We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Surprisingly wonderful!”
Review of Alphabed

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alphabed
Ranked #18 of 115 Ghent B&B and Inns
Boise Idaho
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow! Surprisingly wonderful!”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed in Ghent for one night and wanted a spacious bed and breakfast for three people in the center of Ghent. We found it at Alphabed (also called Loftsuite) . The owner has to be called when you arrive and he gives you a code to get in. Don't let that throw you! It is very secure on a quiet street with a foyer , darling breakfast room, and completely modern updated rooms! We had the third floor loft with two stories. It has two terraces and modern furnishings with beautiful duvets and pillows and linens and amazingly comfy beds. There is coffee and tea in the room, and the owner
Mark, makes a beautiful breakfast of eggs , fruit, yogurt, breads, coffee, and tomato, mozzarella salad! Yum! The street is very private and totally quiet yet it is only a five minute walk to Ghent center.We looked in some of the other rooms and they were all nicely decorated and very stylish! We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor loft is awesome. Two terraces and split floor plan with beds on one floor with flat screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Funtraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    29
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
61
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed in two different rooms (Riante kamer and Romantische kamer) in this bed and breakfast during three nights. Both rooms were clean and elegant. There is a big dancing school in the street, but it was very quiet all the time.

Marc, the owner, is a very nice and friendly host. I did not try the breakfast, as the conference organizers had organized something else for me.

When I come back to Ghent, for work or pleasure, I will certainly book a room in Alphabed again.

Room Tip: The Riante kamer is spacier than the Romantische kamer and has a bath. I also liked it more because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcVanOostendorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Alphabed is my B&B of choice in Gent. I've stayed in each of the rooms and each has a comfy bed and pillows, a good shower and a nice Samsung TV and one of the rooms has a bath.

Alphabed is situated in a quiet side street with virtually no through traffic yet is only a 5 min walk from the Cathedral and city centre. As described in other reviews, the kitchen and breakfast area is lovely and rustic.

All in all, Alphabed provides excellent value as well as an excellent location from which to explore Gent; I'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the ground floor of the property and its windows face the side street. Room 2 is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallface273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Roll out of bed straight into the centre of Ghent. Oh wait, you forgot the breakfast. It's light but hearty enough to keep you going till lunch and it's served in a beautiful/rustic little kitchen. Our room (Riante kamer) was at the front of the house but the street must be the most quiet in Ghent, too small for traffic I guess. Rooms are spacious, clean, perfect furnished and the bed was really comfortable. There's just nothing bad to say. Want a wonderful stay in the most beautiful city of Belgium, Alphabed is a good start!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sopor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapelle op den bos, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I had four long workdays ahead of me in Ghent, Belgium, and therefore booked a few nights at Alphabed.

- the room: I was in the 'riante kamer' ('exquisite room'), on the second floor. I loved the bed and the fluffy pillows, there was a big flatscreen tv mounted on the wall opposite of it. The bath room was fully equiped with a bath and looked brand new. I'm normally a very difficult person when it comes to sleeping: I need quiet and a dark room. I slept like a baby. Almost no noise outside because it's in such a quiet little street (and still smack in the centre) and the curtains kept out almost all light.

- the breakfast: Marc, I'm sorry for making you get up so early every morning when I was there. Since I was there for business I had to leave early. Breakfast was exquisite. Fresh bread (sandwiche, croissant, ciabbatta bread), cheese, chocolat, two kinds of jam. Yoghurt. A glass of oranje juice, different kinds of tea (and coffee). and the best part of all: a freshly made (right before your eyes) fruit bowl with fresh pineapple, grapes, orange, and lemon. Now that's what I call a breakfast.

I've cancelled a booking in another hotel in two weeks, so I can go back to Alphabed.

PS: Call before you arrive: they will give you an entry code to get into the front door.

Sorry for any English grammar mistakes, not a native speaker.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Convenient, quiet location (near St Bavo's cathedral, famous for the "Lamb of God" Van Eyck altarpiece). The rooms are all of a reasonable size (and all have en suite facilities despite some bizarre reviews elsewhere on this site); however they differ in style of decoration and some are bigger than others; use the information on the Alphabed web site to decide which one suits you.

The breakfast goes beyond the norm for a continental breakfast: as expected, there were bread, jam, cheese, coffee and fruit juice (of unusually high quality and freshness); what was not expected were delicious tomato slices with mozarella, or a freshly prepared fruit salad.

Do check the location on Google Maps or otherwise: apparently some people have had trouble finding it. Marc is very friendly and pleasantly laid back about booking arrangements; he did not ask for a deposit or provide a booking confirmation. We recommend you bring his phone number with you and call him a little while before you expect to arrive; he may want to give you the entry keycode so that you can let yourselves in.

While in Ghent, do not miss the MIAT museum (on the northern edge of the historic centre), it has superbly presented displays with excellent views of the city and a cafe that offers astonishingly good cheap food (soup, filled rolls and the like.)

Room Tip: Only the ground floor room would be wheelchair accessible. Use web site pictures to choose room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sennockian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

alphabed is really well located in gent. it's very charming, but a little bit dusty (don't check under the bed). the romantic room is on the ground floor, but it's very quiet.

i didn't meet marc, but jonane was very kind and helpful.
i would, for sure, stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisias P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
960 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alphabed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alphabed

Property: Alphabed
Address: Jan Palfijnstraat 26, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice and trendy B&B with 3 rooms 'en suite', situated in the historical center of Ghent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alphabed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing