We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Harmony
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Classy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

This was our second stay at the Harmony. We were in room 10, at the front of the hotel, overlooking the canal: it was a bit noisy with the traffic on the cobbles outside, but not so bad as to keep us awake.

The room was quite large with a high wooden ceiling and big, comfy four poster bed. There was a desk and separate table and chairs, although no comfy chairs. The WiFi (€10 for 24 hours in total, which was more than enough for our two night stay) worked very well on the table, but not at all on the desk, two meters away! There is no coffee machine any more, but there is a small fridge/minibar. The windows both opened properly, and the fireplace is both lovely and very effective.

The bathroom, with the opaque glass doors, had a huge bath in the middle, two sinks (though only one soap!), and a separate wc and good shower.

Reception was very efficient and friendly. We also booked a parking space under the hotel, which is in a small garage.

Breakfast (included) was a good buffet with both hot and cold items.

The location is excellent, right in the centre, a short walk from everything, and with loads of restaurants and bars nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    236
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
103
564
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

The operators of this hotel give you a feeling that someone genuinely cares about your comfort and convenience. The location is excellent. The room was totally quiet. Breakfast was quite nice.
I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
465 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed just 2 nights in a 'luxury' room, and it certainly was pretty nice.

We'd booked parking under the hotel - well worth doing vs trying to park 'nearby'. The car park is small (so book ahead if you want to use it) and pretty tight (reverse into a space if there's room - but they'll move cars around if necessary for you to get out). However, getting to the hotel, as someone else said, was a bit of a nightmare, partly because we got the wrong exit off the motorway. Their instructions are perfectly correct but hard to follow - the yellow signs are actually with the hotel name on (we missed one as something was parked in front of it) and the 2 instructions about a roundabout are actually different notes on the same roundabout.

Anyway, once there the hotel is perfectly located for all the main sights of central Gent - nothing much over 10minute walk. Castle of the Counts is just round the corner and, if you want to go further afield, the tram stop right by it covers most places.

The (small) pool area looks pleasant enough, but was closed for the winter.
Breakfast was good, with a wide choice and friendly, efficient, service. The bar wasn't often manned or, it seemed, that well used but someone came quickly if you wanted to use it.

Like another reviewer, my only real complaint was about the lighting - far too many halogens that looked great but didn't always illuminate what you wanted and it was difficult to use the bathroom without floodlighting the bedroom.

If you want to try the excellent, if expensive, taster menu at Restaurant Karel Stoute (see reviews), their Gastronomic Package is very good value vs doing things separately - you effectively pay very little for a bottle of champagne, free pay TV, etc

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

charming hotel, centrally located, good for seeing the city, breakfast included, nice amenities,a good deal

Room Tip: wood floor so you hear those above, get top floor if that matters. Hotel has a nice pool, thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60763Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Harmony for 3 nights during a 5 week European vacation and loved it. Our room was on the top floor with a balcony that overlooked the canal. We also had an amazing view of the clock tower and the church tower. At night the view was simply beautiful. The room was stylishly equipped and we both found the bed to be very comfortable. The hotel is walking distance from all the main attractions as well as a number of very nice restaurants, yet quiet at night. Great service & great location, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelleyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We were here for two nights and I wish it had been a longer stay. The hotel was lovely, and our room had a balcony overlooking the canal. Staff was very helpful, and the breakfasts were excellent.

Room Tip: Spring for a room overlooking the canal - beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eastporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Beautiful hotel in a great location. Our room was impeccable. We didn't much care for the odd sliding glass door to the bathroom, but this was not a big enough issue for loss of even one star. The service was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was beautiful and had many excellent choices.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Property: Hotel Harmony
Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Family Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers 40 unique rooms in 3 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool, fitness and is 10 minutes' walk from St Bavo's Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing