We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely nice place”
Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Harmony
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here our 1st night in Belgium.. It lives up to all positive reviews! It was my birthday the day we stayed here. After we checked into the room and went out for our first stroll around town, we were delighted to come back to the room and find it decorated with confetti, robes for our personal use and a complimentary bottle of champagne! What a treat!

In addition, I believe they also upgraded us to a canal front room. I clearly remember not booking the canal front due to cost. Reception staff were all pleasant, attentive and very helpful with directions. Breakfast was plentiful.. This is a great location for exploring the city and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmoreMacon_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (995)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Harmony
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had room 31, on the third floor, which comes with a balcony. The views are great, the room itself as well. Clean, comfortable, and quiet, but very centrally located. Breakfast is marvellous. They have a private parking underneath the building: leave your bags in the car, as there is a lift from the garage to the rooms. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms 30 and 31 share a balcony with great views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel is in the perfect location for visiting Gent. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are fantastic. It is not so easy to check in if you are travelling by car, because the hotel is located in a narrow street and it is not so easy to stop in the front of the hotel, but if you'll pass the hotel and go left and another left 200m later into even smaller, medieval, streets, you will find the entrance to the car park. Parking the car is 15€ a night, it is a lot cheaper in the nearby car parks, of cause.

The room explanation of the hotel stated that their is a Nespresso machine in the room. That's not true, it is another system and therefore you cannot use Nespresso capsules (I took some with me).

The room itself was spacy and had a nice terrace with view to the medieval city center of Gent. The bathroom was big enough, but is devided from the main room by a milkglas door, which not everyone likes.

As I got sick on my trip and did not get around much (but stayed mostly 2 days in the room) I will have to visit Gent once again and I exactly know where I will be staying.

Nothing else to tell, I was very pleased with this hotel. That's why it gets 5 stars from me (first time I did that).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Situated on the canal side a short walk from the city centre. Our room at the back of the hotel had a small terrace and overlooked a quiet back street (rooms at the front overlook the canal). Room was large and stylishly decorated - bathroom had a large jacuzzi bath.

Staff were friendly and check in was efficient. There is a small secure underground car park as part of the hotel. There isn't much space though.

Breakfast was excellent and included in the room rate.

The price felt a bit high when we booked but the hotel was excellent and we got a good nights sleep.

Ghent has some pretty canal side sights but there isn't a huge amount to do and one night there was enough for us.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the view - rooms at the rearer are quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights from 30th October. Very comfortable and conveniently located in the centre of Ghent with helpful and friendly staff. Not cheap but good value for money. We had an excellent room at the back with a spa bath, shower and a kitchenette are off the large living room - tea and/or coffee making things available on request. Very quiet although you do have a short distance to walk outside from the main building to reach it. Only significant problem was that we found the air conditioning difficult to control. Very good breakfast. The hotel does not have a restaurant but there are many good ones nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet but you have to go a very short distance outside to reach them.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandvbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights

Very big room (nr 10 on the first floor), with also a very big and nice bathroom (shower + bath). It was not cheap (it wasn't the standard room but a higher category I think) but compared to other hotels I've been in it was surely worth it's price. Room was located on the front --> very nice view on the water. Super breakfast buffet. Cheese, meat, cerials, fruit, eggs, bacon, different kinds of breads, pasteries and so on and so on...

Location is ideal right in the historical city centre!

A separate "paragraph" for the staff...: as well in the e-mails we exchanged upfront, as at the reception, as at the breakfast as each time we had a question or remark staff was friendly and helpful. Not more than normal that's true but I've had other experiences in other hotels before. These guys are well trained and very client orientated.

4 star review ranking in stead of 5 mainly because of:

- We had quite some noise from the room above us. Not talking noise but moving noise. Our ceiling was in authentic wood which is nice but which means the floor above is probably in wood also so you hear every step they take above you. You get a bit used to it but still it can be annoying sometimes

- a lot of noise from the street, I doubt if it was double glass. And since there is a road passing in front and a big part of the centre is traffic free there passed a lot of cars. But also here... you get used to it...

Would we go back? Definitely yes!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is situated in the heart of Ghent. All the important cultural/historical monuments are at walking distance. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are absolutely lovely. We stayed in a junior suite and were amazed by the combiantion of design and authentic materials. We even had a fire place in our room and both a shower and a bath! Breakfast was a real treat: everything is fresh and there's a wide range of bread rolls and pastry.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a junior suite, but the superior double rooms are also very nice. It's the b...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrique V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.1 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
#4 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £114 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers 40 unique rooms in 3 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool, fitness and is 10 minutes' walk from St Bavo's Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing