We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect boutique style Hotel”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I'm not one to normally write reviews but I cannot let our recent trip to the Hotel Carlton pass by without doing our bit to keep this hotel at the top of the TripAdvisor list. Exceptionally friendly and helpful owners / staff. Very comfortable rooms. Great location in a lovely quiet road and only a few minutes walk to the railway station and trams. We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 nights stay here and will hopefully return soon. Steve and Carolyn.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had an overnight stay at Hotel Carlton. The reception staff were excellent and extremely helpful. The room, a triple, was fantastic, roomy, clean and perfect for our needs, a bargain for the price we paid. Due to there being scaffolding at the hotel and us having a roof box we were unable to use the car park, but parked easily on the street outside the hotel. It was a little further from the town centre than we had thought, but easily catch the tram in the next street and got the tram tickets from the hotel reception. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were looked after the moment we pulled up outside the hotel and advised where to park. We were then looked after and given our room keys. A very good welcome to Hotel 16. The rooms are a decent size with everything you need and comfortable beds. Nice to have a bath and not just a shower. The breakfast was extra but good and overall good value for money. We stayed for one night on our way to Germany and were so impressed we stayed on the way back. Quiet location not too far from the old town (we had our own bikes though).
If you have a car and a staying more than one night there is a small garage and you should book a space in advance.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Turnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed one night after a cycling trip and really appreciated the comfort of this hotel which is very conveniently placed for the station. The no.1 tram takes you into the centre of town for €1.30. An ideal base to explore Ghent. The front desk service was friendly and efficient.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stephen and Jeffrey I congratulate you both because at your "youthful" years you have understood what some hotels never discover! Not all guest are identical and all have individual needs that a successful hotel needs to satisfy. Along with our stay at the Westcord Fashion hotel in Amsterdam you are right up there already! The Costes Bros look out! Further your staff are an extension of both of you and assist wherever they can. Your hotel is quiet but near everything, the station for bruges and Ostend, the tram to the city, the supermarkets for a snack, etc etc. Parking is cheap and safe off street, the TV has all the UK channels people need on holiday, the rooms ate the rear are best in my opinion.
You just need "door closers" as I am afraid to say that guests are seldom appreciative of other guests sleeping patterns. I find that few people take notice of "do not disturb" signs these days.

Room Tip: rear room like 203 overlooking the rear and not therefore adjacent to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This small hotel is an unexpected gem - close to many amenities, and reasonably priced. What was wonderful, however, was the management by two young brothers. They provided great suggestions for restaurants, sight-seeing, and helped us to see parts of Ghent that we would have missed. The room was clean and very comfortable. We chose to purchase their breakfast option, and we were not disappointed! The food was fresh and plentiful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed 1 night on cycle trip . We arrived very wet. They were very helpful drying our clothes in their dryer and providing any assistance we required .
The hotel is close to the rail station and about 20 minutes from old town. However a tram leaves close to hotel and you can be in centre in 10 minutes. Its on a quiet street so no problem with noise in any of the rooms . The rooms are modern and spacious with comfortable beds. pillows could be improved but over
all linen of good quality.
Breakfast was ample and varied .
I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,275 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 39 in Ghent
1,026 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: Koningin Astridlaan 138, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#1 Business Hotel in Ghent
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ghent
#1 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £86 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will really feel at home in this charming city center located Carlton Hotel Ghent, the ideal spot to recharge your batteries during a trip in search of historical places or an exploration of the Ghent nightlife. This friendly and cosily designed family hotel in Ghent will treat you in the morning to an extensive and varied breakfast and is always ready to advise you on how best to discover our city. The Carlton Hotel Ghent is situated in a residential area of Ghent and is only 100 metres from Ghent St Pieters Station. The central location, the convenient access and the private car park make this family hotel the ideal base for both tourists and businesspeople. Carlton Hotel Ghent offers comfortable and elegantly decorated hotel rooms with television, radio, telephone and minibar. All Carlton Hotel Ghent rooms have an en-suite bathroom with bath. There are various tram connections to the old city centre and the business zones, and there is also now a direct tram connection to Flanders Expo. 3 hotel star Carlton Hotel Ghent is located directly next to the ICC International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing