We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a well deserved high rating - do not be fooled by first impressions”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 664 helpful votes
“This is a well deserved high rating - do not be fooled by first impressions”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel deserves its high ratings in Trip Advisor for several reasons
1. It is very conveniently located to the train station - a couple of minutes walk- and almost next to the No 1 tram that takes you directly to the centre of the historic town.
2. The hotel rooms have been recently renovated very tastefully and they are very spacious, in fact huge . I stayed in room 401 and my room was really huge. The bathroom size was also adequate and very well furnished.
3. All the amenities offered are top notch and the staff is very careful to replenish them regularly.
4. The breakfast offered by the hotel offered is excellent and has a wide variety on offer. The owners would be prepared to accommodate any reasonable requests. There is a wide variety of fresh fruits as well as cold and cooked meats.
5. What makes this hotel different from many others is the attitude of the owners. They are exceeding helpful and accommodating and they make you very welcome from the first minute you step into the hotel. Their recommendations for what to do in town are excellent!
On approaching the hotel the building looks very unimpressive. The public areas look tired and the elevator ancient. Nothing prepares you for the excellent rooms and the facilities offered inside. I was told that the owners decided to prioritise the upgrading of the rooms before changing the building façade. In my view this was the right decision since the quality of the rooms is what matters most.
I would classify this as a boutique hotel given the umber of rooms and the interior design. I would most certainly return to it next time I am visiting Ghent for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 401 and it was both huge and very stylish
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotscouple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    124
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
90
248
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Don't be fooled by the simple exterior of this gorgeous boutique hotel located opposite Gent central train station.

Owned by 3 young brothers, this boutique hotel is designed, decorated and run with passion, zeal and exceptional customer service. The owners' pride and joy is a recently refurbished suite with a huge terrace, open plan bathroom including roll top bath tub, and unusual luxuries such as free internet and a built in sound system that cordlessly plays music from your iphone or apple device.

Although small, the hotel offers surprisingly high customer service, including a full cooked breakfast served from a tiny but charming breakfast room, and equally compact but cleverly designed bar in reception,

For a charmingly different and personal stay with all the trimmings, the Carlton Hotel is truly a hidden gem, and decent value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get the suite if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I don't really understand why the other reviews are so positive. For me nothing to get excited about this hotel whose location is far from the historic centre and the choice of restaurants within reach quite limited. The room was correct and cleaned but a little noisy as it was on the street.
If I come back to Ghent, I will definitely try another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sissiburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived mid-afternoon and were immediately struck by the warm welcome and excellent customer service. We were given detailed information about getting into the town centre and the street parking arrangements outside the hotel.
Overnight parking is free, and payment thereafter is in 5hr slots, so if we wanted a long day in town they offered to top up our parking ticket - all part of the service!
The three brothers who run the hotel show genuine commitment and enthusiasm for their business, and they have invested well in modern furniture and fittings.
We noticed that they all work in shifts, and cheerfully put their hand to all the tasks - reception, bar, breakfast, and cleaning rooms.
We wouldn't hesitate recommending a stay at The Carlton, and we will definitely return if we plan another trip to Gent.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HNG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

While touring Europe without an itinerary we have been booking late to get hotels the following day. We stumbled across this hotel.

We made the booking and headed for Ghent from Bruges. We found the hotel and parked on e street. As we were standing outside looking for the parking entrance, one of e owners, Stephen came out and asked if he could help. This was the start of our great experience.

He explained e outside was a little 70s, but it was one of the last things to be renovated.

He took his time with us explaining the hotel, the things to do in town and explained how to get to the centre of town to see the sights and visit restaurants. The hotel has tickets for public transport which they supply at face value ( other hotels I have been to charge a premium for this service).

The salesman in Stephen convinced us of a small upgrade to the newly finished Penthouse. He showed us the room and we took it willingly.

I have to say, some will not like it. It is very modern. We loved it. Not only is it modern and fitted with great design you have access to a terrace. The terrace is 95% finished with just some plants and a small barrier required.

There is a roll top bath in the room and a sere rate toilet cleverly built into a dividing wall. There is a separate seating area with access to the terrace. There are 2 large flat screen TVA and wireless connection for your music, if you carry your own via iPod/iPhone.

High quality toiletries are also provided.

The bed is large and comfortable. The room is quiet and a goon nights sleep was had.

Breakfast in the morning was also well done. A mid size bright and inviting room. The staff are not yet fully trained, but are getting there. I would say they have some rough edges which Stephen is smoothing out. I am sure they will be 100% in no time.

Nothing was too much trouble, all the staff did what they could to help everyone in several languages, some times several at once.

This is already a good hotel. In a short time it will be a great one.

Cannot rate it highly enough.

Room Tip: Take the advice of the staff, although a business they realise doing the best will work for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberplank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tienen, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Hotel Carlton in Gent of one of the best hotels I've ever seen in my life. This is a nice family hotel, in the hands of three friendly brothers. They always make you feel welcome and good when you stay in Hotel Carlton. I'll be back soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Johan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I recently had the opportunity to visit Gent on way to Paris and found this hotel via TripAdvisor. Right from the start this place was the most friendly, clean and helpful place to experience. The three young men who own and manage this place have made this place an oasis to come home to after a busy day of sightseeing. The lobby area is quaint and has a small bar in which we experienced a great get-together with all others staying at the hotel and Steve was a great host/bartender to everyone. The room was clean and nicely decorated and the beds were very comfy. The breakfast was also very delicious and well worth it. This was by far the best place on our trip, even better than Paris. Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to enjoy a friendly, fun environment. Thanks guys for such a great vacation!

Room Tip: The hotel is on a quiet street but without AC and the window open, you can hear anything being done...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
1.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Property: Hotel Carlton
Address: Koningin Astridlaan 138, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#1 Family Hotel in Ghent
#1 Business Hotel in Ghent
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will really feel at home in this charming city center located Carlton Hotel Ghent, the ideal spot to recharge your batteries during a trip in search of historical places or an exploration of the Ghent nightlife. This friendly and cosily designed family hotel in Ghent will treat you in the morning to an extensive and varied breakfast and is always ready to advise you on how best to discover our city. The Carlton Hotel Ghent is situated in a residential area of Ghent and is only 100 metres from Ghent St Pieters Station. The central location, the convenient access and the private car park make this family hotel the ideal base for both tourists and businesspeople. Carlton Hotel Ghent offers comfortable and elegantly decorated hotel rooms with television, radio, telephone and minibar. All Carlton Hotel Ghent rooms have an en-suite bathroom with bath. There are various tram connections to the old city centre and the business zones, and there is also now a direct tram connection to Flanders Expo. 3 hotel star Carlton Hotel Ghent is located directly next to the ICC International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing