We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, Cosy, Modern great breakfast 5 min walk from heart of center”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Flandre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Flandre
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cute, Cosy, Modern great breakfast 5 min walk from heart of center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

Fantastic hotel. chose over the best western/marriot because we were looking for a small romantic, boutique hotel. this fit the bill. friendly staff, fantastic breakfast (french cheeses, fresh fruit, home baked bread, pastries, warm eggs etc - everything). setting was trendy mixed with old style building. rooms were extremely clean, beds comfortable, plenty of space.
- safe didn't work
- watch out for the mosquitos! (close the window!)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nix34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    246
    112
    62
    33
See reviews for
56
318
12
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
210 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

Nice hotel, good size and clean rooms and bathrooms. No tea / coffee facilities.
When i booked i asked for a room away from Spa shop entrance (as othere Trip reviewrs had warned against) BUT they put me right opposite the shop. When iIquestioned them the staff were totally uninterested and made no effort to move us.
breakfats is fun, the room has too many chairs and tables and when someone want anything from the buffet a number of guest have to get up and move.
For what you get there are better value hotels around. How about some customer care training for the staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank headgreenkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

Terrible Experience. Our room had a construction pole just in the middle between the beds and the toilet, so it was a challenge to pass beside without injuring yourself. When we complained to the receptionist (Laure) and asked for another room, she was unfriendly and didn't apologize. To arrive to the new bedroom we had to cross a courtyard and use the stairs (we were told that there was no lift for this area).I was with a muscle spasm of the back, so my friend had to bring the 2 pieces of heavy luggage upstairs. The new bedroom was cold as the window was opened, and on top of that the heating didn't work, but we were very tired and it was late so we didn't have the energy to complain again. Early in the morning there was a lot of noise outside of the bedroom. The shower didn't have enough pressure. The breakfast was very poor. When we did the checkout we complained to the morning receptionist (Stephanie) and in a very rude way she said that our disappointment about the pole in the room was a personal opinion (?).She said it was the best room in the hotel (!?), and the pole had been there for more than 3 years. She didn't apologize or give any explanation, and when we requested an official complain form she didn't give it to us. She was impolite and not helpful at all. We feel ripped off and deceived because we paid 114 euros the night and have had a worse service than in a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ft. Lauderdale Fl
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

Being my 1st time in Europe I was nervous, The hotel was awesome, warm and inviting, the staff helpful and answered all of our questions, The rooms well equipt, I would recommend you bring a travel clock, the beds were very comfortable. If you stay on the street side I would suggest you close the windows at night it does get a little noisy but it is not the hotels fault.The breakfast was plentiful eggs,bacon, nice cheese and bread selection, the chocolate coffee was yummy! Close to many great bars and resaurants and having the grocery acroos the street was a plus, easy to get to public transportation! Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keysformees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2009

We stayed here only one night and knowing what we know now, we would have stayed and additional night. This was a VERY nice hotel, the location was great, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the room was nice with a street view. The breakfast rooms were nice and the full breakfast was first rate. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2008

Having read previous reviews about issues of 6am deliveries to the Spar supermarket opposite the hotel we had asked for a quiet room when we booked. This we got as a ground floor room in the double storey courtyard area at the back. The room was very spacious with a huge bed, small sitting area, and an excellent shower room. We had booked our stay on a breakfast inclusive basis and these were excellent with good variety of both hot and cold menu items. Only slight niggle was having to queue for the coffee machine but that meant the coffee was freshly made. The hotel was well kept and decorated, with friendly staff in both reception and the breakfast room. The hotel position is excellent being a short stroll to the canal in the centre of Ghent. Public car parking is in the next street in an underground car park at a cost of 10 euros per day. All in all well recommended.

  • Liked — Convenient position & excellent value
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroBaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

It is a lovely, well decorated hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. However! My room was facing the street, which seemed quiet in the evening, but I shot all windows anyway. At exactly 6 am I was woken up by very noisy trucks unloading goods for the Spar supermarket across the road! This took over an hour so I couldn't sleep anymore (even with all windows shut). At 7 am I called the reception and asked for another room, which they fortunately had (from 9 am). The receptionist was friendly and helpful, explaining to me that what the supermarket is doing this almost every morning (including weekends!) despite local law against making noise before 7 am. The hotel has apparently complained about this almost 50 times this year, but with no result. When I asked the receptionist why they don't call police or sue the Spar, as this could cause the hotel go out of business, he just didn't seem to understand. So do not stay there unless you are 1) planning to get up at 6 am, 2) the hotel can guarantee to you that they have seriously addressed the problem, or 3) you can be sure your room faces the courtyard.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Lost of noise from 6 am
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fidgetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#15 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#11 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Flandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flandre

Property: Hotel de Flandre
Address: Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flandre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic heart of Ghent, Hotel de Flandre provides tasteful guest rooms and a cozy lounge in a 19th-century building. The authentic halls with their grand staircases have a traditional charm and guests can unwind in the warmly decorated interior. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the city's main attractions. This hotel is the ideal accommodation for both business and pleasure. WiFI is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Flandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flandre Hotel
De Flandre Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing