We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and Great Service”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Hotel Carlton. It is a little further out from the main tourist city centre but is a lovely walk along the canals into the centre. The tram is very close and also runs straight into the centre. The brothers were amazing hosts, so helpful in recommending and booking restaurants and very friendly. Breakfasts were great and very filling. Would recommend as a hotel with true personal service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank an0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carlton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Due to a business meeting i needed to stay overnight in a hotel near to my meeting.
After assessing booking.com i found this hotel and made my choice based on the good reviews.
This turned out to be a good choice. Already when entering the relatively small lobby I immediately felt welcome. Very kind and professional approach and provided with all information one would like to be informed about. A clean and comfortable room was an ingredient for a good night rest. The next morning i enjoyed a good breakfast and the owner made me a lovely ommelette.
After checking out the owner noticed my bags and guided me to the garage in order to make sure that i would not struggle to open the garage door of the parking. So thoughtful! Thank you.
The attention to the guest was well balanced. Exactly tuned to feel comfortable and perhaps more important, well meant! I travel worldwide for business and experienced all sorts of hotels. This little hotel has a place in my heart and i expect to return when paying a recreational visit to Gent.
Also good to mention that this hotel is honest with their tariff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johannes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Carlton on 14th December for one night and couldn't recommend it more. The brothers that run the hotel gave us such a warm welcome and even moved their car out of the garage so we could park there. We reserved our parking space via email when we booked which they had remembered. They gave us a thorough introduction to Ghent and were really helpful with anything we asked. Buying tram tickets from the reception was handy and they explained how to use them too which was useful! The hotel was about 4 tram stops to the old town and the we got a pack of 10 tram tickets for $10 from the reception which was good value. We stayed in a standard room and it was very large, one of the biggest rooms we've stayed in. Bathroom was lovely, with a nice bath and furnishings. We paid for breakfast but it was worth it as they cooked us fresh eggs and we had access to the continental buffet, and the fresh orange juice was to die for! The hotel is incredibly reasonably priced (definitely when you compare to other hotels in Ghent). I guess it is a little cheaper due to the location being a bit further out however the tram stop is about a 2 min walk away, they come very frequently and they are cheap so really it wasn't a problem at all. It is also very close to the main train station of Ghent. We were sad to leave as we really did enjoy our stay and the service was impecable. Hopefully we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel last weekend. It was very close to Ghent's main railway station (walking distance 3 mins) and well connected to the city center by tram. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Room amenities were quite good; coffee, tea and water included. The staff was charming, very friendly and helpful. All positive reviews I read here were totally justified. Outstanding place!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lordoigres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at the Carlton Hotel for six nights in August, and had a wonderful time. The rooms are spacious, the beds are very comfortable, the location is ideal (particularly if, like us, you plan on making day trips from Ghent to cities such as Bruges and Antwerp), the breakfast is excellent (buffet, fresh fruit, and eggs cooked to order), and the brothers who run the hotel are very warm, friendly and efficient. It would be hard to fault anything about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyCMunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Having had to miss our trip to Ghent last year it was lovely to be back at the Carlton and to see now the "three amigos" have taken the hotel forward. How do three brothers get on so well? The atmosphere was wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. Efficient and friendly check in. Spacious rooms with a few subtle changes. Breakfast offered a good selection and freshly prepared eggs always go down well with us.

We have stayed at the Carlton for over 15 years and it was really nice to see how it is being taken forward and the to hear the plans for next year. A great hotel in a great locations for us.

We look forward to geeing back with Geoffrey and his brothers in 2014.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are the quietest but the road at the front does go quite during the night.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandem2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Found this lovely little hotel at 11pm after leaving Best Western because of rude, unhelpful staff. Even though it was closing time, the staff at the Carlton could not be better, we were soon in a large comfortable room, with a bottle of wine and a snack with car parked outside - take a lesson Best Western because from now on we are Carlton people because they earned our business.
The room and bathroom was very clean and tidy. Breakfast was very good, you have to try the scrambled eggs, they are different and very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsahq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.5 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
990 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
2,203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: Koningin Astridlaan 138, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ghent
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ghent
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#1 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £87 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will really feel at home in this charming city center located Carlton Hotel Ghent, the ideal spot to recharge your batteries during a trip in search of historical places or an exploration of the Ghent nightlife. This friendly and cosily designed family hotel in Ghent will treat you in the morning to an extensive and varied breakfast and is always ready to advise you on how best to discover our city. The Carlton Hotel Ghent is situated in a residential area of Ghent and is only 100 metres from Ghent St Pieters Station. The central location, the convenient access and the private car park make this family hotel the ideal base for both tourists and businesspeople. Carlton Hotel Ghent offers comfortable and elegantly decorated hotel rooms with television, radio, telephone and minibar. All Carlton Hotel Ghent rooms have an en-suite bathroom with bath. There are various tram connections to the old city centre and the business zones, and there is also now a direct tram connection to Flanders Expo. 3 hotel star Carlton Hotel Ghent is located directly next to the ICC International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing