We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the centre of Ghent”
Review of Hotel de Flandre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Flandre
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 11 November 2008

Having read previous reviews about issues of 6am deliveries to the Spar supermarket opposite the hotel we had asked for a quiet room when we booked. This we got as a ground floor room in the double storey courtyard area at the back. The room was very spacious with a huge bed, small sitting area, and an excellent shower room. We had booked our stay on a breakfast inclusive basis and these were excellent with good variety of both hot and cold menu items. Only slight niggle was having to queue for the coffee machine but that meant the coffee was freshly made. The hotel was well kept and decorated, with friendly staff in both reception and the breakfast room. The hotel position is excellent being a short stroll to the canal in the centre of Ghent. Public car parking is in the next street in an underground car park at a cost of 10 euros per day. All in all well recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PedroBaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2008

It is a lovely, well decorated hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. However! My room was facing the street, which seemed quiet in the evening, but I shot all windows anyway. At exactly 6 am I was woken up by very noisy trucks unloading goods for the Spar supermarket across the road! This took over an hour so I couldn't sleep anymore (even with all windows shut). At 7 am I called the reception and asked for another room, which they fortunately had (from 9 am). The receptionist was friendly and helpful, explaining to me that what the supermarket is doing this almost every morning (including weekends!) despite local law against making noise before 7 am. The hotel has apparently complained about this almost 50 times this year, but with no result. When I asked the receptionist why they don't call police or sue the Spar, as this could cause the hotel go out of business, he just didn't seem to understand. So do not stay there unless you are 1) planning to get up at 6 am, 2) the hotel can guarantee to you that they have seriously addressed the problem, or 3) you can be sure your room faces the courtyard.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fidgetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

We arrived at the Hotel De Flandre at 12:30 during the day. As the hotel policy is to check in after 3pm, I had previously written to them stating that we would arrive around noon and could we check in early on the day or possibly leave our bags there while our room was being prepared. When we arrived, we were told that our room was ready and that it was #2 just off the courtyard, which was great since we had been travelling since 5am that morning! The area just off the courtyard reminded me of a motel design, the room seemed clean but in need of a lick of paint on the walls. It was a little dark because there was one tiny window facing the courtyard. The bed was two single beds pushed together even though we had booked a double room. There was only one English speaking TV channel available and there was no safe in the room. However, on the plus side, the room was situated at the back of the hotel and consequently away from any street noise. Later that day, we realised that the bathroom had an infestation of ants. We informed reception about the ants and we could not fault the hotel on their response to us. They gave us a luxury executive room as an apology and this was a huge improvement on the inital room. It was much bigger and brighter and we had more TV channels!! The bed was a super king size and very comfortable. There was also a safe in the room. The room overlooked the street and while there was some street noise at night, it didn't disturb us, maybe we're just heavy sleepers! The room was spotlessly clean, and the complimentary shampoos and moisturisers were really lovely (these are in all of the rooms). The towels in the rooms were a little threadbare and worn but clean. We had difficulty getting the air conditioning system to work properly and opted to keep the windows open. Breakfast was good but nothing special, not a great variety but we certainly didn't go hungry! The location of the hotel is literally a minute walk from the old town and the riverbank, it's a great location. The hotel itself is very quiet even though it has an attractive bar. Given the cost of the 'motel' style room, the hotel is quite expensive. We were lucky to get an upgrade and still pay the agreed price. A suggestion to anyone thinking of booking this hotel is to check what type of room you are booking and if it is off the courtyard or not. Generally we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel will keep your bags if you don't need to leave as soon as you check out, however, the bags are not locked away, they are just kept beside reception.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Quidam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

This hotel was in an excellent location. Less than 3 minutes from the Graslei / Korenmarket. The room was BIG and the plilows and blankets were down. The staff was very friendly.

I advise NEVER to eat the 22 euro breakfast, when you can get breakfast at one of the nearby cafes. Belgian hotel breakfast prices are ridiculous!

Belgium is cold, even in June...so bring a small jacket!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Buffalo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

I was working late that day and checked in at the hotel around midnight. A lovely little hotel right in the pedestrian area in the old part of the town. As this seemed such a serene and tranquil place, I totally forgot to say my usual: "Please give me a quiet room".

That was a BIG mistake as I had to notice at 6AM in the morning. The Spar across the road (like 5 meters from my room) received its grocery deliveries.

But the worst was that as I mentioned this at check out, they gave some stupid comment back that if they would consider this, only half of their rooms could be rented out. Only after 10 minutes of discussions they gave me an appology. The hight of rudeness!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cape-addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

The Hotel de Flandre is a well presented hotel in a fantastic location, just a minute from the very heart of the historic city. We were lucky enough to get a large suite off the rear courtyard at no extra cost. The room was huge, with a fantastic four-poster bed (great for Valentine's weekend!) and has been very well decorated (in the ubiquitous international 'Ikea' style of course).

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was superb.

I would certainly recommend this hotel as a perfect base to explore the beautiful city of Ghent.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

Quite good value for money. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr-dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#15 of 38 in Ghent
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 38 in Ghent
1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Flandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flandre

Address: Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £74 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flandre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic heart of Ghent, Hotel de Flandre provides tasteful guest rooms and a cozy lounge in a 19th-century building. The authentic halls with their grand staircases have a traditional charm and guests can unwind in the warmly decorated interior. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the city's main attractions. This hotel is the ideal accommodation for both business and pleasure. WiFI is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de Flandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flandre Hotel
De Flandre Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing