We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Marriott hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding Marriott hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

This Marriott hotel is one of the best Marriott's hotels I have stayed in. It has a fantastic location, nice open space design inside and historical look outside. Breakfast is served in multiple rooms which are decorated so that you feel at ease and relaxed. Try to sit on the windows and oversea how Ghent slowly wakes up. You can see the river and all the old historic buildings/restaurant being prepared for the day ahead. The service of the hotel was very friendly and the rooms are of typical standard. They provide a free internet access.

Botom line: Great location, beautiful design, great breakfast - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerceptionOfReality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    562
    88
    24
    20
See reviews for
354
846
64
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

This marriott have best location and nice lobby. In the old town like ghent, this marriott offers the special design and nice room. It is just adjacent to the river, all the best tourist attraction are within walking distance. We feel very good to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jia y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boom, Belgium
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Ine welcomed us in the hotel and we felt immediately at ease. Although Belgians ourselves, living an hour away from Ghent, staff treated us as royal tourists.

It's located in the middle of Ghent. You cannot think of a better location. It's a state of the art hotel, impressive architecture, hidden behind a gorgeous 16th century façade.

There's a free garage for the car. Even after check out (noon!) we could leave our car there without a fee.

We had a suite #510. Perfect condition. We used the bed in the afternoon ... and when we came back at night, its was in pristine condition again. Ice cubes can be fetched in the gangway, cold drinks (3€) in the fridge. Wifi (problematic for iPad) and ethernet available. Two (!) tv-sets. Two air-co's. A room with quite a view.

Breakfast was great. Complete English breakfast, waffles to make yourself, the best bread ever in all kinds of shapes. Plenty of coffee. Fresh juice. Cheese, meat, cereals, ... Sweet rolls. Kind personnel. Cosy surroundings.

The bar isn't the most cosy I can think off, but it's okay for a night cap. Then again, there are plenty of bars in the neighborhood (why stay at the hotel?)

Room Tip: If you want the best view, ask for a room in front (East) or facing South (5th floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustaaf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
255 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Loved this hotel and the town in general. Our room was overlooking the river. We could see all of the activity of outdoor cafes below. Could not ask for a better spot. This was close, only a few blocks, to the old castle. Truly amazing sight, especially at night under the lights. This is a great hotel for walking to breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also an easy walk to many of the old churches. Great place and very friendly and acommodating staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the river if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We spent a day in Ghent which is just a lovely little town. Very quaint and lots to see.
The hotel is right on the right and it is a unique mix of modern architecture blended in with medival walls/charm.
Check in was efficient the room was nice, clean, well laid out.
Within 5 mins you are by the castle, the main square or the old church.
The hotel has free wifi in the room which I absolutely love.
Like many other hotels in Europe they require you to activate the lift with your room key which is a bit of a pain, especially if you are staying longer than 12:00. (Get your key rekeyed on your way out in the AM).
There is also a Spar store within 3 mins walk where you can get tons of Belgium chocolate and other goodies at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview if possible and higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

The hotel is a typical Marriott, really, but one that has been excellently maintained and is perfectly clean, with gorgeous big beds, lots of pillows and well equipped rooms and bathrooms. I stayed with my boyf, my mum and another friend of ours and we all had great rooms and slept really well. Had lovely cocktails in the lounge downstairs too. The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring Ghent, and breakfast was fabulous too, although it's not cheap! The staff were all helpful and spoke good English which is a plus for us! The only tiny criticism is that it's ever so slightly lacking in character, but we'd definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

You couldn't be more central in the tourist areas of Ghent than you are at this hotel. We were treated well the moment we checked in! If you are as lucky as us to receive a room on the river you are in for a treat!

Room Tip: Be a Marriott Gold Member...it pays off well here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent, opened its doors March 20, 2007. The hotel has 150 comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, Brixx Cellar Lounge and Ghent Marriott restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. The hotel has long been considered the top of European in the field of hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing