We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel; well located in old city”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Harmony
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Cleona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel; well located in old city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I've stayed at the Hotel Harmony on several occasions - primarily one night at a time, when in Gent on business. The hotel is well located in old city - right on the water. Walking distance to many restaurants, shops and tourist destinations. Cuberdons and wondrous waffles within a block or two!

Staff speaks excellent English and are very helpful.

Downsides (minor in comparison to value and location, but must be mentioned) - The Hotel Harmony is not easy to find by car - even with GPS we got hopelessly lost! Parking is challenging - a very small lot behind/under the hotel, not the easiest to access.

But would definitely return - and will, I am sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    241
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
108
572
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Staying at Hotel Harmony was one of the highlights of our recent trip through Belgium and the Netherlands. Ghent is a wonderful, charming town and a must see for this part of Europe. Harmony has without a doubt one of the best locations in town. You will see many similar photos of Ghent on the net featuring a beautiful flower-box-lined canal. These are taken basically across the tiny canal-side street from Hotel Harmony! This location is quiet, delightful and VERY convenient, perhaps 100 meters from one of the main tram stops just up the street at the Castle. The view from our top floor room was one of the nicest I've ever had in Europe from the canal below to the distant towers of Ghent's churches glowing every evening in the beautiful sunsets. The room was very nice particularly for a dormer space and designed very well to make maximum use of this (I'm 6' and did not have a problem). The modern design, bedding, bath and amenities were all top notch. The public areas of the hotel are equally excellent from design to amenities. The included breakfast was really outstanding and they even provide a la carte service for eggs, crepes, etc etc. Hotel Harmony's staff is right in line with the rest of the package - friendly, helpful and competent. I really can't recommend Hotel Harmony enough and, all things considered, one of the best overall hotel experiences I've had in many years.

Room Tip: Top floor dormer rooms overlooking the canal provide a wonderful view of this beautiful town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HewnMatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barneveld, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Very nice hotel in midcenter of Gent, with parkingpossibilities. Beautiful room and very nice service. We chose this hotel to celebrate the 20th anniversary of our friendship and it was a good choice. The city center is so beautiful, it is almost an open museum, with all the old buildings, canals and small and interesting shops. You will have to prepaire yourself with some information on this city, otherwise you will miss a lot of nice things. We will certainly return to Gent, because 2 days is too short.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidyvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greeensboro, nc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We could not have been more pleased with Hotel Harmony! It really had everything we seek in a small hotel. The location was lovely and close to the historic area, the Castle, shopping and many restaurants and beer houses. The breakfasts were delightful, if a bit expensive. You will enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

If you are looking for something really luxury, cosy and nice you will like this hotel. Outdoor heating swiming pool, rooms with a fantastic view to chanals and towers, or a jacuzzi in a room. Every room is diferent but fantasticlly done (free wifi, in some rooms conected to tv, coffe machine with a big choice of high quality coffe, air condition, rooms with a terase, modern or antic look....). Breakfast is better every time, stuff is exelent and the most important thing is bed. So comfortable, with a choice of nice pilows. Position of the hotel is fantastic. I travel to a Bruxelles a lot, any every time I try to make a reservation in this hotel. It is 30min with a train from Bruxelles, and beleve me, it is worth while.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street has fantastic view but you can hear cars in a morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

First tip:
If you are arriving by car keep your baggage in the car and check in first. The entrance to the parking garage is in back and depending on where your room is it may be easier to unload there.

We were very happy with the location in one of the oldest parts of the city and right on the canal.

There appears to be many different room types ranging from typical rooms to multi level units. Our room was in the back coach house and had two levels comprised of a living area and a spiral stair up to the bed and bathroom. This room did require an outside walk to get to the lobby and dining area.

The canopy bed was a nice touch, really romantic. The living area on the main level provided extra space for our daughter to stay. The back room didn't have a view but we were fine with it.

One thing to be said about the room is that it was really creaky. Any movement on the upper floor and the floor would creak. The coach house appears to be part of the original building so it's quite old and to be expected. The bathroom was nicely done and included a heated towel rack.

The hotel breakfast was included in our rate and had a really good choice of items to choose from so we chose to eat there before heading out.

As stated earlier the hotel has parking in an underground garage and a couple surface spots accessed via the back gate. The gate is on what appears to be an ally but is actually a street with restaurants and shops on it. We got in and out numerous times in 4 days without a problem but arriving back at the hotel later on a Saturday night was an adventure. The area becomes quite busy with foot traffic and the alley/street is narrow. If you are used to driving in Europe it's probably not going to be an issue but if you're coming from America it's unusual to be driving in such tight areas. We had a small car but if you have something larger than a mid size car it would be a challenge.

Also, in the rooms in the back of the hotel you will hear foot traffic from the people going to the restaurants and shops behind the hotel.

All said, we really enjoyed our 4 night stay and would stay in the same room if we ever make it to Ghent again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This turned out to be our most luxurious accommodation between 3 hotels and a rental apartment on a recent trip. The room itself as well as the bath are small but luxurious, and our room had an amazing view overlooking a canal and many of Ghent's beautiful and picturesque buildings. The view was the kind of view they would show in a movie-set hotel room, that's how nice it was. The (included) breakfast buffet was way, way above average, and service was very friendly and helpful. In addition to the continental-style breakfast buffet items, hot/cooked items are available for ordering: a sign advises this, and also the attendant asked us our first morning if we would like any of the hot items. I love that they just include the buffet, and don't ask or separate compensation for opting in. The hotel's location is fantastic, overlooking the canal and very near to Gravensteen and many restaurants, bars, etc. Beds are somewhat small-ish, to my mind, as we prefer a king-size but these are pretty much impossible to find in Europe. The room itself was also a bit on the small side, but the other amenities more than compensated for that. We are grateful to our fellow Trip Advisor members for their positive feedback which helped us find this little jewel, which turned out to be a luxurious stop in a charming town.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal offer an amazing view (but do expose you to some street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJ_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Property: Hotel Harmony
Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Family Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers 40 unique rooms in 3 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool, fitness and is 10 minutes' walk from St Bavo's Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing