We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with remote controlled fireplace”
Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Harmony
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Tuusula, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Nice place with remote controlled fireplace”
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Is this 5 star hotel? I would say no since it doesn’t have that “über luxury” of places such as Four Seasons. However, this does not in any way mean that the hotel is not good, just that it IMHO deserves four stars instead of full five (and anyway four stars is what the hotel itself states). Review is based on two night stay in April’09.

Location:
Nice location almost right in the middle of medieval central, next to the canal. Lots of different bars and restaurants within a stone’s throw. Gravensteen castle is 200m away and maybe 2km to the Gent-Sint-Pieters railway station.

Room:
Had a very big Junior Suite in 2nd floor, nice decoration with old wooden ceiling beams clearly visible indicating the historical past of the building. View was directly to the canal. Beautiful large bathroom with a bathtub standing in the middle, separate shower section. Nice painting in the wall of the bathroom!

Specialty of the room was the remote controlled fireplace (gas operated) which surely was a nice addition. Being able to switch fireplace on/off while staying in the bed was quite unique, at least I haven’t encountered that anywhere else so far. And another special detail was the bed with didn’t look like the normal business hotel equipment. Fortunately!

There was not much traffic outside the hotel but every passing car on the cobble street was very clearly heard in the room, thus sound insulation isn’t perhaps the best possible.

Etc:
Breakfast selection wasn’t the biggest I’ve seen, but certainly good enough to get my day started. So no complaints there.

Didn’t require any additional services of the hotel so cannot comment on them.

Would I return there?
Yes, sure. Nice hotel in a nice location and the price wasn’t that bad either

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadsasdasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    258
    30
    11
    3
See reviews for
123
615
35
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans Uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2009

This was our fifth visit to Hotel Harmony and we found it as charming as ever. We have been there in summer and winter, and taken friends too, and have always had a lovely stay. The location on one of Ghent's canals and close to the heart of the old town is most attractive, with the added advantage of a garage for the car. Because the hotel is in old buildings, every room is different but equally comfortable, and some have wonderful views. The hotel breakfast is excellent and in summer is served outside, and room service has recently been added (not tried). Although the hotel has no restauarant, there are many to chose from within a few minutes walk. There is now a small swimming pool on one of the roofs, which we look forward to trying next time we are there. The staff are always very helpful, and all speak excellent English. We have used this hotel as a base for trips to Brussels and Antwerp, easily accesible by train, and Bruges by car, as well as for visting Ghent itself.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChoirGirlSop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oud-Heverlee
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

good location / design rooms / parking / price- quality = perfect

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaansdak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Although I'm posting a bit belatedly, Hotel Harmony deserves the praise. Its location at the heart of the historic district is ideal; easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do. Right from our initial e-mail to request for reservations, the staff was responsive, friendly and helpful. Although we had not ordered any special amenity packages, we had mentioned while booking the room that the trip was in celebration of our anniversary. The staff must have noted this, because we arrived to find our bed sprinkled with rose petals. We stayed in a "luxurious room," one level above their least expensive. Our room was very clean, quite spacious and in smart, modern style. The bathroom was handsome and we had none of the issues with water on the floor mentioned by others.

Some posters have complained of no coffee or tea makers in the rooms, but we found the folks in the bar were happy to give us a tray with teapot, cups, etc., to take up to our room every time we asked. Others have mentioned there are no hot breakfast items, but they are available on request. I had noticed waffles and eggs on the room service menu, and asked to be served them in the dining room at breakfast. The eggs were even attractively plated with an artistic garnish of greens and herbs. This sort of attention to detail and to their guests' enjoyment makes this hotel stand out as one we would be happy to recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCQTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brabant
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

This was our second stay in this hotel. Rooms are spacious, with outstanding bathroom.
Staff is very friendly and helpfull. The location is ideal for visiting the town center ( Gravensteen, Vrijdagmarkt, Graslei, Patershol).The buffet breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leporelloBrabant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2009

I've already recommended this hotel to friends. where simplicity meets history. Not for anybody

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank directorate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Good value for money. The rooms are very modern and very tidy. Only the elevator is very slow. Please book parking spot in advance.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DessyRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.1 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Property: Hotel Harmony
Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
#4 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers 40 unique rooms in 3 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool, fitness and is 10 minutes' walk from St Bavo's Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing