We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Borderline rough”
Review of Flandria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flandria Hotel
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Borderline rough”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This place was disappointing. Ghent hotels are expensive. This was a budget option, and so we were not expecting very much. But the bathroom smelt dreadful, like an ill-maintained men's public loo, there was black mould in the shower (although we had a three-night stay, I only showered once as it was so unpleasant), the shower would not drain because there was a build up of someone else's hair in the plughole. At some point the loo had been replaced and the lino where the old one had been removed from had not been replaced, so there were exposed wood boards under the loo. The towels are the smallest and thinnest I have ever seen, and they meanly refuse to clean them during your stay "for environmental reasons", supposedly. The floors in the bedroom are of linoleum (not v cosy) and they were dusty and my husband and I were disinclined to walk on it without shoes on. The bedding was heavily laundered in bleach and was entirely unpleasant to sleep in. By contrast the common areas are relatively nicely maintained, the breakfast was fine, and the staff helpful. But that was just irritating as it showed that they did know how to do things right, but were simply choosing not to in our room! The redeeming factor was that it was located well within the city. However, I have backpacked and stayed in better hostels in Morocco than this place. Bar a single experience in a hostel in Agra, India, this is the worst accommodation I have ever paid for. I would recommend spending more in Ghent to get a more enjoyable stay. Budget shouldn't equal borderline rough, but at this place it does.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizaALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    72
    44
    20
    18
See reviews for
26
81
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamme, Belgium
Level Contributor
252 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Difficult to find a decent room in the historic center for less than 100 euro/night. This hotel, in my opinion gives the best price/quality deal for those who are on a budget. The location is excellent, behind the cathedral, although somewhat difficult to find. Rooms are basic, but clean. Steep stairs! no elevator. Breakfast is included in the price, but don’t expect much. Reception is very friendly and the overall atmosphere is young/backpacker.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geert-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Arrived in Ghent on motorbike with no accomodation booked. Armed with map headed to new tourist office which provided excellent service suggesting Flandria. Found hotel on foot , great location tucked down a quiet side street. Receptionist was wonderful, friendly, helpful, kind, sorted us a room instantly and then painstakingly detailed on a map how to get our bike there! (all the staff we met were equally lovely). We were able to park the bike right outside the hotel but a car would need to be in one of the nearby underground car parks.The room was up several flights of stairs, tucked in the eaves of the building. It was clean and roomy, with a good-sized bathroom and a decent shower though it could definitely do with a bit of TLC; shabby decor, cracked wash-basin etc. The buffet breakfast was excellent; plentiful and with good variety. Vending machine for snacks, coffee, wine, beer. Overall we enjoyed our stay, we felt we got value for money, and wouldn't hesitate to book it again.

Room Tip: As hotel doesnt have a lift , if stairs a problem,don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This was really not more than a hostel. Small room, bad shower, cheap bed and bedding. No elevator and very steep stairs. Not again for sure. Only good I can say is that service is good and people are friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orvalectiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Uusimaa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel was booked by a friend, who was organising our group. The hotel was a bit basic but it was clean and within walking distance of the central sights. The management and staff were friendly and keen to help.
On the negative side, the rooms are quite small and the ceilings are low in some rooms. However I had a nice skylight in my room which made the room feel more spacious. There was a damp smell in the corridor which was a bit strange but not overpowering.
A good choice if you just need somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed at the Flandria for two nights last weekend and found it very good value.Excellent City Centre location near St Bavo's Cathedral and an easy walk to all the sights,bars and restaurants.

The extra City tax was stated on all the posters I saw in reception,on the front window and in the room.It was the huge amount of 2.50 euros per night so I don't see why one of the previous reviewers made such a fuss about such a paltry sum.

The hotel was basic but clean and the breakfast was adequate.I found all the staff friendly and helpful.

I will stay here again when I visit Gent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazzLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This old and small hotel just behind the cathedral is very Nice.
Dont Expect a luxury hotel, but it is clean, comfortable and the staff is very kind and helpfull.
It is very near to All the main sights and by Tram it is only 10 minutes to the ICC Conférence Center.
.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LillanDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cathedral
Hotel Cathedral
#23 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel
Parkhotel
#24 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#11 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flandria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flandria Hotel

Property: Flandria Hotel
Address: Barrestraat 3, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Flandria Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flandria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flandria Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing