We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Situated in an ideal location. Room and food was okay.
Walking distance to shopping and attractions within the central Ghent area. Many restaurants are located within walking distance from hotel. Two days was sufficient to cover the major attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k1deiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    597
    97
    25
    21
See reviews for
378
896
68
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This Marriott was by far the best I have ever stayed in and I stay in them a lot. Other than the great location this is a very nice hotel with really friendly and helpful staff. We had breakfast included in our deal and it was a hardy, robust European breakfast with lots of variety. I would recommend this hotel just based on the location but overall very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TEXAS, USA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I knew from the reviews that it was going to be hard to find, but by luck we ended right in the back of the hotel, by the parking, after check in inn, it it was very smooth, checking the lobby and hotel, went to the room, they were ok nothing impresive but when we got outside ..... woaaa!!! the view of the town,canal and building in from we were amazed!!! the hotel is in the center of the old town, you can walk everywere it was beatifull!!
as a gold member of Marriot I had voucher for a breakfast, that was very very good!! all kind of bread ,pattiseri, fruit, yougurts and cold cut.
We really enjoy this hotel!! the parking was expensive , so they recomend a publicparking!
For a family of 4 it was great ,since in Europe is hard to book large rooms, this was a large room with 2 double beds, we were very please.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARINELA1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had a fantastic weekend. On friday we visited Brugge and then we took the train at night to Ghent. We stayed at the Marriot Ghent and on saturday visited the city. The hotel is in a fantastic location and it makes our stay in Ghent even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertha_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is an elegant hotel that's centrally located in Ghent. It's located on a canal and easy to walk to attractions, food and a tram stop. The rooms are very large by American standards. The decor is beautiful and the beds were cozy and comfortable. Our bedroom did not have stairs to the bathroom. We were able to eat breakfast each morning in the restaurant and it was excellent. It's a buffet with a vast selection of choices, scrambled eggs, potatoes, mushrooms, cold cereal, pastries, meats, cheeses, yogurts, waffles to order, etc. It is breakfast at its finest. Hilde worked in the restaurant and she understands customer service with a smile. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

As my husband and I are originally from Ghent and were looking to stay 1 night for the Business fair at Flanders Expo, we chose this hotel close by the water. Unlike what you think to expect when you see the front of the hotel, this is rather a nice business hotel. The location is great and in the middle of the historical centre. The bed was heavenly (king size & nice and warm covers). Slept like a baby! Breakfast was very classy, you could even eat nice homemade waffles! Enjoyed it very much. Nice and friendly staff (as well at reception as in the breakfast area).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, OK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

Fabulous stay at the Marriott in Ghent. Prime location, great architecture. Free upgrade to canal room. Rooms are cool and not just a regular Marriott room. Be aware there are stairs from bedroom to bathroom. Could be a problem for elderly, handicap or those traveling with small children. Also, was not aware of the need to put a key in the light switch. Apparently very common in Europe tho. All in all, perfect stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WrldtrvlrThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing