We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay”
Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Harmony
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights from 30th October. Very comfortable and conveniently located in the centre of Ghent with helpful and friendly staff. Not cheap but good value for money. We had an excellent room at the back with a spa bath, shower and a kitchenette are off the large living room - tea and/or coffee making things available on request. Very quiet although you do have a short distance to walk outside from the main building to reach it. Only significant problem was that we found the air conditioning difficult to control. Very good breakfast. The hotel does not have a restaurant but there are many good ones nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet but you have to go a very short distance outside to reach them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandvbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    245
    31
    11
    3
See reviews for
113
584
32
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights

Very big room (nr 10 on the first floor), with also a very big and nice bathroom (shower + bath). It was not cheap (it wasn't the standard room but a higher category I think) but compared to other hotels I've been in it was surely worth it's price. Room was located on the front --> very nice view on the water. Super breakfast buffet. Cheese, meat, cerials, fruit, eggs, bacon, different kinds of breads, pasteries and so on and so on...

Location is ideal right in the historical city centre!

A separate "paragraph" for the staff...: as well in the e-mails we exchanged upfront, as at the reception, as at the breakfast as each time we had a question or remark staff was friendly and helpful. Not more than normal that's true but I've had other experiences in other hotels before. These guys are well trained and very client orientated.

4 star review ranking in stead of 5 mainly because of:

- We had quite some noise from the room above us. Not talking noise but moving noise. Our ceiling was in authentic wood which is nice but which means the floor above is probably in wood also so you hear every step they take above you. You get a bit used to it but still it can be annoying sometimes

- a lot of noise from the street, I doubt if it was double glass. And since there is a road passing in front and a big part of the centre is traffic free there passed a lot of cars. But also here... you get used to it...

Would we go back? Definitely yes!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maasmechelen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is situated in the heart of Ghent. All the important cultural/historical monuments are at walking distance. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are absolutely lovely. We stayed in a junior suite and were amazed by the combiantion of design and authentic materials. We even had a fire place in our room and both a shower and a bath! Breakfast was a real treat: everything is fresh and there's a wide range of bread rolls and pastry.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a junior suite, but the superior double rooms are also very nice. It's the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrique V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Hotel Harmony is in a great position in the middle of the medieval quarter of Ghent. We had a room at the front overlooking the canal, so a beautiful view. It was quite noisy with the window open at night though, because the street below is cobbled and so cars were extra loud. Rooms at the back are obviously quieter, but we felt the view was worth the noise. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfasts wonderful. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Ghent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I can advise this hotel to any person, with or without kids, calm or busy. The location is beautiful and calm, as the hotel itself. There's a warm and cosy atmosphere. When you walk 100 metres or even less, you get overwhelmed by the cute boutiques, the large shopping streets, the cosy and variated restaurants with any sort of culture food you can imagine and most of all the real beauty of Ghent. You don't need the car, because there're a lot of museums or monuments within a mile of the hotel. I enjoyed!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchaerlaekenJente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I've stayed at the Hotel Harmony on several occasions - primarily one night at a time, when in Gent on business. The hotel is well located in old city - right on the water. Walking distance to many restaurants, shops and tourist destinations. Cuberdons and wondrous waffles within a block or two!

Staff speaks excellent English and are very helpful.

Downsides (minor in comparison to value and location, but must be mentioned) - The Hotel Harmony is not easy to find by car - even with GPS we got hopelessly lost! Parking is challenging - a very small lot behind/under the hotel, not the easiest to access.

But would definitely return - and will, I am sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Staying at Hotel Harmony was one of the highlights of our recent trip through Belgium and the Netherlands. Ghent is a wonderful, charming town and a must see for this part of Europe. Harmony has without a doubt one of the best locations in town. You will see many similar photos of Ghent on the net featuring a beautiful flower-box-lined canal. These are taken basically across the tiny canal-side street from Hotel Harmony! This location is quiet, delightful and VERY convenient, perhaps 100 meters from one of the main tram stops just up the street at the Castle. The view from our top floor room was one of the nicest I've ever had in Europe from the canal below to the distant towers of Ghent's churches glowing every evening in the beautiful sunsets. The room was very nice particularly for a dormer space and designed very well to make maximum use of this (I'm 6' and did not have a problem). The modern design, bedding, bath and amenities were all top notch. The public areas of the hotel are equally excellent from design to amenities. The included breakfast was really outstanding and they even provide a la carte service for eggs, crepes, etc etc. Hotel Harmony's staff is right in line with the rest of the package - friendly, helpful and competent. I really can't recommend Hotel Harmony enough and, all things considered, one of the best overall hotel experiences I've had in many years.

Room Tip: Top floor dormer rooms overlooking the canal provide a wonderful view of this beautiful town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HewnMatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Property: Hotel Harmony
Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
#4 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers 40 unique rooms in 3 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool, fitness and is 10 minutes' walk from St Bavo's Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing