We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A canal-side jewel.”
Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Harmony
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This turned out to be our most luxurious accommodation between 3 hotels and a rental apartment on a recent trip. The room itself as well as the bath are small but luxurious, and our room had an amazing view overlooking a canal and many of Ghent's beautiful and picturesque buildings. The view was the kind of view they would show in a movie-set hotel room, that's how nice it was. The (included) breakfast buffet was way, way above average, and service was very friendly and helpful. In addition to the continental-style breakfast buffet items, hot/cooked items are available for ordering: a sign advises this, and also the attendant asked us our first morning if we would like any of the hot items. I love that they just include the buffet, and don't ask or separate compensation for opting in. The hotel's location is fantastic, overlooking the canal and very near to Gravensteen and many restaurants, bars, etc. Beds are somewhat small-ish, to my mind, as we prefer a king-size but these are pretty much impossible to find in Europe. The room itself was also a bit on the small side, but the other amenities more than compensated for that. We are grateful to our fellow Trip Advisor members for their positive feedback which helped us find this little jewel, which turned out to be a luxurious stop in a charming town.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal offer an amazing view (but do expose you to some street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJ_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Excellent hotel in the town center. The interior is stylish and modern. The staff is very friendly and dynamic. Breakfast is excellent. Restaurant nearby. Our room had plenty of space and a nice view on the canal and the towers. Can be reached by car, although the town center itself is free from cars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The location of the Hotel is excellent. A friendly and service minded staff gives you the home like feeling. The room we had was very spatious but had lack of warm decoration and lighting.
Overall we were very pleased and will certainly book again in this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The previous reviews say it all. Friendly, clean, attractive, comfortable, quiet, great breakfast, and parking. The underground garage is small but not a problem. Staff are more than willing to assist if necessary. Canal views or not, it really doesn't matter. There are windows on each floor as you exit the elevator, so nobody misses out. A lovely experience. An afterthought about the breakfast - ask for a cooked breakfast if you wish. We were perfectly happy with the extensive buffet, but weren't aware it was available until we saw others catered for. On the way out we noticed a hot pancake griddle and readymade pancake mixture if you feel inclined. The breakfast really is above average. Enjoy.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JM_Ghent_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Words can't explain how great this hotel is. Not only is the location great, with views from the rooms overlooking the canals....in the middle of this gothic/medieval town.... BUT the rooms are clean and beautiful. All the amenities are modern. The AC works well, the tub/showers work well. Being in this hotel was like a vacation salvation! The breakfast here was honestly the best hotel breakfast I have had in Europe. Everyone working here was so incredibly nice. There is parking at the hotel too. I will make sure to be back. I only have positive things to say!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Domfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I'm almost reluctant to provide a review for this delightful find! this is a lovely small, friendly, family run hotel. It is an excellent location with the historic centre of Ghent only a few minutes walk away. Our room was spacious, well decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. There was nothing to dislike about this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discerning_visitor42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoDeSmet, Owner at Hotel Harmony, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for this great review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A superb location to stay at in Ghent very close to the historic centre. The staff were most attentive and the hotel was extremely comfortable.
My only suggestion would be to try and get a room overlooking the canal if you can

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keithhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 38 in Ghent
2,252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 38 in Ghent
1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
#4 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £114 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers 40 unique rooms in 3 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool, fitness and is 10 minutes' walk from St Bavo's Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing