We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Castel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castel
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Scotland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

Sadly rather noisey and a lot of dust around. Beware of hidden charges not mentioned correctly. No price list or details of hotel in bedroom. Towels are well worn. You can do a lot better for this price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RaibeartAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    40
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
32
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Castel for three nights and can only recommend it. The rooms are clean, large and with a lot of nice little details: hairdryer, sweets, water boiler and coffee etc. Having worked in this industry, I can be very picky with towels, but at Hotel Castel all the towels were new and of great quality.
Breakfast was nice, with a suprisingly large selection for such a small hotel, and the staff was friendly and helpful. There's free wireless internet, too.
There seems to be some construction going on around the elevator, but you did not hear any noise, you just saw that they are still renovating some corners, but it does not bother the guests at all.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hada_del_Bosque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

Getting off the train after a 6 hour ride on a dark, rainy, and cold night, it was a relief to see the hotel almost directy in front of the train station. We normally stay in very budget accomodations, so this hotel felt high-end to us. A double was 84 euro a night (79 for the room and an additional 5 in taxes).

The man at the desk was incredibly helpful and took his time explaining things to us. He gave us a packet of information with maps, brochures, etc that was quite handy to have around. I noticed they had other services there like laundry (we didn't use them).

The room was comfortable and clean and we slept well in the bed. Breakfast (included in the price) was abundant and tasty. The decor was eclectic but well thought out.

You can walk to the sites in Ghent in about 25 - 30 minutes, or easily take the tram that is right in front of the hotel.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PicnicAtTheCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skutskar, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

Just got back from a stay at this hotel. Great value for the price. Clean but basic rooms. Excellent location if you want to be near the trainstation. Breakfast better then expected.
If its warm weather and you want to open the window towards the station square I think it will be a bit noisy.
Also a bit rowdy right now because of refurbishments including elevator installation!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndersE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

I visited here in late May with a group of students and will return again. The rooms were very basic as would be expected in a budget hotel, but the service was excellent. Upper floor rooms opened on the plaza in front of the train station. No elevator means that bags have to be hauled up several flights of stairs -- while a minor inconvenience for us it may be an issue for older travelers. The breakfasts were delicious and served in a nicely arranged dining area. The cafe downstairs served very good food at reasonable prices and had a wide selection of Belgian beers. Overall, a superb small hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

I stayed at the Castel in the middle of a two-week budget trip through the Netherlands and Belgium, and it was the nicest accommodation by far. My room was on the top floor (four flights, if I remember right), overlooking the plaza between the hotel and train station. There was some noise from construction outside and, early in the morning, rambunctious students, but the high-quality windows sealed nicely and made the room mostly quiet.

The bed was firm and comfortable, the TV got many channels, including the BBC, and the bathroom was in good shape, with just some discoloration in the paint on the ceiling. The shower had good pressure and the proprietor provided a packet of information about Ghent.

The location was excellent in many ways--laundromat around the corner, small grocery store practically next door, organic cafe a few doors away, tram stops nearby, and a very short walk to the train station. You can walk to the historic district, but it's a long walk on a narrow street with city grittiness and crowding, so I'd recommend taking the tram.

There was free wifi, but I couldn't pick up the signal in my room and ended up working in the small lobby, with my laptop perched on my knees or on a low coffee table.

Unfortunately, when I visited Ghent, the historic district was a confusing mess of construction, which combined with the construction going on outside the hotel (4 cranes visible from my bed) made Ghent not super appealing. Luckily, since my room in the Castel was so pleasant, I took the chance to have a break from being a tourist and hang out more at the hotel than I usually do. If I go back to Ghent, I won't hesitate to stay at the Castel again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cathy1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

A restaurant/beerhouse (with a couple of hundred brews available for the cognoscienti) with a small hotel above. The briefest of walks from the railway station to the hotel, the centre of the town is best reached by tram from the station square. Breakfasts are one of the hotel's strengths, as is the free wifi access.

I like Belgium. Ghent's medieval centre is well worth exploring, as are the restaurants. Belgian food is generally not to be missed - Ghent is no exception to this rule!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freischutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Sint Pieters
NH Gent Sint Pieters
#19 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adoma
Adoma
#29 of 37 in Ghent
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel Ghent
Astoria Hotel Ghent
#9 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Europa Hotel
Europa Hotel
#22 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castel

Property: Hotel Castel
Address: Koningin Maria Hendrikaplein 9, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brasserie Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing