We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this a miss if you're not a student!”
Review of Flandria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flandria Hotel
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 24 July 2008

I booked a night at the Flandria following a pretty good review in a guide-book. However I was very disappointed in the hotel - it's very shabby and extremely basic. Great for students on a tight budget, but for anyone wanting a bit more comfort and style - forget it!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Janie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2007

Good hotel close to the center of Gent and close to Dampoort station.
Very helpful staff and a good price. We would stay there again. No noise problems at all. There is a computer downstairs for free internet use.

One of the mattresses in our room probably needed to be replaced, but everything else was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rubbishystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

43 euros per night for a single room in a major European city is cheap so I don’t expect too much! On the plus side the Flandria is situated in a quiet street so there’s no traffic noise, the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were good. On the downside my room hadn’t been decorated since the early 70’s but the worst thing was the stink of stale cigarette ash. By the third and last night the smell had got slightly less noticeable. The sheets were changed daily and the bathroom was fairly clean although the light was broken.

Ghent is a magical place, you need a good few days to explore it all. Wonderful architecture, not as ‘chocolate boxy’ as Bruges, not as touristy as Brussels etc I was there the first week in August and it was very hot, 32C and did get bitten to death by mosquitos! The town itself was very busy but it’s not loud. The majority of people there seemed young. As in all other Belgian towns I’ve been too the food and drink is excellent. It must be impossible to have a bad meal in Belgium!

So, would I stay at the Flandria again? No. Would I recommend it? If you’re used to 3-star hotels, family run B&Bs then no. But, if you’re on a tight budget and you’re not really bothered about accommodation then give it a try.

I’m hoping to visit Ghent again in December but I will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KTM_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2007

We stayed a long weekend in Flandria with 10 friends.

The hotel is very basic .The hotel consists of a few connected houses. It makes a rather primitive impression. However, the rooms were clean, the breakfast good and the staff friendly. For a short stay you can accept the low price (50 Euro per room, 2 persons) and the perfect location within the city. It is located in the centre, but in a quiet street.. Ghent is a very nice old historical place, with many small restaurant and pubs. Central to Brugge and Antwerp.
I would rate this hotel as 2 star.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vinck2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jezabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mariana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: loin des douches et toilettes communes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cathedral
Hotel Cathedral
#23 of 39 in Ghent
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Poortackere Monasterium Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#13 of 39 in Ghent
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel
Parkhotel
#30 of 39 in Ghent
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flandria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flandria Hotel

Address: Barrestraat 3, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £57 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Flandria Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Flandria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flandria Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing