We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it's good enough for Sir Ralph (Fiennes) .......”
Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Harmony
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If it's good enough for Sir Ralph (Fiennes) .......”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The previous reviews say it all. Friendly, clean, attractive, comfortable, quiet, great breakfast, and parking. The underground garage is small but not a problem. Staff are more than willing to assist if necessary. Canal views or not, it really doesn't matter. There are windows on each floor as you exit the elevator, so nobody misses out. A lovely experience. An afterthought about the breakfast - ask for a cooked breakfast if you wish. We were perfectly happy with the extensive buffet, but weren't aware it was available until we saw others catered for. On the way out we noticed a hot pancake griddle and readymade pancake mixture if you feel inclined. The breakfast really is above average. Enjoy.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JM_Ghent_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    258
    30
    11
    3
See reviews for
123
615
35
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Words can't explain how great this hotel is. Not only is the location great, with views from the rooms overlooking the canals....in the middle of this gothic/medieval town.... BUT the rooms are clean and beautiful. All the amenities are modern. The AC works well, the tub/showers work well. Being in this hotel was like a vacation salvation! The breakfast here was honestly the best hotel breakfast I have had in Europe. Everyone working here was so incredibly nice. There is parking at the hotel too. I will make sure to be back. I only have positive things to say!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Domfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I'm almost reluctant to provide a review for this delightful find! this is a lovely small, friendly, family run hotel. It is an excellent location with the historic centre of Ghent only a few minutes walk away. Our room was spacious, well decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. There was nothing to dislike about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discerning_visitor42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoDeSmet, Owner at Hotel Harmony, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for this great review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A superb location to stay at in Ghent very close to the historic centre. The staff were most attentive and the hotel was extremely comfortable.
My only suggestion would be to try and get a room overlooking the canal if you can

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We opted for a room at the back to get a quiet night, and management duly accommodated our request The room was very spacious by European standards, and the extra bed for our son was all ready upon arrival, all in all in very comfortable, restful experience. The kitchenette setup had an espresso machine but no kettle or teabags. We would have appreciated teabags etc. as part of the basic setup. The bathroom needs upgrading; a rather tired jacuzzi tub doubled as a not very energetic shower which did not drain very rapidly. For the price (+200 euros/night)I would prefer access to a walk-in power shower as well. What made our stay during the warm days of August particularly enjoyable was the pool: there was something blissfully luxurious about floating in the water, in a really old, densely built-up, part of town, in a perfectly heated pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I'm very fortunate to travel a lot for business so get to stay in lots of beautiful hotels, this was one, though I wish I was here with my fiancee rather than on business.

The room (11) was fantastic, 4 poster bed, amazing bath etc. but slightly spoiled on the lone traveller! Downside was that there was no phone (that I could find), to request an iron sent up to the room, so went out with crumpled shirt, it can also be a little bit noisy with late night revellers heading home (again not ideal for the businessman).

The staff were a bit thin on the ground and the eponymous Harmony was on her own and not able to help guests check in, so not ideal, however, go and stay in this hotel, you won't be disappointed, you will love it and rightly so!!

Room Tip: Want an amazing view and sight to wake up to then ask for a room at the front - better night sleep m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a wonderful , friendly boutique style hotel in a great setting in the old centre of Ghent. The staff are attentive to your needs, breakfast is especially good, more so if you get an inclusive internet deal. Our room (No. 11) faced out over a canal and a one way road which meant some traffic noise but not too bad. The room itself was beautiful with a large four poster bed, upmarket coffee maker, separate bath and shower room and table and chairs and WIfi.
Free Tapas offerred between 18.00 and 20.00 in the cosy bar.
You are in the middle of old Ghent with everything you want to see within walking distance; the Castle, boat rides, churches, shops and restaurants.
We had a lovely four nights here. Wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron '
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.1 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Property: Hotel Harmony
Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Family Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers 40 unique rooms in 3 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool, fitness and is 10 minutes' walk from St Bavo's Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing