We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in the very heart of the city. Riverside exit takes you to the most beautiful view in the city. It is a bit pricey but then again it is Marriott, quality worth the price. I definitely recommend it if you can afford it. Treat yourself! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristineGarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    572
    91
    24
    20
See reviews for
357
858
64
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on our recent Europe visit. We got an excellent rate online and when we checked in we were upgraded for free as we were traveling with our toddler.
We were very glad of our Hertz GPS in finding this hotel- I can't imagine negotiating to this hotel via maps!!
The rooms are pretty standard 4/5 star and ours was quite large for Europe.
Take some time to appreciate the design of this hotel- the lobby area is really quite amazing and the view walking out the back (front?) door to the canal is literally breathtaking.
Old Ghent is a great town for exploring but we had breakfast in house one morning and were surprised at the standard of fare for the price.
Highly recommended

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrShhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

You won't search for a better location for your short stay in Ghent- in the heart of pedestrian zone, at the streambank, just opposite the most beatiful of town's embankments. And with weekend rates is a great value4money. If you a lucky enough to have great sunny weather as we were, don't miss a waterfront breakfast with Belfry ringing. Inside, the old waterfront building is connected with the new ones and a large lobby with a big sun roof.
Very helpful staff at the reception with readiness to assist you with a personal attitude - just forget your French in Flandres)).
Cons: the only issue that we have faced was with the hotel's restaurant that declined to serve anything but one main course pro person (no salads, cheese plate) shortly after 10pm on summer Sat night...

Room Tip: Always choose to pay more to get Channel view - otherwise you'll be placed in a new building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dzhup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

If nothing else, this Marriott ranks as one of the most well designed hotels to fit its environment I've ever seen. Approaching by car, you drive to a dead end to a nondescript entrance. Once inside, the lobby opens up to a fantastic windowed atrium. However, when you walk out the other side of the hotel, you are in the epicenter of the medieval area of Ghent. That facade, has been beautifully preserved with a modest "Marriott" sign showing you the way home. Shops, cafes, restaurants and bars are within 100-200 meters of this entrance.

The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed as any Marriott would be. Views were of a small alley and the building beside it, so we kept our blinds drawn most of the time.

The staff was extremely helpful and made most reservations for us for meals. It was vacation time (after the big Ghent festival) so many restaurants were closed. They were very patient tracking down a suitable place to eat every night. They also directed me to a public parking lot around the corner from the Marriott which was 1/3 of the price of the hotel parking lot.

Check-in and out was a breeze. The staff's English was excellent and I heard some staff speaking multiple languages with ease. For the price, I'd have to say this is one of the best deals that Marriott has going.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the room. If you are spending time there, you are not walking around Ghent or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
740 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The Marriott is a modern facility very close to the center of old Ghent
Pros:
Modern facility,parking available,wifi fine,the main appeal is the convenient location
Cons:
Windows do not open,thankfully we had a large room with high ceilings.
Staff reluctant or unable to communicate in French .
Very difficult to discover the proper path to the hotel when driving,GPS does not help

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisbech
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Having stayed at the Marriott hotel in the beautiful city of Ghent before we decided to stop for one night on our travels through Europe. The hotel was just as good before and I can find nothing to complain about it from either stay. The staff at the hotel speak English fluently and are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are very well sized, clean, modern with very comfortable beds. The hotel is very well situated in the middle of the city meaning it is very to access any part of Ghent which I would thoroughly advise as it is a beautiful city. I would not hesitate to stop at this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Ghent!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKC_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Ghent Marriott is well located in the city center. This makes it difficult to navigate to it and our auto GPS seemed to have us going in circles. Eventually you see a city center sign, the a Marriott Hotel sign. It is a modern hotel built up against existing buildings. There is a glass enclosed lobby and underground parking. The desk staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

Our room was compact, but modern and clean. The air conditioning functioned well. The was comfortable. The bathrooms are modern, although with many of the hotels we stayed at during our month long trip, you have to step up over a tall tub to get into the shower. While some might prefer old fashioned and classic, in this case I will take modern, clean, functional and comfortable every time. One of the better Marriotts anywhere and a great place from which to explore Ghent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent, opened its doors March 20, 2007. The hotel has 150 comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, Brixx Cellar Lounge and Ghent Marriott restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. The hotel has long been considered the top of European in the field of hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing