We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a GEM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Harmony
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a GEM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

we had the most wonderful stay at hotel harmony. the hotel is in a small historical building facing the river and it's been wonderful restored. rooms are well-designed, big with super high ceiling, very comfortable and the service is impeccable. the location is ideal. it's central but not in the touristic part. in fact, it's in the most beautiful area of ghent. i loved our stay there!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5poissons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    241
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
108
572
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The jacuzzi bath is absolutely amazing. The room was huge and in great condition. The terrace outside the room with views of the pool was just lovely.The breakfast was soooo good! Fresh salmon, boiled eggs and the most amazing chocolate injected ring doughnuts I have ever tasted! Only thing I can criticise is the keys to the room, they are quite worn meaning I had some difficulty getting into the room on many occassions. Also, it is quite pricey for a room but if your company is paying for it, why not!!

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Natalieh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

A very pleasant experience, great bedroom, excellent reception staff, good choice at continental breakfast, and central, many very good restaurants nearby and the tram only 50 metres away

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arbg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

The Harmony was a one-night stop on our trip from Amsterdam to Paris and was a perfect selection. The modern room in a botique hotel was not over the top, but was very large and pleasant. Location was perfect ... just outside the congested historic area which made driving to the hotel much easier. We had reserved a parking spot in their underground garage which saved hunting for a parking garage. The staff was very accommodating and breakfast was very good. All in all, a nice spot!

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading to a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edlexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Situated directly on one of the most picturesque canals, the Harmony is away from the bustle of the touristy squares but at the same time it is within a minutes walk of most of the best restaurants and some of the "must do" pubs like the the Waterhuis (200+ beers) and the Dreupelkot gin house (150+gins!) .
The hotel staff were absolutely brilliant - great attitude to going the extra mile to make our stay even more memorable and genuinely "pleased to see you" friendliness. Rooms very good (walk in shower, king size bed etc). Only thing I could have wished for was tea and coffee facilities - room service was always available but sometimes you just want to make your own cuppa. Buffet breakfast was vast, fresh and with a couple of cooked options (bacon, eggs, crepes). Can't speak highly enough of this hotel - its second on my all time favourites list to the Golden Well in Prague.
(PS I have never been to a friendlier city than Ghent and would recommend this as an ideal weekend break from the UK.)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Right on the canalside in the centre. Easy walking to local attractions. Great breakfast and friendly service.

The hotel is in an old building but has been extensively modernised. Great room with Spa Bath

Room Tip: Great for a city break in Belgium
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brussels-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

This is a very good hotel in an ideal location in the old centre of Gent.

We stayed for a week in what the hotel describes as an "Exceptional Room" (25). It truly was a very good room, very large by town centre standards and beautifully appointed with very comfortable beds. Two things to be aware of if you choose this room. Firstly it is at the back of the hotel in a partly separate building, so there is no river view and it is rather dark. Secondly, the bathroom arrangement is very stylish but a bit eccentric; glass doors and a corner bath/shower that requires some athleticism to get in or out.

The staff were very helpful, often going the extra mile to assist. Breakfast was good, a cold buffet during the week with some hot alternatives at the weekend. No evening meal is available but that really doesn't matter - there are at least ten good restaurants within two minutes walk of the door. Karel de Stoute was the best, T'Klockhuis was OK/good/simple, Petit Restaurant was poor.

The real star attraction of the Harmony is its location. It is a modern, designer style hotel right at the heart of the medieval centre of the city. Straight out of the door is the quayside with all the sights within five minutes walk. It's truly stunning. Despite this convenience however it is very quiet and peaceful. Amazingly it has a garage! But you really will need a satnav to find your way there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Property: Hotel Harmony
Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
#4 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers 40 unique rooms in 3 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool, fitness and is 10 minutes' walk from St Bavo's Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing