We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2012

this hotel has the best location overlooking the canal. It doesnt look like a hotel, just a beautiful 17th century home.
We stayed in Room 305, this is probably the most beautiful hotel room ive ever stayed in, a brick wall, a beautiful view, it was a jr suite.
The staff was friendly, the service was good. A good breakfast.
The Marriott at Ghent has spoilt us for any other hotel - every place we have stayed in since falls short in comparison.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pl123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Excellent location, nice staff, great & spacious room (we stayed at room 335) with a great view of the river.
Restaurant is good with tables with nice view.
Very easy to park at the hotel garage.
Best place to stay in Ghent.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank DAC-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We had already prebooked. The reception was efficient and the room clean. Had some view of the river. The hotel was in the thick of the city, so was very walkable. Breakfast was nice and checkout easy.

Usual Marriott. Efficient and businesslike.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarrior0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Everything was great about this place. Staff very friendly and helpful. Incredible breakfast with the loveliest waiters ever. The bar and its happy hour were great value and lots of fun. The rooms were excellent with the best ever hotel bed. Free internet and wifi too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Posymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

OK, the only reason we stayed here is because it was free with points. However, it couldn't have worked out better! The hotel "back door" is right on Korenlei; from our room we had a picture perfect view of all the amazing Graslei facades. We were a 5-minute walk from the tram stop at the Castle of the Counts, which went directly to the main train station. Many of the major sights are within a 5-10 minute walk. If you just want to relax and soak in the atmosphere of Ghent, there are plenty of places right outside the hotel to sit along the river and have a beer. The hotel happy hour is decent and the breakfast buffet is enormous. The only word of caution; people hang out along the river front into the wee hours of the morning. It never bothered us, but if you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs!

Room Tip: room 111 is a great, huge suite that overlooks Graslei
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstallwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Perfect location in the middle of a wonderful ancient city, good rooms and friendly efficinet check-in. Avoid the bar in the lobby! First evening we arrived in the empty bar with a larger group and started to combine some tables, waiter appeared and bawled in a very unpleasant and hostile tone that we should not do this as we would block his free circulation. Next evening we got back at 23:40, another very rude and extremly arrogant bar tender refused to serve me a beer shouted angrily "If I serve you a beer, all the others might also order one".

I you want friendly service take the old city exit, turn left and find a watering hole in 40 m with a very friendly server, speaking also good English.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fedn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I have to admit the I am a Marriott fan, so I expect good things from Marriott and this hotel and the staff did not disappoint. The hotel is a classy blend of charm and modern service in the middle of this historic city. Our room overlooking the canal was perfect and it was large enough to accommodate a roll-away for our grandson. With EVERY staff contact, we were impressed with the friendliness and genuine desire to help. Not sure whether this is the Belgian way or whether it's Marriott culture ... Probably both, but it is wonderful.

We stayed a week, doing day trips to Brussels, Brugge and the Belgian countryside. A memorable vacation for us and our grandson (at 11years, his first trip to Europe). The Marriott was a huge part of a great vacation. Thanks!

Room Tip: The canal view room was great, but there can be some street noise through the night, depending on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimTim306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 38 in Ghent
2,252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 38 in Ghent
1,019 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 38 in Ghent
1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £112 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing