We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable stay..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Flandria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flandria Hotel
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at this budget hotel. Great location. Clean, bright room. Excellent staff on the desk - very helpful and welcoming. Good breakfast. I would stay again and would book an en-suite room.

Room Tip: Recommend en-suite rather than shared toilet and shower.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank VisitorfromBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    72
    43
    18
    16
See reviews for
26
78
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

When we arrived, there was a very helpful and polite girl in the reception, welcoming us in the hotel. Our room however, was dissapointing. Dark, old, smelly and humid. We were travelling in a group and gave money to one of our friends to pay for the room. She came back very stressed because the money was not enough. There was another person at that time in the reception, an older woman, who wanted 22 euros more for some tax, now I can see somebody else had a similar problem. We had to pay it even though the reservation didn't say it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Christchurch
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Room was small for 2 single beds, but was fine for 1 person. You are in a quiet street, but can walk everywhere which saves money. A taxi can bring you to hotel from train Station for 10 euros.
Service was great and price of 45 euro included breakfast. There is free wi-fi, but not in all rooms, yet always downstairs in eating area. If you get a room on the first floor close to the stairway, WIFI in your room will work. It is an old building and not the Ritz Carleton, but very clean and good staff. My bed was great. Good value for money.

Room Tip: I think all rooms will be pretty quiet. See above re WIFI. It was 32 degrees the day I stayed, but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belluno
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

The room was basic but nice. The hotel is very close to the parking (10€ per day) and to the city center in a quiet road. Breakfast was good. Staff very helpfull and kind so...good choice! Unfortunately I have to say that the room wasn't very clean...

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Valentina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

This place was disappointing. Ghent hotels are expensive. This was a budget option, and so we were not expecting very much. But the bathroom smelt dreadful, like an ill-maintained men's public loo, there was black mould in the shower (although we had a three-night stay, I only showered once as it was so unpleasant), the shower would not drain because there was a build up of someone else's hair in the plughole. At some point the loo had been replaced and the lino where the old one had been removed from had not been replaced, so there were exposed wood boards under the loo. The towels are the smallest and thinnest I have ever seen, and they meanly refuse to clean them during your stay "for environmental reasons", supposedly. The floors in the bedroom are of linoleum (not v cosy) and they were dusty and my husband and I were disinclined to walk on it without shoes on. The bedding was heavily laundered in bleach and was entirely unpleasant to sleep in. By contrast the common areas are relatively nicely maintained, the breakfast was fine, and the staff helpful. But that was just irritating as it showed that they did know how to do things right, but were simply choosing not to in our room! The redeeming factor was that it was located well within the city. However, I have backpacked and stayed in better hostels in Morocco than this place. Bar a single experience in a hostel in Agra, India, this is the worst accommodation I have ever paid for. I would recommend spending more in Ghent to get a more enjoyable stay. Budget shouldn't equal borderline rough, but at this place it does.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizaALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamme, Belgium
Level Contributor
253 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Difficult to find a decent room in the historic center for less than 100 euro/night. This hotel, in my opinion gives the best price/quality deal for those who are on a budget. The location is excellent, behind the cathedral, although somewhat difficult to find. Rooms are basic, but clean. Steep stairs! no elevator. Breakfast is included in the price, but don’t expect much. Reception is very friendly and the overall atmosphere is young/backpacker.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geert-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Arrived in Ghent on motorbike with no accomodation booked. Armed with map headed to new tourist office which provided excellent service suggesting Flandria. Found hotel on foot , great location tucked down a quiet side street. Receptionist was wonderful, friendly, helpful, kind, sorted us a room instantly and then painstakingly detailed on a map how to get our bike there! (all the staff we met were equally lovely). We were able to park the bike right outside the hotel but a car would need to be in one of the nearby underground car parks.The room was up several flights of stairs, tucked in the eaves of the building. It was clean and roomy, with a good-sized bathroom and a decent shower though it could definitely do with a bit of TLC; shabby decor, cracked wash-basin etc. The buffet breakfast was excellent; plentiful and with good variety. Vending machine for snacks, coffee, wine, beer. Overall we enjoyed our stay, we felt we got value for money, and wouldn't hesitate to book it again.

Room Tip: As hotel doesnt have a lift , if stairs a problem,don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cathedral
Hotel Cathedral
#23 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel
Parkhotel
#24 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#11 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cour St. Georges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flandria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flandria Hotel

Property: Flandria Hotel
Address: Barrestraat 3, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Flandria Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flandria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flandria Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing