We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beleive the great reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Harmony
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beleive the great reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

A fabulous hotel, friendly and welcoming staff.
The hotel is arranged in two halves, the main hotel and also there are rooms at the rear. To access the rooms at the rear you have to exit the back door and walk across a small courtyard. This is not a problem as the rooms are well equipped and super comfy.
Breakfast was excellent.
If you want to use the hotel parking you will need to book in advance.
We parked in the Vrijdagmarkt parking lot, it cost 10€ for 24 hrs.
Book this hotel with confidence.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junglejim_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    241
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
108
573
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Visited Ghent for our annual European Christmas shopping trip. Stayed at Hotel Harmony. Great central base. Staff very friendly and efficient. Nothing too much trouble. Room lovely with fabulous views over the canal. Breakfast excellent. Perfect place to stay for a five day break. Hospitality first class.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SteveB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here our 1st night in Belgium.. It lives up to all positive reviews! It was my birthday the day we stayed here. After we checked into the room and went out for our first stroll around town, we were delighted to come back to the room and find it decorated with confetti, robes for our personal use and a complimentary bottle of champagne! What a treat!

In addition, I believe they also upgraded us to a canal front room. I clearly remember not booking the canal front due to cost. Reception staff were all pleasant, attentive and very helpful with directions. Breakfast was plentiful.. This is a great location for exploring the city and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmoreMacon_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had room 31, on the third floor, which comes with a balcony. The views are great, the room itself as well. Clean, comfortable, and quiet, but very centrally located. Breakfast is marvellous. They have a private parking underneath the building: leave your bags in the car, as there is a lift from the garage to the rooms. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms 30 and 31 share a balcony with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel is in the perfect location for visiting Gent. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are fantastic. It is not so easy to check in if you are travelling by car, because the hotel is located in a narrow street and it is not so easy to stop in the front of the hotel, but if you'll pass the hotel and go left and another left 200m later into even smaller, medieval, streets, you will find the entrance to the car park. Parking the car is 15€ a night, it is a lot cheaper in the nearby car parks, of cause.

The room explanation of the hotel stated that their is a Nespresso machine in the room. That's not true, it is another system and therefore you cannot use Nespresso capsules (I took some with me).

The room itself was spacy and had a nice terrace with view to the medieval city center of Gent. The bathroom was big enough, but is devided from the main room by a milkglas door, which not everyone likes.

As I got sick on my trip and did not get around much (but stayed mostly 2 days in the room) I will have to visit Gent once again and I exactly know where I will be staying.

Nothing else to tell, I was very pleased with this hotel. That's why it gets 5 stars from me (first time I did that).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Situated on the canal side a short walk from the city centre. Our room at the back of the hotel had a small terrace and overlooked a quiet back street (rooms at the front overlook the canal). Room was large and stylishly decorated - bathroom had a large jacuzzi bath.

Staff were friendly and check in was efficient. There is a small secure underground car park as part of the hotel. There isn't much space though.

Breakfast was excellent and included in the room rate.

The price felt a bit high when we booked but the hotel was excellent and we got a good nights sleep.

Ghent has some pretty canal side sights but there isn't a huge amount to do and one night there was enough for us.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the view - rooms at the rearer are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights from 30th October. Very comfortable and conveniently located in the centre of Ghent with helpful and friendly staff. Not cheap but good value for money. We had an excellent room at the back with a spa bath, shower and a kitchenette are off the large living room - tea and/or coffee making things available on request. Very quiet although you do have a short distance to walk outside from the main building to reach it. Only significant problem was that we found the air conditioning difficult to control. Very good breakfast. The hotel does not have a restaurant but there are many good ones nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet but you have to go a very short distance outside to reach them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandvbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Property: Hotel Harmony
Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Family Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers 40 unique rooms in 3 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool, fitness and is 10 minutes' walk from St Bavo's Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing