We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!”
Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Harmony
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2007

Ghent is a fantastic place to be and Harmony an amazing hotel to stay. We booked a deluxe room (the one with the jacuzzi in the room) for three days during our honeymoon. Before that we were in Paris for three days, but when we saw Ghent and hotel Harmony we regretted that we didn’t spend the entire honeymoon in this fairytale place!
The hotel is located in the heart of the historical centre, just by the canal. The room is huge, with wooden ceiling and big closets with mirrors. The furnishings, the fabrics and all the equipment are extremely stylish and modern. The bathroom is amazing and the jacuzzi is such a relaxing experience! I don’t know what to say to describe the bed. The most amazing sleep. If I had a bed like this in my house I would never go to work in the morning.
The breakfast was also very good with fresh coffee and tea, amazing croissants, fresh boiled eggs, orange juice, marmalades and pretty much everything you wish to have for breakfast.
The staff is very helpful, kind and friendly.
Everything was more than nice. Simple excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirkou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2007

Like other reviewers, we found our two night stay at the Harmony Hotel a very pleasant experience. The staff were universally friendly, courteous and helpful from the first minute to the last and seemed very competent and professional in their work.

The location of the hotel is excellent, central with a fine view over the canal. Soundproofing is excellent, both in terms of cutting out noise from the outside and from within the hotel: we were quite surprised to see lots of other guests at breakfast as we certainly hadn't heard them!

The room we had on the second floor (facing the rear of the building) was excellent: large and very stylishly decorated. Brilliant bed. Everything worked well though one of the light bulbs was gone (had to find something negative to say!).

Breakfast was extensive, fresh, hot when necessary, and importantly was not identical on the two days we were there, which makes it more interesting. A variety of up-to-date newspapers in different languages is provided.

As an extra bonus there is an excellent and charming museum of everyday life located virtually next door to the hotel that is a must-see and has an entry charge of just 2.50; in nearby shops you will see wallpaper that you thought had disappeared in 1976 (worth the trip alone for the design-minded) and there are fine boutiques, galleries and chocolate shops in the same street. Across the canal you can try out one (or more) of 100 varieties of Belgian beer or one of 300 types of genever. Not to be missed is the converted meat market which is now a centre selling local food products such as mustard, cheese and honey.

We ate at the Soup Lounge around the corner from the hotel (3.50 for big bowl of vegetarian soup, bread and an apple) and had an excellent dinner at the Ornek Turkish restaurant in nearby Oudberg - where the Turkish wine was particularly good value at 12 euro a bottle. There is also a Sicilian restaurant next door to the hotel which looks good - we failed to book and so couldn't try it.

The little hotel bar is very pleasant and serves up a mean Hotel Harmony cocktail - amongst other things.

So, all in all, a great experience and we would recommend the Harmony Hotel without reservation for anyone considering a few days in this lovely city.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank doppios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

Hotel Harmony is a gem - we have stayed there twice, sans baby. The staff make it, it's family run and this shows, you get to know Sarah and Harmony (and I am sure everyone else) very quickly and they make you feel at home with warmth and common sense. I was not surprised to read that the owner had driven someone back to the hotel when they got lost! The breakfast is great specially the cooked food.

It is true that you can hear the cars on the cobbled street at the rooms at the front, the first time we stayed we changed rooms because of this, but it really depends how sensitive to noise you are, and the room we moved too was extremely quiet.

At our most recent visit we decided to try the Marriott because we were unsure that it was fair to other guests at the Harmony to share the small breakfast room with our lively thirteen month old - the Marriott was good in its own way though more impersonal (and expensive) so we may go back to the Harmony for a future trip.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoplusonetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2007

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for our anniversary. We stayed in one of the "exceptional" rooms. We had indicated to the staff that it was our anniversary but did not opt for any of the extra services upon arrival and were surprised that our room had been decorated with rose petals candies and single stem red rose. A very nice touch and most unexpected. The hotel is situated in a wonderful neighbourhood on one of the canals. We booked a restaurant on recommendation of the hotel and it did not disappoint. The staff were very friendly and informative and always willing to help with directions to various sites. The breakfast was billed as "continental" but included hot items as well as the traditional breakfast items. The only minor issue we had was with the size of the towels which we felt did not reflect the very large well appointed bathroom. We expect large fluffy bath towels in a hotel with a 4 star rating. We both would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for that little bit extra that you won't get from a chain hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwharfcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2007

We have just spent two nights at the Hotel Harmony where we had a room on the top floor. The views were amazing, the room itself quite large and very well furnished. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good. Although there is no restaurant at the hotel, they will book or advise where to eat. We had an amazing meal at Restaurant 'T Klaverblad situated just at the back of the hotel, you must go there!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Well located - quiet, but a few minutes walk from the castle tram stop, plenty of restaurants nearby, and views from the front across and down the canal lined with old houses.
Spacious and comfortable room, though the translucent bathroom wall took some getting used to.
The swimming pool was not in use when we visited but looked as though it would be good in hot weather.
Reasonable range at breakfast buffet. Staff helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mathematica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

I am currently staying here on a week of business. My first time in Ghent so I thought I should go for a nice hotel. An "exceptional" room ($340 a night) can mean a dark room in the back, overlooking an alley. Especially nice if you're in the historical area.

The compensation for the dark "exceptional" room is a kitchenette, asuming you would want to spend extra time in this room whipping up a meal or two. The other compensation is a sitting area. Again, I guess you could sit around in this dark hole chit chatting about sadness.

The front desk has an inflexible attitude. They received nearly $2400 from me (paid in advance) and are uniterested in finding a solution.

I hate to sound harsh but I think these design hotels sometimes believe that one can be distracted by a duvet and an orchid. Just don't look out the window.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank pachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 39 in Ghent
1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
#4 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £113 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers 40 unique rooms in 3 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool, fitness and is 10 minutes' walk from St Bavo's Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing