We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to the train station, nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Castel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castel
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I stayed here in May 2010 with my sister for a short break to Belgium from the UK. We chose it mostly for the location to the train station and price. Breakfast was good. I cannot really fault the hotel and all the positives other people have said are true, good sized room, clean, friendly staff. The only bad thing I would say was our room was on the main road/square and it was quite noisy if you had the window open. We checked out late on our last day (we stayed for two nights) as it was raining and our train didn't leave until the afternoon. This cost a little bit extra but I don't think it was much, maybe 10 Euros for every hour extra.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUS_MAP_IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed here one night and has three rooms.

Due to a change in the Belgian law it is not allowed to smoke inside public places anymore since July 1st, 2011. Hotel Castel took this event as an opportunity to redecorate the hotel and restaurant completely.

Rooms:
The rooms are spacious and new. A double bed has the matrasses and the sheets apart (so not fighting your partner for the sheets). The bath room is quite big and is clean. As far as we could see, there was only one minus: the absence of AirCon. That is not a problem when the weather is cold, but in case of a hot day it is not very convenient. Sleeping with the window open has two disadvantages: it can be noisy around the station, although that did not bother us much, and musquitos can be a problem.

Hotel:
Across the street of the central station of Gent, with tram stops in front of that station. Tram 1 will take you to the center in about 7 minutes and tickets can be bought easily at ticket machines (EUR 1,20 for one way, 10-trip tickets for EUR 8,00). The hotel/restaurant is specialized in Belgian beers, so if you are a connaisseur of beers than you can certainly be happy here. The female owner can tell you a lot about those beers (I thick there are 2,152 Belgian beers, if I remember her words correctly). The hotel is family run and they are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was nice, but could use more variety. Parking is quite easy around the hotel, but you can only pay for maximum of half a day (EUR 2.00). On the other side of the station is a parking garage where you can park for EUR 10.00 for one day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PetvZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Hotel-Brasserie Castel in Gent is a small, but very, very nice hotel. We were 3 friends staying in a family room, which was excellent. The room has a lot of space for 3-4 adults, it's newly modernized and very comfortable. The elevator is actually riding all the way to the 4th floor.
The hotel is very clean everywhere and the owners, which also are eating breakfast together with the guests, is very nice and attentive to all your needs. The refrigerator in the room broke down and in no time, we got a new and the lady from the hotel even put our beers in the refrigerator so they was cool when we came back.
Parking is a little bit difficult at the moment because of roadworks, but the underground parking lot at the train station is fine. 10 euro's per day is an ok price.
The only recommendation is that aircondition in the room would be very nice. In hot weather, the rooms are hot as well and when opening the windows, some noice from the trams can be a little annoying.
My advice when you are travelling to Ghent: Use this hotel, it has very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snakesika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The family room we stayed in was ideal having two bedrooms, bathroom and separate toilet and was good value compared to other accommodation I'd looked at. The hotel is close to the train station and trams stop close by so very convenient for transport in to the centre. May be a bit noisy for some if windows were left open but when closed no problems at all. The owners who also own the bar downstairs were friendly and helpful. The bar had a vast choice of Belgian beers at reasonable prices and food was simple but tasty, also other bars and eateries in the immediate vicinity. The hotel is also conveniently close to underground parking at the railway station for 10 euros per day. The walk in to the centre is about 20 mins but as there are two art galleries close by in a park, you could break your journey there, or alternatively get on the cheap efficient trams instead with various ticket options available.

Room Tip: Family room spacious and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abalancedreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Very friendly staff. Very clean and well-maintained rooms. The Castel is right in front of the train station (sint-pieters) and about 15 minutes walk to the city centre. My room was 67.50 a night + 2.50 city tax - but at 70 euro a night was about 20 euro cheaper than the other hotels I came across. The hotel has a bar and a restaurant but I did not eat/drink there so cannot comment.

Because of its location - next to the train station - there is a lot of traffic outside, especially from early in the morning. It did not bother me, but it might bother some people, so it's worth keeping in mind.

With regard hidden charges - the hotel has wi-fi, but charges four euro a day for access.

I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. I had no problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joeconor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Sadly rather noisey and a lot of dust around. Beware of hidden charges not mentioned correctly. No price list or details of hotel in bedroom. Towels are well worn. You can do a lot better for this price.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Service
3  Thank RaibeartAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Castel for three nights and can only recommend it. The rooms are clean, large and with a lot of nice little details: hairdryer, sweets, water boiler and coffee etc. Having worked in this industry, I can be very picky with towels, but at Hotel Castel all the towels were new and of great quality.
Breakfast was nice, with a suprisingly large selection for such a small hotel, and the staff was friendly and helpful. There's free wireless internet, too.
There seems to be some construction going on around the elevator, but you did not hear any noise, you just saw that they are still renovating some corners, but it does not bother the guests at all.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hada_del_Bosque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel Ghent
Astoria Hotel Ghent
#8 of 38 in Ghent
281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Chamade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cathedral
Hotel Cathedral
#22 of 38 in Ghent
209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castel

Address: Koningin Maria Hendrikaplein 9, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £78 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brasserie Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing