We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms”
Review of Hotel Castel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castel
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Rooms are nice, modern and clean. Wish we knew they do not heat the rooms before arrival. We were already cold when we arrived but the rooms were like ice. After an hour of heating on full we were still in coats, beanies and gloves. Would have stayed somewhere else if we knew because this was not a nice way to finish a day spent out in cold watching spring racing. Had looked so forward to relaxing in warm hotel room. Breakfast was excellent and everyone happy with fresh coffe and hot chocolate. Hotel is opposite train station but not much noise. All staff were friendly and professional. For dinner we went to brasserie 2 mins down the road on the corner and it was very nice - good food, good service and nice and warm after escaping our icy room.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

Went a few days to Ghent for a conference. Hotel Castel was in a great location right in front of the train station. There is a Starbucks next to the station and a few places to have a quick meal. Breakfast was included and good. The one thing that really annoyed me about the hotel was that wifi was included in the fee but in order to get a decent wifi I had to be next to the room's door because the signal was so poor everywhere else, this is very important to me since I need to keep communicated or work online. If you have no need for internet I would say it's a pretty good place to stay.

Room Tip: If you care about internet don't take any room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We made the booking on-line and obviously we paid by credit card during booking. However, when we leave the hotel, the female owner demanded for payment. We told her payment has been made during booking. However, she said all customers have to pay to them even though bookings are made on-line. She was really rude and picked up the phone to complain about us to her husband, I supposed. She embarrassed us by saying that we don't trust her and making cynical remarks about us as if we refused to pay for our stay.
She was even more furious when we said we have to check with the bank to ensure we don't make the payment twice as we are aware it is difficult to get a refund later. We told her we would pay once we get the confirmation from the bank. She got very mad and walked off.
This female owner is so unprofessional even though she dress up herself. She is just not suitable to work at the front desk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janhon902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed just the one nght in September and recommend this hotel for a short stay. It is right opposite the station and about a 20 minute walk to the centre.We arrived early and were able to leave our bags without trouble. The owners were friendly and helpful and provided a map and a great little book about Ghent to help us explore. The tram is easy to use and cheap as well. Ghent is a beautiful, stunning city and we could have spent more time there. The room was small, but clean and comfortable and with tea & coffee making facilities and free wifi. It was reasonably quiet at night considering the proximity to the station.
We ate at the restaurant and it is excellent (I highly recommend the local Flemish dish - Stoverij). They have a great variety and knowledge of beer (particularly Belgian beer) and I tried many. On the same subject I recommend a visit to the brewery in Ghent - well worth it. The breakfast was very good but overpriced at 11 euro. Overall it was an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stimmo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Our reservation at a different place was canceled due to the incompetency of the B&B and their websites. We booked this place last minute via booking.com

We were expecting quality way lower than what we actually received, for that it was a good surprise. Although we found all the Ibis chains in the city cheaper after we made the reservation and the owners won't let us cancel it even though they have a 24 hour notice policy and no where said you had to notify them before 2pm (we notified them at 2:30pm). But we are in Europe, can't really held them at the same customer service level as Americans. I believe it all worked out at the end and it didn't ruin our vacation in Ghent.

We received a room that's separated from the main place right next door. The room was comfortable with all necessities included. The room was equipped with an automatic shade which blocks out the light. The walls are quite thin and we can hear everything our next door neighbor is doing, but nothing that can't be fixed with a pair of ear plugs.

Even though everything turned out to be a good experience. Would I stay here again? No. Why?

1. The Wifi does not reach the rooms.
2. For a cheaper price, you can stay at an Ibis which would give you the same experience and closer to the Historical center.
3. We asked the lady owner where is the cheapest parking at the 24hr rate. She does not know. Which tells us how little she knows about her own city. We walked 5 minutes away to a turkish snack bar and asked the owner there, he directed us to P10 Parking Sint-Pietersplein where it's only 2.50 for 24 hours.

I can see the owners trying to be good hosts and good hotel owners. I can also see the renovation and just the overall effort from them to make guests' stays as positive as possible. But their own greediness and how much they care about Money will be their own doom, until they find a balance of money and customer service, I won't be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in this delightful hotel, right opposite Ghent St Pieters station. The hotel owners were very helpful and courteous. Our room overlooked the station square but was very quiet and comfortable. The hotel is very well-appointed and the continental breakfast was excellent. We particularly appreciated the fresh orange juice and the takeaway breakfast delivered to our door the night before an early start. Fridge & tea-making facilities were welcome as was the free WiFi. We would be most happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juneabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Just returned from two nights at this hotel and I can't fault the place. The hotel is run by a husband and wife couple and they cannot be more helpful. On checking we were given a map and info brochure on Ghent and told about the trams to the main centre although it is only a 20 min walk. The hotel is located right opposite the train station. The room was recently decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was continental with plenty of choice. There is also a brasserie which sells local Belgian beer at the hotel which is open in the evenings - we ate there both evenings and the food was of a restaurant quality but reasonable priced. If we ever return to Ghent, then we would stay in this hotel. It is ideally situated by the station as we were travelling to Brugges and Antwerp during our stay, which was ideal and the short tram ride into the centre of Ghent itself made this hotel ideal.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cathedral
Hotel Cathedral
#23 of 39 in Ghent
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Chamade
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel Ghent
Astoria Hotel Ghent
#8 of 39 in Ghent
284 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castel

Address: Koningin Maria Hendrikaplein 9, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £75 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brasserie Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing