a few yards up the road.

I did have a couple of small personal gripes. If you like soft beds, you're in for a treat. If you don't – you’re in for some uncomfortable nights. Second, I can understand why the power goes off when you leave the room and remove the room key, but why do the sockets in the bathroom, need the light to be on to work? If you think this is an electricity saving measure, it’s not because the light was simply left on all night. This strange situation was evident with some of the other electrical sockets. It felt as if the hotel was deliberately trying to deter you from using any electrical outlet. There was a wall socket easily available but it was at floor level and directly on the bathroom "flight path". Leaving a device there overnight to charge, risked it being kicked or damaged. Come on people, it's the cell phone and iPod age, we need to charge stuff.

Breakfast is 'only' €20, which again, is cheaper than its mega-chain neighbour. We didn't try it, as there are so many places within walking distance and we're not big eaters at breakfast. Nevertheless, breakfast does seem excessive when we got two cappuccinos, two fried eggs with wonderful bread and butter for €14...for the both of us, just off the Korenmarkt.

In conclusion, the hotel de Flandre is definitely somewhere worth considering. There was a considerable price differential between staying there and the Marriott just round the corner. If you then vector in the fact that the Marriott charges around €7 more per person for breakfast and over €10 a day for the privilege of accessing the internet, then price differential gets even greater. Much as I liked the Marriott, the extra it charges makes the de Flandre my first choice of the two hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms off the courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed in Hotel de Flandre the first week of Janusry.
Location is just perfect, everything it's "round the corner", we had a room with views and the staff is frendly and helpful.
Charming rooms, good and generous breakfast, wifi on the rooms, definetely a great choice I would recommend to anyone visiting Ghent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views to the Cathedral or old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leticia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Very good location, at the limit of the area where the streets are still accessible to cars. Two major underground parkings at 200 m from the hotel. They are safe, with camera system, and cost 10 Euros per 24 h. Worked great for me. I did not miss the Hotel in Bruges that charged 30 Euros a day for parking. Two minutes walk from pedestrian historic area. Very nice people at the desk.
Good room (Deluxe Double room), loft, on two levels. I don’t have a problem going up and down a flight of stairs between the bed and the bathroom, but some people might (important for some people to enquire about this, if disability). A/C in the room. Nice view on the roofs around. Free Internet.
Gorgeous breakfast, for 20 Euros extra per person. But it is good ( served until 10:00 am).
Of the four rooms I had in my Belgian vacation, this is either the best or ex-equo best (with Best Western in Brussels, for practicalities and location).
Functional room and bathroom. No loss of time because of issues.
On the other side of the street, there is a grocery and convenience store, plus post office! I requested packaging material to the staff of that store, and they were extremely helpful, went out of their way to help.
Great price for value: 135 Euros a night.
I want to come back to Gent, and I will book that very same hotel again.

Room Tip: Deluxe Double rooms excellent, on the highest floor, soundproofed. Only potential issue: on two leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88puffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Nice hotel not so far away from the centre of ghent, nice rooms friendly staff, only the rooms need better dusting.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordi014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destelbergen, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Very nice hotel in the very heart of the center of one of the most beautiful towns of Flanders.
Excellent service. Very friendly personnel. Great breakfast buffet. Charming, spacy and very clean rooms.
It made "mother's day" this year certainly a day to remember.
Hope to be there again soon!
Stefan Clauwaert

Room Tip: From the executive room we were in, you have a splendid view on the main historical buildings of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#15 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#11 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Flandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flandre

Property: Hotel de Flandre
Address: Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flandre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic heart of Ghent, Hotel de Flandre provides tasteful guest rooms and a cozy lounge in a 19th-century building. The authentic halls with their grand staircases have a traditional charm and guests can unwind in the warmly decorated interior. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the city's main attractions. This hotel is the ideal accommodation for both business and pleasure. WiFI is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Flandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flandre Hotel
De Flandre Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing