We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2012

From the moment we arrived I knew we had made a good decision: excellent location, lovely atmosphere, lovely breakfast,great bed, big room- it was a standard room with king size bed. Staff were very polite and service excellent. Not the cheapest but if you are stayin two or three days you cannot better it particularly for the location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiltonKeynesDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,998)
There are newer reviews for Ghent Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

I don't quite get the overwhelming 5 star reviews for this place as if this hotel somehow was the best invention since the bread slicer. It's an average Marriott, as you can find in the thousands all over the world. Completely unremarkable. Yes so it's set right in the town centre. So is virtually every other hotel in Gent since the town centre is minuscule.
The room we had could have done with some updating/new decor, especially the bathroom. Who still has shower curtains in 2012? Bedroom window does not open. View was of the wall of the house opposite.
Bar waiter unaware of the promotions/packages offered by the hotel that we tried to redeem, even after studying the voucher issued by reception, he didn't grasp what it said.
So called "Belgian tapas" at the bar consist of a plate of indifferent cheese cubes and sausage cubes. Bordering on the inedible.
Checkout very slow and rather unprofessional in that the lady recited every item on the bill to me rather than simply handing me the bill to look over.
Breakfast ok, again nothing that would warrant this to be a 5 out of 5. Average in every sense of the word.
209 Euros/night. At that rate and with the facilities/service provided this rates 3/5 at best.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This hotel is right in the centre of town. From the front it looks like a quaint old Dutch house, but at the back it has a huge glass atrium with a nice (but expensive) bar. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable (fantastic beds!) and the breakfasts are excellent. But the best bit is walking out of the door and being straight on the canal.

Room Tip: The best would be to have a canal view but they are more expensive.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Situated in an ideal location. Room and food was okay.
Walking distance to shopping and attractions within the central Ghent area. Many restaurants are located within walking distance from hotel. Two days was sufficient to cover the major attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k1deiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This Marriott was by far the best I have ever stayed in and I stay in them a lot. Other than the great location this is a very nice hotel with really friendly and helpful staff. We had breakfast included in our deal and it was a hardy, robust European breakfast with lots of variety. I would recommend this hotel just based on the location but overall very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I knew from the reviews that it was going to be hard to find, but by luck we ended right in the back of the hotel, by the parking, after check in inn, it it was very smooth, checking the lobby and hotel, went to the room, they were ok nothing impresive but when we got outside ..... woaaa!!! the view of the town,canal and building in from we were amazed!!! the hotel is in the center of the old town, you can walk everywere it was beatifull!!
as a gold member of Marriot I had voucher for a breakfast, that was very very good!! all kind of bread ,pattiseri, fruit, yougurts and cold cut.
We really enjoy this hotel!! the parking was expensive , so they recomend a publicparking!
For a family of 4 it was great ,since in Europe is hard to book large rooms, this was a large room with 2 double beds, we were very please.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARINELA1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had a fantastic weekend. On friday we visited Brugge and then we took the train at night to Ghent. We stayed at the Marriot Ghent and on saturday visited the city. The hotel is in a fantastic location and it makes our stay in Ghent even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertha_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £113 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing